We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what i would expect from a JW Marriott” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Caracas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
Ranked #1 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
195 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Not what i would expect from a JW Marriott”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at Numerous JW Marriott's and they are all top notch hotels in excellent conditions and of the highest quality....

The JW in Caracas is a long way from what I would expect from the JW brand... For example, I was upgraded to a suite and it was lackluster. Curtains did not close in my room so at 7AM it was bright in the room and I had no way to make the room dark... The bathroom toilet was missing the cover and I had to ask them to bring a toilet cover. The bathtub was worn and had cracks... The food was poor and not very good... The exec lounge was extremely dark and didn't have a good assortment of food. Overall NOT impressed and this hotel did not seem like a Marriott branded hotel....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamescasonjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto M, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Caracas, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest.

We are sorry you had a bad experience during last your visit with us. On behalf of the entire staff of the JW Marriott Caracas, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences. Please feel free to contact us at: mhrs.ccsjw.dops@marriotthotels.com; to understand in detail your problems and this way we can take the pertinent measures, so we can best serve you and other guest in the future.

We really hope you can visit us again in the near future and give us the opportunity to erase that bad memory in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    139
    67
    31
    13
See reviews for
93
100
54
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

The staff is wonderful, nice welcome and treatment during the stay.
The room (619) has a good size and comfortable marble bathroom. However, it smells humid and the mattress needs to be replaced.
The coffee shop does not open until 8am, even though the schedule says 7am. ( the new labor law.)
The brochure indicates they have a Sushi Bar between 12m and 3 pm but it is no longer there.
There is a shopping mall one block away. You can walk to it during the day but it is not too safe.
Only go if you are on a business trip, not for pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClementinaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto M, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Caracas, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest.

We are sorry you had a bad experience during last your visit with us. On behalf of the entire staff of the JW Marriott Caracas, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences. Please feel free to contact us at: mhrs.ccsjw.dops@marriotthotels.com, so we can best serve you and other guest in the future.

We really hope you can visit us again in the near future and give us the opportunity to erase that bad memory in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I am in the hotel now after an OK night's sleep - one of the only easons I gave it even two stars is the beds are still nice. However,when I walked in the room, the curtains had fallen down and were balled up in a corner and the rest were hanging at a sorry angle, ready to fall if pulled. How did this room get serviced and who said it was 'ready" for a guest?. At $300 per night (corporate rate) one would expect bettter. I called down to complain and a "tecnico" was sent up to reset the drapes on a few rungs so at least they kept out the light. Wish I had a camera to post the lopsided results. Anyway, when I opened "the drapes" this morning, I was shocked to find windows so dirty I could hardly see out of them anyway. This is just sad. The rest of the hotel is outdated and ugly. Most of the serivce is pleasant but still oddly demanding giving the circumstances. If it weren't for the fact that I stayed in the JW Mariott in Bogota last month, so I KNOW they can do better, even in Latin America, I would write off this hotel chain forever. The JW Mariott in Bogota is an absolute dream. So why this? I am gussing it is because of the state of the country and the fact that most businesses can't repatriate any profits. I do understand that as my business has the same issue. But still, if you have all of the money stuck in the country why not use it as advertising for the rest of the Mariott chain? Why stick your oldest and most loyal customers, the ones who are in this country through thick and thin - with a bad experience? Fine, don't redecorate. But fiilthy windows (I mean filthy) and falling down drapes are inexcusable at this price. I wouldn't expect that from a two star pension.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank KMNLosAngles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is not bad. The pool is somewhat and nice and so are the rooms, but the restaurant has the worst food I have ever had (I'm not kidding). I've tried every single item on the not very extensive menu and some dishes were unedible. I have to stay there for business, but now I never eat there except the breakfast buffet (which is like any other buffet, eggs are hard to mess up). If you stay here DO NOT eat in their restaurant for lunch or dinner- more than disappointed you'll be grossed out.

Room Tip: No spa. Rooms all the way to the top are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mduhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Spent two nights there, country in mourning so spent whole time in hotel. The room good and bed excellent. Only one lift worked in my section, other one stuck coincidentally on my floor. The working lift was overworked and frequently doors went into rapid close mode. Several times had to get in the way of the door to prevent elderly people or kids getting hurt. Room service efficient and staff do try to help out with your problems

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
150 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Pro: Location, Breakfast, Bar Food.

Cons: Expensive, Outdated.

The staff does try its best with what they have. front desk is a mess with complaints form all over. Across the street they have a bar with some live music. Food is real good and nice music to keep you entertained.

I will be looking at other options on my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vatsmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Can't think of many things positive about this hotel. It's dated and a complete rip off. Only one restaurant open despite advertising two. Lifts are very noisy and kept me awake all night. Prepaid for the rooms but then told on checkout that the rate had changed and we had to pay about 15% more!!!!! One to avoid in my opinion.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts and a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_Sue_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto M, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Caracas, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest.

We are sorry you had a bad experience during last your visit with us. On behalf of the entire staff of the JW Marriott Caracas, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences. Please feel free to contact us at: mhrs.ccsjw.dops@marriotthotels.com; to understand in detail your problems and this way we can take the pertinent measures, so we can best serve you and other guest in the future.

We really hope you can visit us again in the near future and give us the opportunity to erase that bad memory in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caracas hotels
Chacao
Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Castellana
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
#5 of 86 in Caracas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#12 of 86 in Caracas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Caracas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Caracas

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
Address: Av Venezuela con Calle Mohedano | El Rosal, Caracas 1060, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > El Rosal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caracas
#1 Spa Hotel in Caracas
#1 Business Hotel in Caracas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caracas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
#2 Green Hotel in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Caracas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Caracas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Caracas
Marriott Hotel Caracas
Marriott Caracas
Caracas Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing