We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel so so, worst food ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
Ranked #1 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hotel so so, worst food ever!!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is not bad. The pool is somewhat and nice and so are the rooms, but the restaurant has the worst food I have ever had (I'm not kidding). I've tried every single item on the not very extensive menu and some dishes were unedible. I have to stay there for business, but now I never eat there except the breakfast buffet (which is like any other buffet, eggs are hard to mess up). If you stay here DO NOT eat in their restaurant for lunch or dinner- more than disappointed you'll be grossed out.

Room Tip: No spa. Rooms all the way to the top are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mduhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    142
    69
    31
    13
See reviews for
97
102
56
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Spent two nights there, country in mourning so spent whole time in hotel. The room good and bed excellent. Only one lift worked in my section, other one stuck coincidentally on my floor. The working lift was overworked and frequently doors went into rapid close mode. Several times had to get in the way of the door to prevent elderly people or kids getting hurt. Room service efficient and staff do try to help out with your problems

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
150 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Pro: Location, Breakfast, Bar Food.

Cons: Expensive, Outdated.

The staff does try its best with what they have. front desk is a mess with complaints form all over. Across the street they have a bar with some live music. Food is real good and nice music to keep you entertained.

I will be looking at other options on my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vatsmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Can't think of many things positive about this hotel. It's dated and a complete rip off. Only one restaurant open despite advertising two. Lifts are very noisy and kept me awake all night. Prepaid for the rooms but then told on checkout that the rate had changed and we had to pay about 15% more!!!!! One to avoid in my opinion.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts and a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_Sue_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto M, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Caracas, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest.

We are sorry you had a bad experience during last your visit with us. On behalf of the entire staff of the JW Marriott Caracas, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences. Please feel free to contact us at: mhrs.ccsjw.dops@marriotthotels.com; to understand in detail your problems and this way we can take the pertinent measures, so we can best serve you and other guest in the future.

We really hope you can visit us again in the near future and give us the opportunity to erase that bad memory in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This can not be JW Marriott Hotel. It is so outdated and rundown place. Water leaks from the ceilings. You can see and smell mold. I had a executive lounge access. This executive lounge is a joke. I feel sorry for the folks working at this Hotel, since some of them tried very hard to support us with whatever little they had. It is not simply worth of $400 per night stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel. I had to stay 3 nights since I prepaid( to save from $540 per night to $4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annecy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto M, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Caracas, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest.

We are sorry you had a bad experience during last your visit with us. On behalf of the entire staff of the JW Marriott Caracas, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences. Please feel free to contact us at: mhrs.ccsjw.dops@marriotthotels.com; to understand in detail your problems and this way we can take the pertinent measures, so we can best serve you and other guest in the future.

We really hope you can visit us again in the near future and give us the opportunity to erase that bad memory in our hotel.



Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hotel is outdated, dirty, my bathroom had mold. Staff is extremely rude and not friendly, they do nothing to help you. We even had a major disagreement with the hotel restaurant and the waiter almost called us "Stupid" for not understanding their mandatory double tip policy (one for the restaurant staff and the other one for him). So adding 15 +15 % to a super expensive and tasteless meal was an insult.

Also the hotel is clearly understaffed, 1 clerk for check-in/out so the lines at the front desk are long and they don't care if you are a Marriot Member or not. So strongly recommended to avoid this hotel, as you don't get what you pay for, and you will be better off at a different hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. Sorry but there is nothing positive to say about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wetfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto M, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Caracas, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest.

We are sorry you had a bad experience during last your visit with us. On behalf of the entire staff of the JW Marriott Caracas, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences. Please feel free to contact us at: mhrs.ccsjw.dops@marriotthotels.com; to understand in detail your problems and this way we can take the pertinent measures, so we can best serve you and other guest in the future.

We really hope you can visit us again in the near future and give us the opportunity to erase that bad memory in our hotel.



Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

When you check in into a JW Marriott you expect a pleasant stay. When you pay what you pay for this hotel, you expect something superb. But this JW Marriott will disappoint. The hotel is OK, but when you remember what you are paying, and you remember you are staying at a JW Marriott then you realize that OK will not do. A lot of work to be done in the details, service and elevators. During my stay only one of the elevators worked, making every trip up or down a never ending. Much to improve.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepegom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caracas hotels
Chacao
Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Castellana
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
#5 of 86 in Caracas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#14 of 86 in Caracas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Caracas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Caracas

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
Address: Av Venezuela con Calle Mohedano | El Rosal, Caracas 1060, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > El Rosal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
#1 Family Hotel in Caracas
#1 Spa Hotel in Caracas
#1 Business Hotel in Caracas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caracas
#2 Green Hotel in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Caracas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Caracas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Caracas
Marriott Hotel Caracas
Marriott Caracas
Caracas Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing