We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and personnel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
Ranked #1 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I arrived on 11/27/2012 and from the beginning people were very charm and nice
room was very good, clean and with a lot of space
Room service is excellent, fast and very well served
People in the restaurant is very cool and people oriented. very fast service
House keeping asked me the best hour since i was working a lot from the hotel and they did not wanted to disturb

very secure place and nice options to eat

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfonso L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 796 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Arrived late on a Friday evening after a long domestic flight, and after a tortuous check in was told that restaurant would be open til 23:30 - unfortunately someone did not advise catering staff who clearly did not want to receive customers. Hardly any choice of food available, no wine list and complete absence of anything resembling customer service, rather the customer was considered by staff as being an inconvenience. More of the same on Saturday, with no concierge available and front desk staff completely unwilling / unable to assist. Bellboy completely incapable of even hailing a taxi!!. Checking out on Sunday was a repetition of the laborious check in, with the hotel trying to charge for five days of internet service when I had been a guest for less than 48 hours!

Final insult was charge of 500 Bolivares (more than USD100 at official exchange rate for a taxi (VW Jetta, not a limo!) to the airport.

This was the service provided to an Elite member - frankly apalling!! Save your cash and stay anywhere else in Caracas!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel pices in Venezuela are very expensive compared to other parts of the world. In I pay $300 for a room in the USA or Europe, I will get a five star hotel. Here in Venezuela, you will get a 3 star hotel. The hotel and the rooms are nice enough. Not perfect but everything worked fine for a 3 star hotel. The room and the bathroom are fine and almost clean. The restaurant are ok but the menucard could be more interesting. A lot of things in the menu card do not excist. The service annd the staff could be a lot better and there are certainly room for impruvement.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elli Lilli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the JW Marriott for 3 days on business, which was perfect. Excellent service from the staff at the front desk and from Cecilia at the concierge - she took care of all our transportation in Caracas. Great meeting spaces and good food, with even a visit from the chef at our table.

Even though a little pricey, rooms, cleanliness and service makes it all worth while !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IpscLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The JW Marriot at Caracas is ok, but needs to be brought into the 21st century. They only have WiFi in the lobby area. In the rooms it is only cable connection (useless for an iPad). The menu in the restaurant is extremely short. The service at the restaurant varies greatly depending on who you get. For instance, one of my colleagues ordered an arepa for dinner, the simplest dish. When all the others (except him) were enjoying dinner, the writer came to him to say, "oh, if you want your arepa baked it will take longer, do you prefer it fried?". The arepa, ordered with everyone else's dishes, finally came when we were all finishing (and fried, of course). Oh, and there is only 1 restaurant at night... If you get a room in a lower floor, the noise from cars on the street at night will not let you sleep (it is ok in upper floors). Rooms are nice and clean. Overall, ok, but lower your expectations.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank CULovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was raised in Venezuela and had to stay here for a wedding. The hotel feels luxurious and the rooms and bathrooms are VERY nice. However, Internet service doesn't work well. You are charged $25 per day to use the cable Internet on your room. From what I heard Internet is a bit of an issue everywhere in the country but in this type of hotel I was expecting a little more.
The service was nice and cordial and will most certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: A few blocks from the hotel there is a little pastry place called Market Gourmet --- YUM!!! Is all I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nani1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel in the el rosal part of town is nice.

Rooms have all the amenities you'd expect from a JW branded hotel. They do need a refreshment in new fixtures in the bathroom and shower, more power outlets to recharge your devices.

Chech in and check out were on par.

The pool was nice accessed via the first floor and the gym as well. Gym was decently equipped but a bit cramped

The restaurant was a disappointment: food was acceptable bye menu was very limited and uninteresting. Prices were high even for breakfast : with service 190 bolivars (~ 40 usd !!). I was able to get my breakfast at the executive lounge for free - not much better in quality but a better price.

Bar area was nice but again expensive.

Do have dinner at limocello across the street.

Overall would I return : yes.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank scrutineer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caracas hotels
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Chacao
Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Castellana
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
#11 of 86 in Caracas
74 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#16 of 86 in Caracas
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Caracas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Caracas

Address: Av Venezuela con Calle Mohedano | El Rosal, Caracas 1060, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > El Rosal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caracas
#1 Spa Hotel in Caracas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
#1 Business Hotel in Caracas
#2 Green Hotel in Caracas
Price Range: $191 - $970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Caracas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Caracas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Caracas
Marriott Hotel Caracas
Marriott Caracas
Caracas Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing