We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
Ranked #1 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spent 2 nights in August - The service was very good and the staff obliging and ready to help. The hotel is located central in Caracas with good access to the highway. The room was ok and clean. But the hotel is extremely overpriced !.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmylius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 789 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is the hotel I always stay when I travel to Caracas on business, not by choice. This hotel is extremely overpriced and the services offered are great. The hotel is very beautiful, and the rooms are very spacious and ALWAYS clean. The service is great in the executive lounge however it be nice if they offer alcoholic drinks like in other J.W.Marriott's. During my last stay I arrived very late and checked out super early and both times there was only one person working checking in and out and there was a line of us waiting. They should staff better. The taxi service is good and the staff is always friendly. I do enjoy the appetizers and breakfast in the executive lounge. The should have wireless wifi everywhere not just the executive lounge or lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiteAsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Set in the heart of central Caracas surrounded by banks and skyscraper offices its a busy and expensive location but I enjoyed my stay very much. I negotiated a special business rate and even that was pricey, but the service and facilities are very very good. I hardly went outside the hotel to look for alternative places to eat because they had everything and a huge choice of menus. In the evenings the restaurant put on a buffet style service with free entertainment provided. The gymn and swimming pool were also very good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

i spent there one night while moving within venezuelan cities. it is located close to the main areas in the at of the city, great access to the highway and las mercedes (to eat!)....the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: to leave to eat at night i may recommend the taxi from the hotel (it can be charged to the room), to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divermariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you are planning a business trip this is the hotel where you want to be, is close to Cubo Negro's offices, a regular mall called "Sambil" that offers good shops such as Zara and the area is relatively safe (prevent walking if possible). If you are in a budget skip this one, is by far the most expensive hotel I've ever stayed. The buffet breakfast offers fresh fruits but the hot meals are regular. If possible ask for the North Tower instead of South, the rooms are way better on North.

I've never encountered a single problem with staff, they're very friendly and a taxi is available within minutes, I even ask for a pick up from the office. One thing I noticed in the restaurant is that when is crowded, staff can be a little bit disorganized. Overall is a very good hotel but given the government circumstances (just ask anyone in the hotel for details) is very expensive. The menu for Room service is very good in the North Tower and the outdoor pool is great for a hot day.

Room Tip: Choose the North Tower if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianasMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I spent my last weekend here (Friday July 13th to Monday July 16th) booked via phone, and received and excellent offer $ 217 for a SPA room wich included full buffet breakfast, access to the spa and a double space room with jet shower and Jacuzzi. The food an attention at the restaurant was great. Every member of the staff from bellboys, receptionists, housekeeping an management were very helpful and friendly at all times. Simply the best hotel around due to the prices, service, location and the condition of the infrastructure. Special thanks to the front desk manager Marcos and receptionist Diana, both very top level.

Room Tip: Choose high floor rooms for less noise if staying on weekdays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Froilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Seems like Chavez and his crew is running this hotel.
I can assure that the concept of a training programs & standard of service does not exist.
EVERYONE has a bad attitude.
There are not taxis parked outside, so make transportation arrangements on your own.
The rooms dont have wifi, only internet by wire.
Food was below average.
Its the worse experience I have ever had at a Marriot Hotel, this is not even close to a JW....

Sad.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAPEQUITO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caracas hotels
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Chacao
Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Castellana
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
#7 of 86 in Caracas
74 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#17 of 86 in Caracas
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Caracas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Caracas

Address: Av Venezuela con Calle Mohedano | El Rosal, Caracas 1060, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > El Rosal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Caracas
#1 Family Hotel in Caracas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
#1 Business Hotel in Caracas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caracas
#2 Green Hotel in Caracas
Price Range: $178 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Caracas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Caracas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Caracas
Marriott Hotel Caracas
Marriott Caracas
Caracas Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing