We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Expensive and Classy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Caracas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Caracas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Expensive and Classy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Set in the heart of central Caracas surrounded by banks and skyscraper offices its a busy and expensive location but I enjoyed my stay very much. I negotiated a special business rate and even that was pricey, but the service and facilities are very very good. I hardly went outside the hotel to look for alternative places to eat because they had everything and a huge choice of menus. In the evenings the restaurant put on a buffet style service with free entertainment provided. The gymn and swimming pool were also very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    133
    65
    30
    12
See reviews for
86
96
54
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lemesos
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

i spent there one night while moving within venezuelan cities. it is located close to the main areas in the at of the city, great access to the highway and las mercedes (to eat!)....the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: to leave to eat at night i may recommend the taxi from the hotel (it can be charged to the room), to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank divermariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MexicoCity
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you are planning a business trip this is the hotel where you want to be, is close to Cubo Negro's offices, a regular mall called "Sambil" that offers good shops such as Zara and the area is relatively safe (prevent walking if possible). If you are in a budget skip this one, is by far the most expensive hotel I've ever stayed. The buffet breakfast offers fresh fruits but the hot meals are regular. If possible ask for the North Tower instead of South, the rooms are way better on North.

I've never encountered a single problem with staff, they're very friendly and a taxi is available within minutes, I even ask for a pick up from the office. One thing I noticed in the restaurant is that when is crowded, staff can be a little bit disorganized. Overall is a very good hotel but given the government circumstances (just ask anyone in the hotel for details) is very expensive. The menu for Room service is very good in the North Tower and the outdoor pool is great for a hot day.

Room Tip: Choose the North Tower if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianasMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I spent my last weekend here (Friday July 13th to Monday July 16th) booked via phone, and received and excellent offer $ 217 for a SPA room wich included full buffet breakfast, access to the spa and a double space room with jet shower and Jacuzzi. The food an attention at the restaurant was great. Every member of the staff from bellboys, receptionists, housekeeping an management were very helpful and friendly at all times. Simply the best hotel around due to the prices, service, location and the condition of the infrastructure. Special thanks to the front desk manager Marcos and receptionist Diana, both very top level.

Room Tip: Choose high floor rooms for less noise if staying on weekdays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Froilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUITO
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Seems like Chavez and his crew is running this hotel.
I can assure that the concept of a training programs & standard of service does not exist.
EVERYONE has a bad attitude.
There are not taxis parked outside, so make transportation arrangements on your own.
The rooms dont have wifi, only internet by wire.
Food was below average.
Its the worse experience I have ever had at a Marriot Hotel, this is not even close to a JW....

Sad.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAPEQUITO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

At $499 a night, Wifi and breakfast EXCLUDED; this has to be the worst Marriot experience I have ever had to endure.I tried to engage with management on why the pricing is so exhorbitant and was informed that this was because of the "government".

The rooms are mediocre and not clean...the chocolate wrappers and room service plate covers remained in the room for the duration of my stay. Although the room service salad I ordered was really good, the price was twice the price I would pay anywhere else.

Never again and will be informing the company travel agent to avoid at any cost.

Room Tip: If you prefer a bath, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patcass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two months, and can confidently state that the service here is 7/ 10. The restaurant staff was very courteous and accomodating to my family and I during our stay.

The waiters and waitresses were quite hospitable. Downside, the prices are ridiculously high. The Buffet is pretty standard as for most hotels.

The Executive Lounge is good for the most part. The view is a plus. The morning staff is excellent. I have to say a major negative for my family and I was the waiter on duty during the night. As English speakers, from the Caribbean, we felt a bit discriminated by him. Maybe it's lack of training. Who knows?Overall though, the hotel was great. I give the room, and the service generally 2 thumbs up. I wish we didn't feel that discomfort in the lounge though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caribbeantraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caracas hotels
Chacao
Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Castellana
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
#5 of 85 in Caracas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#12 of 85 in Caracas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Caracas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Caracas

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
Address: Av Venezuela con Calle Mohedano | El Rosal, Caracas 1060, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > El Rosal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caracas
#1 Family Hotel in Caracas
#1 Business Hotel in Caracas
#1 Spa Hotel in Caracas
#2 Green Hotel in Caracas
#7 Best Value Hotel in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Caracas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Caracas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Caracas
Marriott Hotel Caracas
Marriott Caracas
Caracas Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing