We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good things..Bad things..need some luck on your side”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is tough to review. Obviously the hotel has seen much better times and is struggling to keep up. The contrast is huge and to some extent luck could play a major role on the experience. On the good side: the view, the pool (great for kids), the location (close to restaurants but should take a cab), quality of room service food, the “tequenos” (typical Venezuelan appetizer of dough filled with cheese are one the best in here), laundry service (express service does pressing in a few hours), the bar, and breakfast buffet. Also, it is sitting in a hill so you feel safe and it is quiet vis a vis other locations in Caracas.
On the down side: rooms are a Russian roulette – some are fair (3rd floor rooms have been renovated and are kind of modern) and others are lousy – ask to check the room and request a change if not satisfied. I had a 3rd floor room that was horrible (and I mean horrible), complained and was moved two doors down and was very decent. Hard to get a waiter anywhere (during breakfast or in the restaurant they congregate to chat and you have to whistle to get their attention) – afterwards they are very nice but don’t know why they talk so much among themselves. Inconsistent (some in room safe don’t work, always one of three elevators is out of order, etc). In essence, it was a bipolar experience – sometimes you felt great some others was depressing. I would hope they will renovate this hotel because it would be outstanding but until then inconsistency is the name of the game.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have been renovated and are more or less modern and the bed is good. If you can ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AEPP1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear "AEPP1961"

Thank you for the time you have taken to complete this review. Your experience and feedback really does mean a lot to us.

Please rest assured that we take your comments on customer service seriously and will use them to improve our guest experience.

We will take into consideration your recommendations, our guest comments help us improve in our service.

Our staff tries their best to make sure that each guest is provided with the friendliest services, as you were able to experience firsthand.

We do hope you will give us another opportunity to be able to serve you.

Regards,

Gerente de Guest Relations / Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 446 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

Our room was small but was "in the newer section". Beautiful lobby with lots of shopping (didn't actually shop but noted large selection). Did get a fairly inexpensive mani / pedi. This area is cramped & very outdated but the staff are very pleasant & helpful. We ordered drinks from the bar while waiting for our rooms to be ready & were greatly surprised at the cost. Turns out that they provided "premium rum" which hadn't been requested & was about 3-4 times the cost. Dinner in their restaurant was good but again you have to be very specific as to what you want or your bill can be a surprise.

Room Tip: Helps if you have someone in your party that is from Venezuela who knows how to navigate the cultura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear "madannie55"

Thank you for your review about your experience in our Hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused on this occasion. We look forward to serving you again at our hotel in the near future.

Be assured a record of this report will be kept in to the A & B department and will be taken into consideration for brand standards evaluation.

Warmest Regards,

Gerente de Guest Relations/Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I've stayed in this hotel many, many times. I don't pay for it, thank goodness. It is, in my opinion, ridiculously expensive, however it has great amenities, nice pool, you feel safe, minimal language issues. Rooms vary from huge luxury rooms to dumpy 2 bedrooms so pick the room you like. The view is beautiful. The area is safe in my opinion but it's a bit of a walk down the long driveway. I love the big entry area, the remote restaurant beyond the pool but there are a couple of others. Yeah, it's a little dated. I have to believe there are FAR more reasonably priced places but the whole system in Caracus is a little "funky" given the currency situation so if money is no issue, try it. Breakfast comes at a charge but it's great. Loved the old gym and owner but that's changed.

Room Tip: I'd say, view the room if you can. They vary greatly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCNDWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear "BCNDWorld"


Thank you for taking time to let us know your concern, Please be assured a record comment will be kept in the management offices and will be taken into prior consideration for brand standards evaluation.

Also thank you for sharing your experience and give us your positive remarks.

We look forward to serving you again at our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,


Gerente de Guest Relations/Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Unfortunately the hotel did a bait and switch tactic on us. We rented a suite of superior size and comfort, when we arrived, we were placed in a much lower class room. The problem is that the size of the new room was 50% of the one we had rented, but the price was only 5% less. The hotel explained that it was the "standard" rate for that room. Obviously this tactic allows the hotel to fill medium size rooms at high prices by showing you a big suite at a smaller price that is not available once you arrive. Obviously if you arrive and have a reservation you cannot jump and go to a different hotel without a reservation and try to get a decent price/room. Terrible situation and bad politics from the hotel.

Room Tip: After my review, I would recommend anyone to not agree to get an inferior room to the one you booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmaxim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear “bmaxim”

Greetings from Hotel Tamanaco InterContinental

I really appreciate you have taken part of your time to advise us of your dissatisfaction, which is the first step towards improvement of our services.

We are sorry to hear about the several inconveniences with your room and your rate. The experiences that you have described are certainly not characteristic of high standards of service we are striving to provide.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused on this occasion. We look forward to serving you again at our hotel in the near future.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let me know. Vanessa.perez@ihg.com

Yours sincerely,

Gerente de Guest Relations/Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

There are things you can't take away from the Tamanaco , the gorgeous view towards the Avila mountain, the impressive design of the building , the extra size of its swimming pool ..
And There are things which can suffer from poor maintenance or aging or exaggeration :
The ceramic of the swimming pool can loose pieces , the traffic on the motorway at the foot of the hotel can become annoying , especially when the windows are not sound proof , the prices at the restaurant Gourrmet can become ridiculous ( some dishes are price at two thirds of current minimum wage in Venezuela ) the Gym can be ridiculously small ( they simply transformed one room and put four apparel a there, fortunately not many people used it during my stay )
Service is Bolivarian socialist which means a take it or leave it attitude , anyway service is automatically charged to your bill..
I slept wheel but I am not too sensitive to traffic noise and anyway i had to wake up early .
The breakfast on the business floor is fine , downstairs it is not exciting .
Now honestly , I also tried the euro building and it was certainly not better .

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors ( more view , less noise )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LePapito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear "Papito1955"

We appreciate you have taken part of your time to advise us of your dissatisfaction, which is the first step towards improvement of our services.

Please be assured a record of this report will be kept in the management offices and will be taken into consideration for brand standards evaluation for this specific property.

We look forward to serving you in the future and thank you for continuing to choose IHG hotels.

Best Regards,

Gerente de Guest Relations/Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the IC Caracas during a recent 2 night visit to the city. We read some negative reviews about the hotel but thought it couldnt possibly be that bad given the size and reputation of this chain...how wrong were we.

The room we were given (room 666) was extremely old and dated. It felt like we were trapped at the top of a castle like a prisoner. The room appeared not to have been occupied for some time - weeks maybe months. There was even a very large dead cockroach in the room.

The room came with a small coffee machine and cups but no coffee to drink. When we called reception (which was an ordeal itself) to ask for some coffee they told us it wasnt possible to have any coffee until the following morning. Very strange! The following morning on our way to breakfast we went down to reception to ask for coffee and they said it was possible but there would be a charge of 40 bolivars. Granted it isnt allot of money but we expected a hotel like IC to provide coffee with the room, not to charge for it. Nevertheless we accepted the charge and ordered the coffee and when it was delivered there was no milk or sugar - just the coffee.

The first night we ordered more room service this time pasta. After 30 mintues of waiting they called us to advise they had run put of the pasta we had chosen so we had to pick a different one. 40 minutes later it arrived. While we were at breakfast the next morning someone went into our room to collect the room service tray (thats all, they didnt make the bed, change the towels, nothing) and then left it outside our room door until the following morning.

Thst day we spent some time by the pool which is quite nice and ate at the canaña restaurant.

On the last morning on our way to breakfast we popped to reception to give them back the pack of coffee - unopened - and asked that the 40 bolivars charge be removed from our bill. The man serving us, clearly a senior member, wasnt understanding us and told us to leave the coffee in the room. When my husband (who's first language is Spanish) explained in Spanish that we wanted the coffee refunded because we hadnt drunk it, the man said he didnt realise they charged for coffee and that a refund wasnt possible because all catering wasnt handled by the hotel itself. This we couldnt believe. Firstly how can the hotel take zero responsibility for catering and secondly how can someone in a senior position not know they charge for something like coffee. Anyway, bottom line was 'we ordered it so we had to pay for it'.

Checking out was the worst part of our stay. We were settling our bill in cash and had counted the money 3 or 4 times EACH and so knew the amount we were given them was exact (for example the bill was 13,300 bolivars) But when the same senior member of staff returned from counting the money in a closed office, he advised that we were 300 bolivars short. This we knew definitely wasn't true as we'd both double and triple checked the money in our room before checking out. He was lying and we knew it but there was nothing we could do - we were pushed for time because we had a flight to catch. Angry, frustrated and shocked that reception staff at such a large international brand could blatantly steal from us we paid the missing 300 bolivars and left.

On a positive note the hotel is located in a safe area whith a shopping mall opposite. There is also a bamk and chemist within the same building. The hotel also has safe taxi' for guests to use but these are more expensive.

we wouldn't recommend anybody stay here but if you have to and you settle your bill in cash be sure to be present when the staff count it out.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Ms. Nicola,

Greetings from Hotel Tamanaco InterContinental.

We are sorry to hear about the several inconveniences occurred during your stay at our hotel.

The experiences that you have described are certainly not characteristic of high standards of service we are striving to provide. As one of the world’s leading hotel industry,we are aware of the expectations from our guests and certainly do our best to meet them. Please be assured that we have highlighted these matters to the concerned departments for their information and whatever action is necessary will be taken accordingly.

However we are concerned that you were affected, therefore, we are sending you a private email with further details of the actions taken to amend these unfortunate events.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused on this occasion. We look forward to serving you again at our hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Vanessa Pérez
Gerente de Guest Relations / Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel has very nice setting, beautiful landscape view. Comfortable and relaxing feeling. The staff makes me feel at home. Specially the Guest Relations team that try to accommodate my needs. They have an excellent security team. The most important thing is they make me feel at home. To me, Tamanaco is the best hotel in Caracas. Caracas biggest issue is insecurity, and I feel the most secure here at Tamanco under any circumstances. Again, the landscape is beautiful, the staff is very friendly, kind, and really look up for the guests needs and requests.
The sushi bar, to me, is the best in Caracas. I feel I'm having sushi at the US.
The staff is multilingual so I don't feel like I need to learn Spanish, and that´s a plus for the hotel.
At Tamanaco, the hospitality is great. The flowers arrangement in the hotel is beautiful.
I will definitely come back and stay at Tamanaco whenever I have to return to Caracas for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear (Lynn T)

Thank you for share your experience and give us a good review. We are glad to know you had a great time here in Tamanaco, the most important thing for us is to create such a memorable experience for our guests!

It is always a pleasure knowing that our guests enjoy their stay.

Vanessa Perez
Gerente de Guest Realtions/Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caracas hotels
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
El Rosal
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chacao
Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#15 of 86 in Caracas
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas

Address: Av. Ppal. de Las Mercedes | PO Box 467, Caracas 1060, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
Price Range: $62 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamanaco InterContinental Caracas is a tropical oasis in the heart of one of the city s most prestigious shopping, entertainment and business districts. The majestic Avila Mountain is accessible by cable car, and attractions such as the historic town of Hatillo, the Museum of Fine Arts and the San Ignacio Commercial Centre are an easy drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, IHG and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tamanaco Caracas Hotel Caracas
Intercontinental Caracas
Caracas Tamanaco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing