We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most secure & best overall experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most secure & best overall experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is my fourth stay at the Tamanaco InterContinental Caracas. This time I have been here for almost 3 weeks due to work. This hotel is by the "grande dame" or the classic hotel of Caracasa. It has 3 restaurants, fantastic bar with an incrediable terrace and view of city. This city "oasis" hotel is in the most fasionable area of town. Security is very important in a dangerous city like Caracas and the InterContinental takes this very serious and also due to layout of hotel and sourounding gardens you feel safe. I read some of the reviews and it is true that some rooms are tired and need to be renovated but my room a lanai room overlooking pool and with a balcony was very nice. Last time I stayed on the "club executive floor" and those rooms were also very acceptable. Loved the excellent FREE wi-fi provided in all areas including the incrediable and huge pool. There is no other Hotel I would stay at in Caracas,the staff make you feel extremly welcome.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    107
    77
    74
    78
See reviews for
53
71
38
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Hotel is well located and easy to reach. The facility is outdated though, the rooms are small and we had the problem that almost nothing worked (water entered from the upper room into our own bathroom, TV was broken); Concierge and reception did not answer the phone. All in all we felt that we did not get an adequate service for what we paid for. There are better options in Caracas such as the Pestana or the JW Mariott. The only good thing in this hotel is its amazing pool and the hair dresse in the basement.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IntTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear IntTraveller2012,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what feel below your expectations. I'm deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced.

We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caracas hotels

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Intercontinental Tamanaco Caracas hotel reflects on the Venezuela social situation of the last 10-15 years. Outdated place, unmotivated staff, Out of touch of the world's pace, polite at best. Good enough to stand it for the week since you are not at the hotel for most of the day doing business.
Rooms are just OK, mold in the bathtube, no tissues, very minimum amenities, noisy AC.
Coffe machine with no complimentary coffe bags to make... very socialist environment if you know what I mean.
Internet and TV worked fine, clean bed, running hot water wich are some of the basics musts.
I do have good comments of the al-fresco La Cabaña restaurant for dinner, great food and service. Nice bar local beers are ok, and the wood oven pizzas are just delicious. You get a bread basket with small versions of arepas, very tasty and good. Try also the caesar salad with chicken, very decent.
Coffee is ok, ask for a large american coffee, otherwise you may end with a tiny cup (expresso) that they call macoyo or magoyo...

Room Tip: Try to get the 8th floor business rooms, they are a bit better maintained, and you'll get the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Alberto B,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night. Since I arrived, everything was a problem and of course no solutions provided by the staff. The guy at the "Ambassador Front Desk" (8th floor) was not polite, unhelpful and light years away from representing a "5 star hotel". Also, at the main front desk of the hotel, no one knew any information regarding the parking lot or anything else for that matter. The room, which was an upgraded one from a deluxe room, was small really small tiny does not quite describe it if you know what I mean. Only three lamps worked and the rest "were going to be fixed later"...that never happened (big surprise)... Also the bathroom was extremely small. There was only one bathrobe for a room of two.The TV is very old, its JUST a flat screen, meaning it's like a regular TV of the 90's. In general, the hotel is very old, it doesn't feel like a 5 star hotel, not in a million years...
Good things: wi-fi system in every room, great view (if you like Avila Mountain), and the A/C can achieve near-freezing temperatures.

Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosesandguns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTamanaco, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are sorry about all the disadvantages that you had during you stay.
Thank you for take the time to write this review, a powefull tool for us to improve in all the areas for give to our guests the best service.
We will work on this, and hope you can stay with us again and have a nice experience.

Best regards,

Silvana Natale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

The hotel should have a proper business center, whereby business people can sit down, use compters, print documents, and in general avail themselves of solid communications as well as having a place to have meetings.
Additionaly, the rooms should have a more reliable wi-fi system, as well as providing a higher speed

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the once sparkling InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas (April 2012). It still has a beautiful pool (reminiscent of the 50s) and open views. But rooms and common areas are appalling. It is a surprise that the InterContinental brand allows this property to be part of its chain. Old, dirty carpet, telephone with no cable, a coffee machine inside the wardrobe (sitting on the safe that didn't work properly), ancient, faded bedspread, lamp shade with holes, broken mirror, broken marble top, ancient mini-bar. The bathroom had corroded towel racks and all metal pieces were terribly worn. In addition to that, there were issues with the door, that wouldn't always close. Staff was nice, but not always prepared to help: wrong information about shopping malls opening hours, no information about airport taxes, no information about city tours, no city maps (it is not their fault in this case; the tourist information office says there are no maps of the city, probably because there are no tourists there). Review says that this neighborhood (Las Mercedes) is super hip, but it is in general in poor condition, I would rather have stayed in Altamira where there are trees and people in the streets (not only cars ). In Las Mercedes all sidewalks are in need of repair. The hotel was uper expensive. Charges outrageous US$ 3 for local phone calls. There were issues with the bill too, but they were promptly solved.

Room Tip: If you need to stay at this hotel, ask for a room with a pool view. The 3rd floor is renovated, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
H H,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel property, build in 1960 yet super modern and well maintain. The 3 floor has excellent modern rooms. Unfortundley the level of noise in the rooms and in the hallways is extremely high.

The food quality is great!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank murcicosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTamanaco, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review.
We know about the noise problem on the rooms near the elevators at 3°floor, but the enginer is working in a solution for this.
We hope you can visit us soon again.
Best regards,

Silvana Natale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caracas hotels
El Rosal
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chacao
Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel
La Castellana
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
#5 of 86 in Caracas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas

Property: InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas
Address: Av. Ppal. de Las Mercedes | PO Box 467, Caracas 1060, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamanaco InterContinental Caracas is a tropical oasis in the heart of one of the city s most prestigious shopping, entertainment and business districts. The majestic Avila Mountain is accessible by cable car, and attractions such as the historic town of Hatillo, the Museum of Fine Arts and the San Ignacio Commercial Centre are an easy drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, IHG and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tamanaco Caracas Hotel Caracas
Intercontinental Caracas
Caracas Tamanaco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing