We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced. Lack of attention to details, no wifi in the rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 23, 2012

For $460 a night you should 1) get wifi in your room 2) not be charged extra for a cord cable internet connection and 3) at least get the breakfast for free after the disapointment. ..... Non of that happened.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThereyouR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 522 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed at the Renaissance for 6 nights with a group of Head Teachers and teachers from the UK on a Connecting Classrooms exchange visit.
First impresion of the lobby / loubg-bar area was that it was impressive, opulent and fab. As the days rolled by, the area seemed more and more impersonal and charmless. It is designd for effect in looks rather than comfort.
The rooms are clean and well-furnished. I shared with a colleague and we had a double bed each. The bathroom was disappointing and there was no bath. The walk-in shower was good but by the end of the week I was longing for a good soak in a hot bath!
We arrived in Venezuela without Bolivars and were relying on the British Council to help us change our dollars. The first two night, we were almost confined to the hotel as colleagues who had been to Venezuela before were reluctant to venture out and use their credit cards to pay (we also waited for the nod that the area was safe to go out in!
Thew prices in the hotel let it down for us. The cheapest bottle of wine was 300 bolivars (at an exchange rate of 4.2 dollars to the bolivar, that is quite a price - and it wasn't even good wine!)
Internet access cost 19 dollars per day. At breakfast, we asked for water and were brought small bottles then charged for them (equivalent of about £3)
The hotel seems to be used widely for business people and conferences. The restaurant food was okay but not worth the prices charged for quite small portions of 'asian' food.
This hotel is in a relatively 'safe' area of Caracas. There are some restaurants nearby. the best one is the Chinese on the corner.
This hotel wopuld have been given a better rating if the prices of everything had not been so exorbitant!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennystar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This hotel is the best and cleanest for business, however it's a rip off. This is due to the fact that there just aren't any hotels up to par in Caracas. Supply/demand - if you're in town for business, it's worth staying here in a safe environment. Caracas as a whole, is to be avoided unless you go for business.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KGMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The Hotel is well placed, on a safe and quite nice neighborhood.

PROS
-The staff is quite competent and trained, as you can expect on any chain hotel.
-The rooms are well appointed, with plasma TV, a desk and Wired (only) internet.
-The linen and bedding are excellent, with a high thread count.

CONS:
-The walls are paper thin, and you can actually hear someone sneezing next door.
-Avoid floor 25th, as it is right below the events room on the top floor, and you will not be able to sleep because of the noise.
-No WI-FI in the rooms, just on the common areas

It is a good choice, on a rough city.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuroAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The hotel is located in a residential area- i felt safe walking around the vicinity (during the day!) to search for local fare. The lobby gets festive at night, with the option of lounging by the bar or the garden lounge area, but closes at 1am in the morning. The rooms were clean and spacious, and I was able to get a beautiful backdrop of the mountains every morning.

Service was quick and prompt especially with room service, and those working in the gym/pool area were very attentive. Pool area was great, but was on the 5th floor. After 12oclock or so, the sun is blocked by the many high-rises in the area.

My only complaints are that WIFI was extremely expensive (around $20US per day) and was only available per device that you sign up on, NOT by room; and there was a language-barrier with the Front Desk Agents. Beware of signing any documents more than once, especially if you decide anything extra to your room. My friends and I found a lot of hidden charges that were not explained to us when we checked-out.

Room Tip: Higher floors get a better view of the city.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The hotel is really nice, Also the pool is beautiful, the rooms are clean and glamorous, the rest is amazing and if you like Hindu food they cook it soo is perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexandrabraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Generally the hotel left a very good impression, service was fast and polite (front desk, concierge and breakfast stuff), all stuff who we contacted spoke decent to very good English. The only thing that was off is that they don't have whirlpools in their suits as advertised on their official webpage (and again mentioned in our booking confirmation!) but once we found it out we contacted the front desk and they apologized and said they don't have whirlpools in their suits and never had, but to compensate our inconvenience they dropped our rate by 90$.

Room Tip: Staying on a higher floor gives you a very good city view (was worth it on new years night for watc...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caracas hotels
El Rosal
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Castellana
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
#7 of 86 in Caracas
74 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#15 of 86 in Caracas
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel

Address: Av. Eugenio Mendoza Con Calle Urdaneta | La Castellana, Caracas 1060, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > Chacao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Price Range: $106 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing