We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caracas can be a nice place to stay”
Review of Nelson's Place

Nelson's Place
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caracas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nelson's Place
Ranked #3 of 17 Caracas B&B and Inns
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Caracas can be a nice place to stay”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

You can have a safe and pleasant stay at Caracas if you have the right information available - Nelson has this knowledge!

We stayed for three nights at Caracas without any problems. Nelson arranged transportation from/to the airport for us, using his own trusted driver. With Nelsons help we got a hotel in a good neighborhood. You also get very valuable information where to go (or not to go) and good tips about places to visit during your stay at the city.

I wouldn’t recommend visiting Caracas without prior knowledge of the city and good Spanish skills. Unless you have someone like Nelson who can arrange a hotel at Caracas (and even in Isla de Margarita), book domestic flights for you, provide safe transportation etc.!

You get very good service from Nelson in fluent English. Without Nelson it could have been a very different kind of experience for us to visit Venezuela (and Caracas). We were quite positively surprised and almost all of our expectations about Caracas proved to be wrong – it was much better place than we expected.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaria72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

If you are looking for someone to support you in everything in Caracas... you are looking for Nelson!!! The place, the services, and specially the PERSON... the best options ever!!! I had great times with Nelson and Sara, his girlfriend, during my stay this weekend in Venezuela. They made my trip better than I imagined! So, if you need anything in Caracas... a place, a driver, a mobile phone, a tour guide, and, what it's better, a FRIEND, feel free to contact NELSON!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JujuVerissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomsk, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

On my way to Quito I had to stay in Caracas for one night for further flight, I was afraid a little of staying in the place that I don´t know and that is a kind of dangerous for gringos travelling alone.And I didn´t speak Spanish. In Tripadvisor I found a person who seemed to know much of staying in Caracas and I read his advices for travellers which seemed to me reasonable.Morover, he owned an appartment in the center of Caracas and in addition a taxi waiting for me at the airport was possoble. I connected with Nelven ( it is his nickname on Tripadvisor) , paid his in advance and....yes, I was a little bit nervous.
But there was no need to worry about. At the day of my arrival ( a long trip Moscow- Frankfurt -Caracas) i was met by his taxi driver and safely got to Nelson's place which occured to be an appartment with a dining room, kitchen and a sleeping room and and bathroom with hot water ( travellers to South America know that often hot water is not awailable. In addition , TV and even a computer with wi-fi was available! I was met by Nelson himself who helped me to change money on tourist rate. I spent a night at this comfortable place and next day safely went to the aiport ! On my way back home I with no doubt will stay with Nelson's Place again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeLok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

First I want to start with that Caracas is not a destination for un-experienced travelers. But if you are going, stay here. I can almost guarantee that it’s nowhere else (hotels etc) that you will get that much help and information.

I ended up traveling to Caracas because I had to have a overnight stay there anyhow. Nelson was among the first I contacted, but there was booked on the dates I was going there. So I started sending request to the hotels etc. in Caracas. I sent to apx. 25-30 of them, only 6 answered, and only 2-3 answered the things I actually asked about. So if Nelsons room hadn’t become available, I would probably have done as my friends with traveling experience advised me to, and canceled the whole stay. Instead I had a great weekend there, and learned A LOT about Venezuela and Caracas.

Great service all the way, from the pick-up service to all the info he provided me. He even provided me with a Venezuelan telephone, how many hotels do that? And when we/he discovered that there was gone be a Shakira concert in Caracas while I was there, he helped me get the tickets, how many hotels do you think would have done that? In Latin America?? And so the list goes on, this is the place to stay if you want to experience how Venezuela works.

Generally very very pleased, definitely among the most interesting holidays I have ever had (much due to Nelson). Good internet connection, plenty of shops, and pretty much everything you need in the area. If I should point out something that I’m not happy with, to prove that this isn’t an advertise for Nelson, it must be that it’s no safe, or any other possibility to lock in your stuff away in the room. And because of that have to rely on the other you live with are honest and don’t fool around with, or steal your things. I didn’t have any problems, the only things I got stolen was by the Venezuelan customs. But Nelson, get a safe :)

Once again, Caracas is not a place to go if you don’t know a bit about how places like this works. So do your homework and follow Nelsons advice and you will probably be fine. With his advisement's, this is probably the safest place to be staying in Caracas.

  • Liked — All the info.
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Sailor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Booking a room and the airport pick up at nelson´s place is maybe the best choice you can make, if you arriving in Caracas and you don´t want to leave the city as soon as possible like some tourists use to do it during their holiday in Venezuela. Nelson is very helpful and even after hundreds of questions you asked him at any hour of the day, he always stayed nice. He really gives you a good update for the city. He gives you good advices, so you can enjoy the city. Even their might be some moments you feel uncomfortable in the city it´s worth to stay for a few days. We spend a whole day in the museums, which are all free at “bellas artes “, seeing lot families in “parque del este caracas” on a Sunday also working out together and what´s really nice is to go to “el hatillo” for an afternoon. The apartment is clean, you feel save and it´s good located.

Room Tip: visit his homepage and make a reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WienJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

for everything Nelson.If someone wants to go to Venezuela he MUST
ask Nelson for information.He booked everything in our trip in Canaima
(air tickets,hotel in Coudad Bolivar,excursions to the Carrao river and to Angel Falls)
with the best price and he gave information and advices for everything...

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kreontas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bham uk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

I booked Nelsons place and airport pickup for my daughter as she was travelling alone. I could not fault his service quick to answer emails and very helpful. My daughter said everything ran very smoothly as she was a little nervous about being in Caracas and arriving at the airport on an evening on her own, but there was no need to worry. Nelson speaks good english, him and his mum are very helpful a pleasure to stay with. Definatley recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyrowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caracas hotels
El Rosal
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Castellana
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
#5 of 86 in Caracas
72 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#15 of 86 in Caracas
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelson's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson's Place

Property: Nelson's Place
Address: Sabana Grande, Caracas 1050, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > Sabana Grande
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Nelson`s Place Hotel Caracas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing