We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little place in paradise”
Review of Posada La Cigala

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla El Gran Roque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada La Cigala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2010

very nice little hotel with an excellent location. 2 - 3 min walk to the pier that you catch your boat to one of the many gorgeous islands and in the oppisite direction, the town square.

rooms were very nice and modern. we stayed in a tower like room with the bedroom on the top floor and bathroom and small living room area. the air conditioning was superb which is greatly appreciated after a day in the sun.

food was nice. lunch was simple but was adequate. dinner was very nice with a 4 course meal that included fresh fish. there was always pleanty of beverages (non-alocholic)

staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. knowledge of the surrounding areas was good and alejandro was always helpful in recomendations. alejandro also spoke very good english was very nice for us because we did not speak much spanish.

overall the hotel was excellent. it is a little bit expensive but definitely makes up fot that in helping to providing an experience that i would consider as a week in paradise.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w_o_w_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Posada La Cigala
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 293 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2010

great option for los roques really friendly well organised great service lovely people. so many mini desert islands all in one place! Good snorkelling.couldn't fault the islands or la cigala at all as many of the positive previous reviews confirm. However we stayed for 6 nights and with hindsight 4 would have been better and 3 ok. the experience is sensational but it is pretty much the same everyday on to the boats visit another little island with your picnic and chairs and umbrella then back for excellent but samey dinner at pousada. So, we loved it but for a week,s stay it has nothing like the quality and vareity of somewhere like the harbour village on bonaire or the magic of somewhere like the maravjlha on fernando de noronha

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonWiggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

It is located at the very entry of El Gran Roque, nice deco, very smooth and original. The room is simple but gots all you need, even air conditioner given the restricted services in the island. The lobby is very comfortable and has beverages and snacks all day. The trip to the beaches is always on behalf of the posada and the personnel is always on their best attitude of customer service. Liana, the owner of Posada La Cigala will personally attend at the desk, she is also the cheff and I must say she has the best taste on cooking I've ever tried, either at the open cool breakfast, fresh brunch sent on the freezer for your beach trip, or at the quiet, elegant and private dinner, she and her crew will give the best cooking service and taste you'll ever expect. Alex, the manager, will always be checking on everything you need, schedule your trips and supervise you special requirements on the food, timings, and even special commodity like a romantic dinner on the roof. They event rent you the snorkel equipment you may need on the beach, and will always be willing to make sure you enjoy you're stay at Los Roques.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowermex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We spent 10 days in Posada La Cigala and I must admit we were dissapointed. We are not very demanding travelers but at this price we expected at least decent service. First, when we arrived, we learned that they had no room for us for the last night and they will tranfer us to another posada. No explanation, no apology, not even asking if that's ok with us. We got a room wih no window, with paneled door facing the restaurant. As a result we could hear the staff preparing breakfast in the morning. No privacy at all and we kind of felt like we slept in the basement. There were mosquitos all over the place and we got badly bitten and there was no mosquito net. We finally got transferred to a new room where we got bitten by mosquitos again and got dirty and smelly sheets in the bed. Not quite paradise, eh? The only thing that we valued was the food - it was extremely tasty - but for 10 days spent there too much pasta and bread and too monotonous menu. So, if you feel like spending more than 3 days in Los Roques, choose your posada carefully and read all the reviews. You will end up spending a bit of time there. There is not much to do there after you're back from the trips. The posadas are expensive there but maybe sometimes it;s worth paying estra couple of bax more and get decent service.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mmagdalena74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We have just spent four glorious days at Posada Cigala where the service was outstanding - the staff definitely add to the great atmosphere with the central hangout area which is a lovely whitewashed room with seating area and an essential breeze. The food was good - dinner is especially good and packed lunches are a great idea for the island day trips. We definitely recommend it - its a great midrange option and good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Very good hotel, close to airport and boats departure to the islands. convenient.

Nice small posada, with charming patio to eat and relax. Some rooms (2) are direct on patio (we stayed in one) with framed woods separation, and that's the only minus I'd highlight as it reduce the intimicy level when in the room. Easier to hear noises from other guests too then, so no long sleep allowed... even if in the Los Roques paradise, you don't want to sleep late but really go out and enjoy!

Los Roques is clearly the best location ever for paradisiac islands... not sure we should say it too much though!

The Posada staff is very nice and accomodating, very nice food for the area / Venezuela.

enjoy...

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seb_gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Mi husband and I just came back from Los Roques. This is a very romantic and relaxing place. We stayed one night at the posada La Cigala and two nights in a sail boat named “Picasso”. We flew with Chapi air. They have very small planes but they were on time. It is 45 minutes flight from Maiquetia (Caracas). Try to take just the necessary stuff (you don’t need make up over there) you can take 10 Kg with you in the plane; if you go over that you will need to pay more money.

Posada La cigala:

This is a very nice posada, great service, great food and the room had A/C. It is necessary to explain that “A/C” still means the windows are not sealed with glass. They are wood with slats that open to the outside. The room assigned to us had two floors. The bed was on the second floor. The bed was short. My husband is 6’3” ft, so it was short for him. There were no mosquitoes at La Cigala and we did not have problems with mosquitoes but they are in various places on Gran Roque.

The staff at the Posada takes you to the islands, drops you off and then picks you up whenever you tell them. They give you a cooler with your lunch and drinks, set up your umbrella and chairs for you to relax. Nice!!!

Picasso sail boat:
We spent two nights in the boat. We were the only ones on the boat plus the Capitan (Juan Carlos) and the Chef. It was the best thing that we did. We felt like we were king and queen because they treat you very good. They take you to any island in Los Roques Park, they go with you and show you where to do snorkeling or other activities. If you want to just relax on the beach, they set you up with umbrella and drinks. When you are done and go back to the boat they prepare dinner, they set up a nice table, some wine, music, etc. The food is delicious!!! They don’t go to sleep until you do. They want to make sure that you are ok and you don’t need anything else. In the morning they get up early so they prepare breakfast before you get up. They give you tons of food. I am sure I put more weight on me after this. One of the coolest things is this is a totally customized vacation. The captain asks you where you want to go, what you want to do, what you want to see, what time you want to do it, if you spend more time than planned somewhere they will help you re-work the plan to get the most out of your vacation. Sleeping on the boat is a bit like camping. It is tight and there is a certain lack of amenities. The sea breeze is nice but I got a little hot during the nights. If you are interested in renting a sailboat, do it directly with the owner, it will be cheaper. This is the link:
http://www.losroquesavela.com

Places we recommend:
1. To do snorkeling: Crasqui. It is amazing. We recommend you go with a guide because it has a path under the water that you have to follow (or give yourself some time to explore on your own). It is very colorful.
2. Rabusky: It has Mangroves where you can see starfish. It is very swallow you can step out of the dingy and do a little swimming there. The water is very clear. It is like a swimming pool.
3. Noronky: Good snorkeling and sea turtles in the calm area near the island and away from the reef.

Overall this was the best vacations that we have ever had and we travel a lot. We think it is better if you spend more time in the boat so you can see more stuff there. For example we couldn’t go to Playa de Agua. We didn’t have enough time. But by having our own boat we saw an incredible number of things in a short time. If you stay in a Posada I think they mostly take you to one place per day or maybe two places at most if the places are close to Gran Roque.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
5  Thank analista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla El Gran Roque
0.1 mi away
Posada Bequeve
Posada Bequeve
#3 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Caracol
Villa Caracol
#5 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Acuario
Posada Acuario
#12 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada Va Pensiero
Posada Va Pensiero
#6 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tapuy Lodge
Tapuy Lodge
#3 of 10 in Canaima National Park
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Galapagos
Posada Galapagos
#7 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Cigala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Cigala

Address: First posada on right after leaving airport on the street bordering the beach, Los Roques National Park, Isla El Gran Roque, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Los Roques National Park > Isla El Gran Roque
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Isla El Gran Roque
Price Range: $160 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada La Cigala 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incredible location, situated 20 meters from the beach, with beautiful social open spaces, a great terrace with ocean view and 8 rooms all with air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water. Equipped with 2 private boats, has concession to operate flying fishing operation with guides and captain. Owners expert kiters and SUP provide all information about the best spots. Offers B&B, Half board and Full Board packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada La Cigala Hotel Isla El Gran Roque
Posada La Cigala Los Roques National Park, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing