We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Posada La Cigala, so much better than you'll ever expect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada La Cigala

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla El Gran Roque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada La Cigala
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Posada La Cigala, so much better than you'll ever expect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

It is located at the very entry of El Gran Roque, nice deco, very smooth and original. The room is simple but gots all you need, even air conditioner given the restricted services in the island. The lobby is very comfortable and has beverages and snacks all day. The trip to the beaches is always on behalf of the posada and the personnel is always on their best attitude of customer service. Liana, the owner of Posada La Cigala will personally attend at the desk, she is also the cheff and I must say she has the best taste on cooking I've ever tried, either at the open cool breakfast, fresh brunch sent on the freezer for your beach trip, or at the quiet, elegant and private dinner, she and her crew will give the best cooking service and taste you'll ever expect. Alex, the manager, will always be checking on everything you need, schedule your trips and supervise you special requirements on the food, timings, and even special commodity like a romantic dinner on the roof. They event rent you the snorkel equipment you may need on the beach, and will always be willing to make sure you enjoy you're stay at Los Roques.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowermex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    56
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
25
203
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

We spent 10 days in Posada La Cigala and I must admit we were dissapointed. We are not very demanding travelers but at this price we expected at least decent service. First, when we arrived, we learned that they had no room for us for the last night and they will tranfer us to another posada. No explanation, no apology, not even asking if that's ok with us. We got a room wih no window, with paneled door facing the restaurant. As a result we could hear the staff preparing breakfast in the morning. No privacy at all and we kind of felt like we slept in the basement. There were mosquitos all over the place and we got badly bitten and there was no mosquito net. We finally got transferred to a new room where we got bitten by mosquitos again and got dirty and smelly sheets in the bed. Not quite paradise, eh? The only thing that we valued was the food - it was extremely tasty - but for 10 days spent there too much pasta and bread and too monotonous menu. So, if you feel like spending more than 3 days in Los Roques, choose your posada carefully and read all the reviews. You will end up spending a bit of time there. There is not much to do there after you're back from the trips. The posadas are expensive there but maybe sometimes it;s worth paying estra couple of bax more and get decent service.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mmagdalena74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

We have just spent four glorious days at Posada Cigala where the service was outstanding - the staff definitely add to the great atmosphere with the central hangout area which is a lovely whitewashed room with seating area and an essential breeze. The food was good - dinner is especially good and packed lunches are a great idea for the island day trips. We definitely recommend it - its a great midrange option and good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

Very good hotel, close to airport and boats departure to the islands. convenient.

Nice small posada, with charming patio to eat and relax. Some rooms (2) are direct on patio (we stayed in one) with framed woods separation, and that's the only minus I'd highlight as it reduce the intimicy level when in the room. Easier to hear noises from other guests too then, so no long sleep allowed... even if in the Los Roques paradise, you don't want to sleep late but really go out and enjoy!

Los Roques is clearly the best location ever for paradisiac islands... not sure we should say it too much though!

The Posada staff is very nice and accomodating, very nice food for the area / Venezuela.

enjoy...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seb_gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

Mi husband and I just came back from Los Roques. This is a very romantic and relaxing place. We stayed one night at the posada La Cigala and two nights in a sail boat named “Picasso”. We flew with Chapi air. They have very small planes but they were on time. It is 45 minutes flight from Maiquetia (Caracas). Try to take just the necessary stuff (you don’t need make up over there) you can take 10 Kg with you in the plane; if you go over that you will need to pay more money.

Posada La cigala:

This is a very nice posada, great service, great food and the room had A/C. It is necessary to explain that “A/C” still means the windows are not sealed with glass. They are wood with slats that open to the outside. The room assigned to us had two floors. The bed was on the second floor. The bed was short. My husband is 6’3” ft, so it was short for him. There were no mosquitoes at La Cigala and we did not have problems with mosquitoes but they are in various places on Gran Roque.

The staff at the Posada takes you to the islands, drops you off and then picks you up whenever you tell them. They give you a cooler with your lunch and drinks, set up your umbrella and chairs for you to relax. Nice!!!

Picasso sail boat:
We spent two nights in the boat. We were the only ones on the boat plus the Capitan (Juan Carlos) and the Chef. It was the best thing that we did. We felt like we were king and queen because they treat you very good. They take you to any island in Los Roques Park, they go with you and show you where to do snorkeling or other activities. If you want to just relax on the beach, they set you up with umbrella and drinks. When you are done and go back to the boat they prepare dinner, they set up a nice table, some wine, music, etc. The food is delicious!!! They don’t go to sleep until you do. They want to make sure that you are ok and you don’t need anything else. In the morning they get up early so they prepare breakfast before you get up. They give you tons of food. I am sure I put more weight on me after this. One of the coolest things is this is a totally customized vacation. The captain asks you where you want to go, what you want to do, what you want to see, what time you want to do it, if you spend more time than planned somewhere they will help you re-work the plan to get the most out of your vacation. Sleeping on the boat is a bit like camping. It is tight and there is a certain lack of amenities. The sea breeze is nice but I got a little hot during the nights. If you are interested in renting a sailboat, do it directly with the owner, it will be cheaper. This is the link:
http://www.losroquesavela.com

Places we recommend:
1. To do snorkeling: Crasqui. It is amazing. We recommend you go with a guide because it has a path under the water that you have to follow (or give yourself some time to explore on your own). It is very colorful.
2. Rabusky: It has Mangroves where you can see starfish. It is very swallow you can step out of the dingy and do a little swimming there. The water is very clear. It is like a swimming pool.
3. Noronky: Good snorkeling and sea turtles in the calm area near the island and away from the reef.

Overall this was the best vacations that we have ever had and we travel a lot. We think it is better if you spend more time in the boat so you can see more stuff there. For example we couldn’t go to Playa de Agua. We didn’t have enough time. But by having our own boat we saw an incredible number of things in a short time. If you stay in a Posada I think they mostly take you to one place per day or maybe two places at most if the places are close to Gran Roque.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank analista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

An unbelievable vacation! The islands are spectacular, unspoiled and better than any we've ever been, including the South Pacific and Thailand. The people are wonderful, friendly and helpful even though our Spanish is non-existent. But it was staying at Posada La Cigala that made the experience magical. We were there for my husband's birthday and our hosts Liana and Enrique, along with their manager Carolina and the entire staff did everything possible to make it special. It was his best birthday ever!

The Posada was comfy and stylish, with a common area that made it easy to mingle with other guests. We met some some very interesting people from all over the world. Our room was great, two stories with a loft bed and a sitting area downstairs. There was plenty of hot water and the air conditioner worked perfectly. The food was healthy, plentiful AND yummy!

The day trips to the islands are fantastic, especially if you happen to get one all to yourself. If not, it's hardly crowded. The staff coordinated everything perfectly in the morning as you are free to choose your own destination daily (the further islands cost a little extra but are well worth it). La Cigala also had the best chairs and umbrella's of any Posada there. If you want the darkest tan of your life, this is the place to go.

The flight schedules to and from Caracas can be a little tricky but Liana does everything possible to get you the best connection. It's an easy walk from the international side to the domestic side, and if you can't check in right away at the domestic terminal hang out at international arrivals, plenty of restaurants etc. We did everything possible not to spend the night on the mainland but they have hotels near the airport with shuttle service so you don't even have to get in a taxi. Next time we will consider that to get an extra day on the island.

In my opinion Posada La Cigala is the only place to stay in Los Roques. I am plotting my return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2009

This posada was wonderful. The staff are so friendly and helpful. My boyfriend and I both had a wonderful time. The owners a helpful and the staff will do anything you need or ask for. The will take you out daily to one of 5 different islands (other destination cost more, but not much USD $32 per person) and they will pick you up whenever you request (even if you have separate times). And the dinner at night was really good. Fish every night but always a different kind and prepared in a delicious fashion.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCMGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla El Gran Roque
239.6 mi away
Bijou Amethyste Hotel
Bijou Amethyste Hotel
#5 of 8 in Punto Fijo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Bequeve
Posada Bequeve
#4 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Caracol
Villa Caracol
#6 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada Va Pensiero
Posada Va Pensiero
#5 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Acuario
Posada Acuario
#14 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tapuy Lodge
Tapuy Lodge
#3 of 11 in Canaima National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Cigala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Cigala

Property: Posada La Cigala
Address: First posada on right after leaving airport on the street bordering the beach, Los Roques National Park, Isla El Gran Roque, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Los Roques National Park > Isla El Gran Roque
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Isla El Gran Roque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada La Cigala 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incredible location, situated 20 meters from the beach, with beautiful social open spaces, a great terrace with ocean view and 8 rooms all with air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water. Equipped with 2 private boats, has concession to operate flying fishing operation with guides and captain. Owners expert kiters and SUP provide all information about the best spots. Offers B&B, Half board and Full Board packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada La Cigala Hotel Isla El Gran Roque
Posada La Cigala Los Roques National Park, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing