We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Los Roques.”
Review of Posada La Cigala

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla El Gran Roque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada La Cigala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed there for 3 days and 2 nights, and from the very beginning you can tell that La Cigala is definitely the best posada in Los Roques.

The location could not be better, is about 4 minutes walking from the airport (you won’t be bothered by plane noises, there is not traffic at night or early in the morning), 3 minutes from the dock, and 1 minute from the Aereotuy office. This is very convenient, for instance you can wait for your plane inside the posada until it lands.

The facilities are very clean and comfortable; remember that Los Roques it’s a very small beach town, so forget about big fancy hotels, luxuries and home like amenities. All the rooms have air conditioner, private bathroom, Wi-Fi and no TV (you won’t need it). The posada have some common areas to rest and hang out, it has a lovely deck with a comfortable hammock and a couple of chairs and cushions.

The food was just awesome. They serve the basic stuff at breakfast (arepas, pancakes, cereal, etc.). At lunch time, they give you a lunch box with enough ice, water and soft drinks for a couple, the lunch could be a tuna or ham and cheese wrap, pasta or tortilla. The dinner is the main event, you will enjoy 4 plates, in the two nights we stayed there we had barracuda ceviche/zucchini carpaccio, pasta/pumpkin soup, fish (peto/barracuda) and chocolate nougat/mini brownie balls. With the all-inclusive package, you will have coffee, soft drinks (try the papelón con limón), tea, water, cookies and cakes all day long.

But what really makes the difference is the staff. What a nice, kind and service oriented people. They receive you from the moment you step the island and take care of everything you need. The guy on charge (Alejandro) helped me with a special request and the rest of the team showed themselves very attentive all the time. I wish the rest of hotels in Venezuela had a staff at least 10% as attentive as these guys. They also know very well all the keys and beaches, so they can recommend the perfect one for your needs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RubeNunez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 304 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

I'm feel very happy to choose this place!!! The staff was amazing, very service oriented, the food was awesome, very very yummy!!! the mojitos and caipirinha are amazing, just try it!!!! All the cayos are beautifull, but if you want to meet more places as possible, i recommend you take cayo de agua and other cayos tours, it is really amazing!! The rooms are very basic but super cute.... my husband and i really enjoy this trip!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFA8986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A very interesting posada in Los Roques. Los Roques as a destination was the most pleasant surprised and all the staff of La Cigala contributed to not ruin that experience. We had a very good stay there, however only for a Single night.
We were received in the airport, offered a breakfast on arrival, went to a cayo for the day with a lunchbox and drinks provided by the posada and a great dinner at the end of the day. Day 2 we got a breakfast (similar to the first day), driven to another cayo (again, with lunch provided). At the agreed time (2 hours before plane departure), we were picked up, had a shower at the posada and the help of the staff for checkin.

Please mind that this is a posada in an island with limited water and electricity. With that in mind, you will know why the water pressure is limited. Some of the features may seem basic given the price, but they were able to get all the essentials right. Toiletries were available, the size of the room was appropriate, hot water and AC were available, more that enough drinks and food were available in the beach, the Papaya (boat used for going to the cayos) seemed safe and timely. Joel and Alejandro were able to accommodate the requests from some of my friends (no mayo, no tomato, ...)
We had no problems with insects (insect repellent was available in the room), we were offered breakfast when we arrived. Booking the posada was no more cumbersome than booking any other place in Venezuela.
Overall, recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Staff service oriented, food better than average, cozy and clean.
The best Caipirinha. Tell them to get you a private boat with captain Zenith, He will take you to Cayo de Agua and other excellent little keys.
Don't think twice about staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjinicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Don't hesitate about La Cigala. The posada is extremely connected with the idea of "giving to their guests the best experience ever". The staff is amazing, the food is excellent.
For sure, choosing Los Roques and choosing La Cigala, you won't regret. Trust me!
Trust on TripAdvisor!
Thiago Skaf

Room Tip: Ask for the biger room. The price is quite similar to the other ones, but the size is much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSkaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Me, my wife and a friend couple have come back from Los Roques recently and we had a wonderful time in La Cigala. The Posada and its acommodation are perfect and the staff is definitely a plus. Alejandro and Joel make us felling like home since we arrived and Ronie and Andrelina cooking performance are amazing.I strongly recommend this place for those who are intended to visit the archipelago.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leonardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Me and my mom decided to stay at La Cigala after reading on Trip Advisor, and La Cigala turned out to be a wonderful posada that really lived up to expectations. Charming posada that had good food, extremely good service and everything was nice and clean. The staff was incredibly helpful and did everything the best they could for us to have a memorable stay at Los Roques. Each day, we got tips on which islands we could visit tailored to what we what we wanted each day. Thanks to them we had a truly memorable and fantastic holiday and we got to see the best that Los Roques had to offer.

La Cigala is also a place where you feel extremely welcome and you get a lot for your money. The place is highly recommended and I will certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lill Ingrid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla El Gran Roque hotels
0.1 mi away
Posada Bequeve
Posada Bequeve
#3 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
132 reviews
0 mi away
Posada Caracol
Posada Caracol
#3 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Va Pensiero
Posada Va Pensiero
#6 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Caracol
Villa Caracol
#5 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
167 reviews
0 mi away
Posada Acuario
Posada Acuario
#13 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Galapagos
Posada Galapagos
#6 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Cigala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Cigala

Address: First posada on right after leaving airport on the street bordering the beach, Los Roques National Park, Isla El Gran Roque, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Los Roques National Park > Isla El Gran Roque
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Isla El Gran Roque
Price Range: $160 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada La Cigala 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incredible location, situated 20 meters from the beach, with beautiful social open spaces, a great terrace with ocean view and 8 rooms all with air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water. Equipped with 2 private boats, has concession to operate flying fishing operation with guides and captain. Owners expert kiters and SUP provide all information about the best spots. Offers B&B, Half board and Full Board packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada La Cigala Hotel Isla El Gran Roque
Posada La Cigala Los Roques National Park, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing