We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise...”
Review of Posada La Cigala

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla El Gran Roque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada La Cigala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Those working in the Posada couldn't have done more to make us welcome and were really helpful in accommodating our needs.
The food was delicious - beautifully prepared breakfasts, packed lunches and exceptional three-course dinners that were provided for us everyday.
Liana went out of her way to ensure we got to and from the airport in Caracas before arriving.
We wish we could have stayed in Los Roques for longer and we will be sure to recommend the island and the posada to all of our friends!
We were also provided with diving contacts, tips for which were the best islands to visit, snorkels for day trips and endless cold beers and wine for relaxation on the terrace in the evening.

Room Tip: The rooms do vary quite a bit but I understand that there are plans to expand the Cigala slightly. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank streamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 310 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

Personnel - Very friendly, accommodating, good humoured, resourceful and pleasant to deal with.
Room - lovely, slightly whimsical, tastefully decorated, comfortable beds and room temperature (either aircon or window depending on room). Good wifi and enough plugs to charge things. Bathroom on the small side for long legs but not an issue as I didn't spend much time in this room.
Common Room - great atmosphere and relaxing place to relax. Excellent music, which changes with moods of the day.
Food service - excellent food; particularly dinner. Examples of courses include divine pumpkin soup, brilliant ceviche, perfectly cooked fish and magnificent passionfruit mousse. Lunch boxes are provided by the wonderful kitchen staff.
Location - everything is close on this island, which means that it does get noisy sometimes but it's not unpleasant as it's mainly the sound of people enjoying themselves. It's a convenient walk to the jetty, dive shops, airport, beach, etc...

I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a fairly strenuous 3 week hiking trip to Venezuela and it was the perfect ending to the trip. After arriving late due to flight delays I was welcomed to the Posada and on a boat to go scuba diving within 15 minutes of arrival. I dived mornings and was dropped off at an island to enjoy the beach in the afternoon. Everything was perfectly coordinated. Was great to arrive at a beautiful beach with lunch, chairs and a La Cigala sun umbrella waiting for you. If you have dinner at the Posada, which I strongly recommend, the food is excellent, particularly for fish lovers. Overall, La Cigala is an excellent place to stay and enjoy Los Roques. I was well looked after by the hosts Joel and Alejandro who ensured I had a very pleasant and memorable stay.

Room Tip: The two level rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnowbootsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I spent 3 nights at La Cigala. The team are really friendly, laid back and nothing is too much trouble. The posada is clean and well located. Rooms are small and very simple but that seems to be standard.

I received lots of help with selecting which islands to visit and the chairs, umbrella and cool box lunch were all excellent quality. Some of the other chairs and umbrellas from other boats had definitely seen better days.

Sleeping with the windows open it can be noisy with planes and with general day to day business - but again this seems to be the same for any of the posadas on Gran Roques.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CELlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This posada was great. Our host - Alejandro - was fantasic. He was very welcoming and relaxed and after a hectic day of travelling from Canaima (after a cancelled flight and no baggage) his chilled out approach was welcomed.

The approach to Los Roques was amazing and from the air the islands looked stunning.

The food was absolutely fantastic, the chef created a delicious 4 course meal every night (main course always fish). The daily picnic was yummy, lots to drink and you can add beers if you want.

You can get dropped off to 3 of the closest islands for free, the nearest being the best (this should be the first beach you visit, it's amazing!) - they usually take you out at 9.30 and pick you up about 4.30 - for us it was too long and even with factor 65 you can still get burnt - the sun is really hot and the breeze can be deceptive. Top tip is to wear Tshirts when snorkelling! If you want to go to the other islands it costs 160 bolivars per person. The closest islands were just as good as the further away islands but it was nice to travel around a bit. The boat speed varies and it took about an hour to get to one the furthest away islands on a speed boat.

This was a great beach holiday (and we are not beach people) the beaches are stunning, the water the cleariest I have ever seen, snorkelling was great and the food was delicious. Worth a visit!

Room Tip: We had a double exec room but I think this has more windows than a standard room. The extra windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We staid in La Cigala in august 2011. 2 adults (39-42) and 2 kids (5-14). The whole experience couldn't be more relaxing and cozy. The Posada is decorated taking into account the smallest details and incorporating row sea elements in very elegant sense. Gustavo and Liana take care of all the details and suggest you the best island to visit and the right time.

The bad:
-During our stay there was one night when the noise (we believe it came from neighboring houses) didn't allow us to sleep properly until midnight.
-There was an uncomfortable incident with the boat Gustavo suggested us to go to Cayo El Agua. We where expecting to go there early to enjoy the place the most but leaving the Gran Roque was a mess because of the boat congestion in the harbor, then the boat stop to pick up more passengers in another posada, then they stop 3 more times to drop those passengers in our way to Cayo El Agua. Even though we were ready waiting for the boat at 9:30 am we arrived at Cayo el Agua at noon. When we arrive we just play for a little while in the beach, then we walked to the Lighthouse and came back. Immediately we start eating our lunch and then (at 2:30 pm) the boat's captain was asking us to prepare to leave. That upseted not only us but a group of young Brazilian kids that came with us in the boat. We couldn't believe that we paid almost US$80 additionally to go to the place and we just staid for 150 minutes. Our suggestion is to talk very carefully with Gustavo and the boat's captain before agreeing in going to Cayo El Agua (which by the way is A PARADISE).
The food, specially dinner was upstanding. And the crew and the chef adjusted to food restrictions.
I'm and Internet addict and it was great to have WIFI in the Posada.
TIP1: Take with you your snorkel in order to avoid paying for rent then. It is really important because of the variety of sea life that you can see easily everywhere.
TIP2: Go at least one night to the bar that is in front of the Posada. Is excellent.
TIP3: If you are planning to go to Cayo El Agua, please take the time to discus the time you will spend there and the number of stops that the boat is going to have.
TIP4: If possible take a water camera with you.
TIP5: Take lots of sunblockers.

Room Tip: We staid in what they call a suite. A room with 2 levels and 2 individual beds at the lowest level a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This posada is located on the main island, so there is no beach nearby - you have to rent a boat. But it is definately the best best place to spend a romantic holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzybradberryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Very good place. Liana is an excellent host that make you feel at home. The food is carefully prepared by the chef and it is very good and welcome after a day of kitesurfing. Very friendly staff too. I will be back next year.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gbedante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla El Gran Roque hotels
0.1 mi away
Posada Bequeve
Posada Bequeve
#3 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Va Pensiero
Posada Va Pensiero
#6 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
155 reviews
0 mi away
Posada Caracol
Posada Caracol
#3 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Caracol
Villa Caracol
#5 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Acuario
Posada Acuario
#13 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Galapagos
Posada Galapagos
#6 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Cigala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Cigala

Address: First posada on right after leaving airport on the street bordering the beach, Los Roques National Park, Isla El Gran Roque, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Los Roques National Park > Isla El Gran Roque
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Isla El Gran Roque
Price Range: $160 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada La Cigala 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incredible location, situated 20 meters from the beach, with beautiful social open spaces, a great terrace with ocean view and 8 rooms all with air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water. Equipped with 2 private boats, has concession to operate flying fishing operation with guides and captain. Owners expert kiters and SUP provide all information about the best spots. Offers B&B, Half board and Full Board packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada La Cigala Hotel Isla El Gran Roque
Posada La Cigala Los Roques National Park, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing