We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place!”
Review of Posada La Cigala

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla El Gran Roque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada La Cigala
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place!”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Very good place. Liana is an excellent host that make you feel at home. The food is carefully prepared by the chef and it is very good and welcome after a day of kitesurfing. Very friendly staff too. I will be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gbedante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    56
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
26
203
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

The best posada in Los Roques!!! Near from the deck for taking the boats, near the best places to eat (Arrecife Cafe), near Scuba Diving and "far" from the center. Alejandro is the best host we ever had, much better than any resort around the world. Staying in La Cigala turned our trip a paradise in earth. We booked everything with him by e-mail, including our stay in Caracas-Maiquetia. We didn't have any problems with our credit cards at all. They are very trustfull people!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafa0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2010

very nice little hotel with an excellent location. 2 - 3 min walk to the pier that you catch your boat to one of the many gorgeous islands and in the oppisite direction, the town square.

rooms were very nice and modern. we stayed in a tower like room with the bedroom on the top floor and bathroom and small living room area. the air conditioning was superb which is greatly appreciated after a day in the sun.

food was nice. lunch was simple but was adequate. dinner was very nice with a 4 course meal that included fresh fish. there was always pleanty of beverages (non-alocholic)

staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. knowledge of the surrounding areas was good and alejandro was always helpful in recomendations. alejandro also spoke very good english was very nice for us because we did not speak much spanish.

overall the hotel was excellent. it is a little bit expensive but definitely makes up fot that in helping to providing an experience that i would consider as a week in paradise.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w_o_w_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

great option for los roques really friendly well organised great service lovely people. so many mini desert islands all in one place! Good snorkelling.couldn't fault the islands or la cigala at all as many of the positive previous reviews confirm. However we stayed for 6 nights and with hindsight 4 would have been better and 3 ok. the experience is sensational but it is pretty much the same everyday on to the boats visit another little island with your picnic and chairs and umbrella then back for excellent but samey dinner at pousada. So, we loved it but for a week,s stay it has nothing like the quality and vareity of somewhere like the harbour village on bonaire or the magic of somewhere like the maravjlha on fernando de noronha

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonWiggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2010

It is located at the very entry of El Gran Roque, nice deco, very smooth and original. The room is simple but gots all you need, even air conditioner given the restricted services in the island. The lobby is very comfortable and has beverages and snacks all day. The trip to the beaches is always on behalf of the posada and the personnel is always on their best attitude of customer service. Liana, the owner of Posada La Cigala will personally attend at the desk, she is also the cheff and I must say she has the best taste on cooking I've ever tried, either at the open cool breakfast, fresh brunch sent on the freezer for your beach trip, or at the quiet, elegant and private dinner, she and her crew will give the best cooking service and taste you'll ever expect. Alex, the manager, will always be checking on everything you need, schedule your trips and supervise you special requirements on the food, timings, and even special commodity like a romantic dinner on the roof. They event rent you the snorkel equipment you may need on the beach, and will always be willing to make sure you enjoy you're stay at Los Roques.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowermex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We spent 10 days in Posada La Cigala and I must admit we were dissapointed. We are not very demanding travelers but at this price we expected at least decent service. First, when we arrived, we learned that they had no room for us for the last night and they will tranfer us to another posada. No explanation, no apology, not even asking if that's ok with us. We got a room wih no window, with paneled door facing the restaurant. As a result we could hear the staff preparing breakfast in the morning. No privacy at all and we kind of felt like we slept in the basement. There were mosquitos all over the place and we got badly bitten and there was no mosquito net. We finally got transferred to a new room where we got bitten by mosquitos again and got dirty and smelly sheets in the bed. Not quite paradise, eh? The only thing that we valued was the food - it was extremely tasty - but for 10 days spent there too much pasta and bread and too monotonous menu. So, if you feel like spending more than 3 days in Los Roques, choose your posada carefully and read all the reviews. You will end up spending a bit of time there. There is not much to do there after you're back from the trips. The posadas are expensive there but maybe sometimes it;s worth paying estra couple of bax more and get decent service.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mmagdalena74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We have just spent four glorious days at Posada Cigala where the service was outstanding - the staff definitely add to the great atmosphere with the central hangout area which is a lovely whitewashed room with seating area and an essential breeze. The food was good - dinner is especially good and packed lunches are a great idea for the island day trips. We definitely recommend it - its a great midrange option and good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla El Gran Roque
0.1 mi away
Posada Bequeve
Posada Bequeve
#3 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Caracol
Villa Caracol
#5 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Acuario
Posada Acuario
#15 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada Va Pensiero
Posada Va Pensiero
#6 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tapuy Lodge
Tapuy Lodge
#3 of 10 in Canaima National Park
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Galapagos
Posada Galapagos
#7 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Cigala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Cigala

Property: Posada La Cigala
Address: First posada on right after leaving airport on the street bordering the beach, Los Roques National Park, Isla El Gran Roque, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Los Roques National Park > Isla El Gran Roque
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Isla El Gran Roque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada La Cigala 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incredible location, situated 20 meters from the beach, with beautiful social open spaces, a great terrace with ocean view and 8 rooms all with air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water. Equipped with 2 private boats, has concession to operate flying fishing operation with guides and captain. Owners expert kiters and SUP provide all information about the best spots. Offers B&B, Half board and Full Board packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada La Cigala Hotel Isla El Gran Roque
Posada La Cigala Los Roques National Park, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing