We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to stay in Los Roques”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Mediterraneo
Certificate of Excellence
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best Place to stay in Los Roques”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you want to have the greatest experience ever in Los Roques, this is the place to stay. My husband and I have been going there for the last three years and it's allways perfect. The food is amazing. The rooms are exquisite decorated and comfortable. The staff is allways there for you, allways with a smile, ready to serve and solve any request you might need or have.
The tours are great and if you want to do something in particular for example scuba diving, snorkling, paddle, rent a personal charter to sight seeing the keys, they take care of everything efficiently.
For us is the most beautiful place and best service in Los Roques.
This is a place for VIP service. If yo

We love it, and we're sure you'll love it too!... write them an email and that's it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    32
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
83
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We spent two weeks at Posada Mediterraneo end of March, which is apparently quite a long time to stay on the island!?! We loved the place, we loved the people...the food, Olga's legendary Mojitos, and of course not to forget Marco who escorted us to the airport on departure - such personal service (from a labrador). The place has been furnished with great taste and it has the sort of atmosphere that I could only aspire to create in my own home. So many lovely pieces of furniture and objects everywhere. Gran Roque / Los Roques is not a resort, it is not a luxury destination, it is a real working island. We visited many of the islands during our time there and did not get bored, it is truly beautiful. And when my mind did wander I had Jane Fonda's autobiography next to my bed for a bit of light reading. The boat journeys can be harrowing but that is the price you pay for going somewhere off the beaten track. Thank you for a truly memorable and wonderful time. Caroline and Ben x

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Thank you Elena, Olga, Jesus and all the lovely staff at Mediterraneo - I am pleased to say that after 11 trips the welcome is still as warm, the food just as excellent, the accommodation comfortable and the atmosphere still the same relaxed chic. This is why I keep going back - that and Olga's great mojitos!

If you are a fisherman you must stay here - the resident guide, Oswaldo is outstanding and the quality and variety of fishing unbelievable.

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms and all are very comfortable providing you do not go with the wrong expectati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kronberg im Taunus, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Posada Mediterraneo and Olga and her staff just great, service, food, friendliness, . Relaxing big time, We stayed December 8 to 11 and wished to stay longer- The excursions to the outer "islands" are a must - Los Roques is a place you miss in the rest of the Caribean - A different world to the Rest of Venezuela / which is fantastic for nature / GO THERE AND ENJOY AND TKS OLGA YOU MADE OUR DAYS :-)

ruth

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwide015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Come with a relaxed outlook and get to know the staff as they are all so lovely and want to make your stay as pleasant as possible- if you do that you cannot fail to have a fantastic time.

Become part of a lovely family and get to know Olga and the rest and they will do the everything to make your stay perfect. It is not a hotel it is about becoming part of life in beautiful Los Roques.

This is the honest Carribean, with stunning beaches, lovely people and a great vibe. Not a Four Seasons or a casino in sight- thank God! Diving, Kite surfing, snorkelling, picture postcard beaches with gorgeous food and great wine.

It quickly feels like home but in the most beautiful location.

Come and just enjoy this unique archipelago and Posada- you will talk about your experience and show off the photos you have taken for years to come.

Francis Aylward

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is a nice posada in El Gran Roque, its clean and zen; one must understand that when you go to Los Roques you can not expect a luxurious emplacement because its not the spirit of the island even though its a very expensive island.
The staff in this posada its great, just welcoming and ready to help you, must thank Jesus, Samuel, Omar,Maria and the guys from the kitchen. The room was nice but nothing special.The breakfast was delicious they will give you 3 options, continental, the typical venezuelan, and another one that i didnt remember, i alays ordered the venezuelan one 'cuz i love arepas ... The lunch pack for the beach was yummi nothing to heavy ( the sun in Los Roques wont let you eat a heavy dish as lunch) If you can try to book a trip to the some cayos (tiny islands) that are a bit far away from Los Roques, i strongly recommend Cayo De Agua, in this trip they will stop in a place where they have turtles Dos Mosquises ( that will take you 10 minutes and to see it will cost you less than 5 euros, you will be helping an organisation to preserved turtles in the zone, they are a private organization and the gouverment doesnt help them in any way) If you have the money go to Los Roques its paradise

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We chose Mediterraneo mainly because we were told by our travel agent that it is among the best posadas in Los Roques, and also by looking at its website (and comparing it to the websites of the other posadas). It is indeed a good and clean posada, but as we visited other posadas (Gaviotas, Aquarela and Natura Viva (the best one, in our opinion)) we realized the others are actually nicer. Mediterraneo provides you with all your basic needs: power generator, cable Tv, modern AC, island lunch service, etc. We had dinner at the pousada only once. The food is also good (although not as good as the posadas mentioned above). A three course dinner was served in maybe less than half an hour. This fact leads to what in our opinion is the biggest CON about posada Mediterraneo: its management. Olga, the manager, tries very hard to be nice but her real intimidating personalily emerges as soon as you need something that is not strictly within the ordinary, or you question or disagree about something. Things such as boat trips to islands, and what is/is not included are never transparent, and you always have the feeling that you are being ripped off or overcharged. And her attitude of course discorages guests from clarificating things further. Breakfest could also be better, since you have limited options (american, criolo, continental) and all of them basically consist of bread, eggs, ham and butter.
Other than Olga, staff is very nice, helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is alway from the reception, because it can be noisy and lack privacy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Planetorexplor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla El Gran Roque
0.0 mi away
Mon Cricket Hotel
Mon Cricket Hotel
#3 of 4 in San Cristobal
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Bequeve
Posada Bequeve
#4 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Caracol
Villa Caracol
#6 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Posada Acuario
Posada Acuario
#17 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Va Pensiero
Posada Va Pensiero
#5 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tapuy Lodge
Tapuy Lodge
#3 of 10 in Canaima National Park
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Mediterraneo

Property: Posada Mediterraneo
Address: Calle Las Flores 99 | Parque Nacional Archipielago de Los Roques, Los Roques National Park, Isla El Gran Roque, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Los Roques National Park > Isla El Gran Roque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Isla El Gran Roque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Gran Roque Island just few feet from the ocean, Mediterraneo is a world-class Posada. It is the perfect destination for your holiday. Charming Indoor/Outdoor area creates the feeling with the Caribbean weather. Enjoy to stay in our living to read a book or using our wi fi location. Terrace restaurant with excellent fish food options offer a menu that blends Latinoamerican and Mediterraneo cuisine with terrific results.... and don´t forget the caipirosca or mojitoThe first time i arrive to los roques was in 94 for a week holiday and i was so inloved with this place , its beaches covered on white sands, his turquoises lagoons, the peace and the real posibility to remain out of the real life for all the time you wish... so i change my life , move from italy and decide to built a beautiful beach house where friends and guests from everywhere could come to enjoy this place come to los roques , i will show you Los Roques feeling Elena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Posada Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Mediterraneo Los Roques National Park, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing