We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choise!”
Review of Posada Guaripete

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada Guaripete
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We had the opportunity to visit another posadas in Los Roques, because our friends were there, and we could say that Guaripete is the best! It`s simple, but very clean, the rooms are spacious enought and the food is simply amazing!! We had good breakfast and an afternoon snack (that is essential when you came back from diving or from the beaches and has to wait for the dinner). The lunch was a great surprise everyday! You can ask then to put beer in you cooler. But the best thing was the dinner! In the right time we all seat together and have the chance to make friends while we eat a 5 stars meal! Fabiola is really careful with all guests and helped us to choose all the best things for us, including parties (salsa y merengue, dj and even cinema!!)!! Ask for a silent room, far from the main entrance. Thank you Fabiola!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 173 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

We had a great stay with Fabiola and the team for a week in January 2012. The posada is well appointed and the food was really nice. The day trips to the surrounding islands were great and the highlight of the trip, just amazing beaches and islands!!
The only constructive comments would be:
--> the cleaning of the bathroom was not 100%
--> It should be made clear up front that the full-board does not include trips to other than the closest island. We were surprised to receive bills for some of the day trips.

For those planning a trip take USD as there is no way to withdraw local currency from ATM's. You need to know this before you go!

Posada Guaripete is definately a place to stay in Los Roques.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossco1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We spent 4 nights and 5 days in Los Roques and loved staying at la Posada Guaripete. The rooms were nice and very clean, the food was absolutely amazing (compliment to the chef who kept coming up with new beautiful dishes every night), and Fabiola and the boys made sure our stay in Los Roques was perfect. Fabiola arranged for us to go on a different trip everyday and was very accommodating. The posada can prepare a lunch to take in a chilly bin to the island of your choice for the day. The posada has a great atmosphere and we enjoyed the company of the other guests, either in the dining room or on the roof terrace, nicely set up with hammocks. We strongly recommend staying at La Posada Guaripete for an unforgettable stay in paradise!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I stayed there for longer then a week. It was perfect! They don't speak alot of english at the posada but other guest helpt us to translate.

You really get alot from what you pay and I do highly recommend to choose full-board. Food is excellent and service are great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aventyrssidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed 5 days and 4 nights in this lovely posada. It is just one of the many on Gran Roque but the premicies and the services are really good.
The room is small but they all are and you'r' not there to stay in your room. All the rooms have air condition which comes handy. The rooms have shower with no warm water but that does not mind because the water is not cold either. Some of the rooms have windows opening to the lobby and other kind of have windows.

The food in the posada is really excellent and plentyful. Especially after travelling over Venezuela it felt really good to have excellent food. You'll get fried and scrambled eggs and ham and cheese and pancakes and... for breakfast and a nice 3 course meal for dinner as well as some slices of pizza or bruschettas around 5-6 pm after you return from keys. There is a a bar in the upstairs open terrace as well as some hammocks and sophas.
They can book all your trips as well as have your loundry done.

If the owner Andrea is there then you have somebody speaking english other times you have to use spanish, italian or body language.

Room Tip: If you'd like to get a room with a window you should as a room in the back. If there is a choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Good place, with excellent food, nice rooms with air conditioning but a little small. The staff is great and very helpful. I recomend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thiago A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Guaripete is a small Posada in Los Roques. As far as we were able to check it is one of the best Posadas in the Island.
First of all you have to remember Los Roques is not a resort kind of Caribbean destination. Gran Roque island has minimum infrastructure (the only vehicle in the island is the garbage truck), and there are no Hotels, only Posadas, which are simpler versions, with no luxury, but more than enough if your goal is to enjoy this beautiful place. Me and my fiancee were there for 8 days.

Guaripete's Negative points:
- we got a room with a window just outside the dinning room (the architecture is like the Spanish houses with the rooms turned to the inside, so if we opened the windows, the communal dinning table would be just a meter away). A little less privacy that we would have wanted. But everybody goes to sleep very early, so no big deal here. More of a problem when there are other guests that wake up too early.
- not specific of Guaripete, but the lights went out every single day, and sleeping without A/C can be a little uncomfortable.

Guaripete's Positive points:
- very clean: sheets and towels changed every 3 or 4 days - it is not a Hotel, and the island has fresh water shortages, but I'm sure if you need they can change it more often; rooms, bathrooms and public areas are very clean
-comfortable suite (not very large, but just enough)
- own generator (the A/C doesn't work when there's no electricity, but at least you have lights, which you should not take for granted in the island)
- we were told they had wifi internet, but we didn't use it (who needs a computer in Los Roques)
- Fabiola, the manager, will help you with every need you have on your stay, from making sure the menu will be fit to your needs, to help confirm your flight back, and specially helping you choose and book your day outing
- Breakfast, lunch (in your Cava, on the beach), snack and dinner included and *delicious*, the cook often receives applauses.
- Did I say Fabiola, the manager is VERY helpful and friendly?

Overall, if I went back to Los Roques tomorrow, I would stay in Guaripete again (maybe ask for a different room).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PedroFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla El Gran Roque hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Caracol
Villa Caracol
#4 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Bequeve
Posada Bequeve
#3 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Va Pensiero
Posada Va Pensiero
#6 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Posada Acuario
Posada Acuario
#13 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Galapagos
Posada Galapagos
#6 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Dona Carmen
Posada Dona Carmen
#9 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Guaripete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Guaripete

Address: | Grand Roques, Los Roques National Park, Isla El Gran Roque, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Los Roques National Park > Isla El Gran Roque
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Isla El Gran Roque
Price Range: $463 - $702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Guaripete 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Posada Guaripete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Guaripete Los Roques National Park, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing