We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place...”
Review of Posada La Gaviota

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Roques National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada La Gaviota
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The place is nice and well situated in the little town of Los Roques. The staff was very nice, but they did not speak a word of english despite the website states they do. Communication had to go through other guest with spanish skills. Dinner was great every day, but the waiter was a little to eager to remove the plates from the table, and before everybody was finished, gave us a sense of that we had to hurry eating. Breakfast was good. Lunchboxes was ok at best. The posada do not serve alcohol for dinner and do not have a bar for drinks and beer. Wine for dinner can be bought elsewhere and taken to the dinner table. Before and after dinner drinks can be bought at the bar next door. Water to toilettes and showers stopped working several times every day and had to be fixed by the staff. If this happend after 22:00, we had to wait unil morning to get it fixed because the posada went dark and quiet after this hour. Rooms was small, but ok clean. No internet. We had a nice stay and can reccomend the posada, but would probably choose another one if visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Digiflopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 102 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2011

Posada la Gaviota was a wonderful experience, unforgettable for all of us.
They make us feel at home from the first moment. The feeling of order, cleanliness and service are present in every detail. When we sat on the beach to see the sunset or have dinner under the huge tree at the front, is delicious.
The attendants are very nice, the chef enjoys talking to the guests an shares that home feeling when you see him baking bread or cooking the gourmet menu for the night or the omelets for the breakfasts .
On the beach at the islands the picnic is nice and healthy. the boats are punctual and clean,
We traveled with my mother who is 84 years old and she also had a perfect experience
We definitely recommend this Posada

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank naranjitaCaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I went to Los Roques with my sister on February 2011 and we had a great time at Posada La Gaviota!
Clean, organized and with a very attentive staff, always ready to help with anything you need.
Food was fantastic every day, with perfect packed lunches and three course dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WandersonSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

My partner and I had an excellent stay at La Gaviota. The staff was very warm, attentive and relaxed. Nothing was too much to ask and they organized all of our activities and equipment rentals. The food at the posada is wonderful: three course dinners, hot and cold breakfast buffet, and the packed lunches were perfect for eating on the beach. They supplied coolers, ice and drinks for the day. Eating an elegant dinner while your toes are in the sand is wonderful.

It is clear that the owners have an eye for details as every inch of the posada is polished and coordinated to create a lovely atmosphere. The rooms and bathrooms are especially well thought out.

One recommendation is to bring bug repellant and sun screen as the sand is so white you get burned from the reflection.

They did require that I pay 100% of the hotel bill upfront before I got on the plane and this is strange for western travelers. I can assure you that this is a trustworthy operation and you will not have problems.

Overall the posada gets two thumbs up and when I got back to Los Roques I will stay at La Gaviota for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomhatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This little Posada is very rustic. But our room has Air Conditioning and great TV. 98 channels. Rooms are tiny but comfortable beds. No one spoke English, so it was quite an adventure. Our package was meals, and trips to the close islands each day. About a 5 minute boat ride. They set up tent, give you cooler with drinks and lunch. Food was great. Ate meals in front of Posada at tables on the sand. People were very nice. All the posadas on Gran Rogue have to be 14 rooms or less, we didn't really look at any others. I found Wi Fi 1/2 block away at free Wifi center by the elementary school. The islands are beautiful and water is BLUE as it can be. Beer and Wine are extra. When we go back, we will try and arrange to pay a little more and take the boats out further to the more isolated islands by ourselves. The ones close by weren't particularly crowded, but there are 100's of ones with no one on them. Cell phones work, so don't have to worry about getting left. You go out and tell them what time you want to be picked up. Can call if decide to come in early
Los Rogues is a gem. La Gaviota is very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLOPHIL375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

What I loved the most about Posada La Gaviota was the food! they serve great gourmet meals (breakfast & dinner), also the boats depart right in front of Posada (very convenient). I spent my vacation doing Kitesurfing in the beautifull blue waters and my children and wife enjoyed doing snorkel.
Tip: normaly the Posada Pakage includes trips to the beaches, however they don't take you into the archipielago, take advantage of a full day to book a tour to the archipielago and see the turtles and wild life of Los Roques!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidMillarOsosrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

The Gaviota Posada is located in Grand Roque, the only populated island of Los Roques . Every day we had breakfast in front of the beach outside where the tables are on the sand below a big tree shadow seeing the pelicans fishing . Afterwards we leave in a daily boat trip to a nearby island , provided with lunch box, water and beverage drink , and return in the afternoon. We had done another tours to two groups of islands far from Gran Roque, that you have to pay for it. In the end of the everyday we apreciatted the marvellous sunset in front of the beach drinking a coktail or climbing to the old lighthouse .
After a shower and a short rest we could taste the dinner by the the noon . Good meal and everything done by D Délia and served by her sympatic staff.
Be careful because you wil be fat . You must walk around the island in order to not get some kilos extra.
By night you have few options of enjoyment . But nevermind, you have to have a good sleep to begin another wonderful day.
We really enjoyed our vacations and recomend the posada La Gaviota.
Mário and Ana Marcia

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aquarius2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Roques National Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Posada Bequeve
Posada Bequeve
#3 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Caracol
Posada Caracol
#3 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Caracol
Villa Caracol
#5 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada Galapagos
Posada Galapagos
#6 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
90 reviews
0 mi away
Posada Dona Carmen
Posada Dona Carmen
#9 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Va Pensiero
Posada Va Pensiero
#6 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Gaviota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Gaviota

Address: Calle Las Gaviota No 74, Los Roques National Park 1165, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Los Roques National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Los Roques National Park
Price Range: $160 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront property, just 25 meters form the beach. Have breakfast or dinner barefoot, your feet playing with the sand, it cannot get any better than this. "A piece of Heaven that floated to the Carribean sea, come and make it yours" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada La Gaviota Hotel Los Roques National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing