We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel EVER!!!!!! SERIOUSLY!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Margarita Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Margarita Village
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Porlamar
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel EVER!!!!!! SERIOUSLY!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

My friends and I stayed at this hotel from the 15th - 19th Dec 2013. My first impression of this place, its sooo outdated and old! The rooms were moldy and the tiles were disgusting!!! the handle on the door was always giving trouble to open and close. The staff was not very helpful they didn't understand a word of english except for one guy who only came in at 10:30pm at night. One of the nights there was a centipede in the room and we went to reception to complain about it and they sent a guy to kill it! but that was a wast of time as he was NO HELP at all it seemed to me that it was normal to have those things around.The food was bland as almost everyday it was basically the same thing over and over!!.The housekeeping staff stole items from a couple of my friends bags!! we complained that stuff was missing nothing was done to ensure that our stuff was safe!! This Hotel is the worst ever!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! will NEVER make the mistake of returning to this hotel again and we travel to Margarita often.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    94
    47
    31
    73
See reviews for
163
54
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingstown, St. Vincent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I travelled to Porlamar last year with a group of students and stayed at this hotel. The rooms were terrible. It became so bad that at one point in time 3 of my students had to share one bed and the others slept on the floor. I was disgusted. There was no hot water, for the month that we stayed there the towels were only changed once and we received no meals from the hotel. The secretary was very dishonest by charging us more than we should have paid per phone call to call home to our families. The stove-tops were a waste because we weren't able to cook anything; everyday we had to resort to the CM for quick food and breakfast. However, I must say the pool was the only thing my students and I enjoyed. Que Lastima!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Livia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Porlamar hotels

Trinidad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed in the village section of the resort from May30 to June02 2013. I liked the layout & the grounds were well kept. Our room was clean & towels & soap were replaced everyday. However, the buildings were old & amenities outdated. We had to jiggle the door handle quite a bit in order to open it, it's a good thing we didn't have an emergency & need to leave in a hurry! The light bulbs were dim, leaving the room fairly dark even in the daytime. The AC unit & fan were very noisy. There was no phone in our room or at reception available for us to use. Instead we had to walk to a shopping centre 5mins away or beg a staff member to use his cellphone. There was also no wifi service available despite a sign advertising free wifi near the reception area.
The dining area was open air, which posed a problem as birds would sometimes fly in & peck at people's plates. Meals were generally pork or beef based & there were few options for vegetarians. The same utensils & grill were used for different kinds of meat at the same time, which could be problematic for those with various dietary restrictions. I did appreciate though that the chef made an attempt to accommodate the many Trinidadian guests by cooking chicken on our third day there.
There was entertainment on only one of the nights we were there, so if that's something you're looking for in a hotel I'd suggest you look elsewhere.
Taxi drivers were conveniently available at the front of the hotel. I found the security guards & drivers to be generally pleasant & helpful. The receptionist, less so.
Overall, I would not book this hotel again or recommend it to anyone unless serious renovations are made to the amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raeb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tobago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I visit Margarita quite often. I stay in Margarita International Resort every time I go there. Every time I go I see changes- be it food, acommodation or staff. This August was one to remember. I had a very comfortable room. Although the Hotel had a lot of people, the housekeeping staff made sure and cleaned the rooms properly changing towels and all that. The food was extremely delicious. Effort was made by the kitchen staff to make the guests happy. Even if the staff who does the omelet did not reach to work on time someone would just fit in. Front Office staff, Tanya, was extremely helpful despite the fact that I do not know too much of their language. Bero and Monica were very kind. They helped in giving us a perfect room. The security has improved quite a lot. HATS OFF TO MARGARITA INTERNAL RESORT AND A VERY DEDICATED STAFF. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylvia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonrose Village, Nariva, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in 2011 and I really had a good time except for one thing I do not eat pork and pork was in everything. I went back this year from the 4th Aug to 8th Aug and the place was a mess. No clean towel, using one spoon to serve the difference food items and no one understanding English and worst no phone service and WiFi service.

Room Tip: if you only speak English, and you cell do not work, and you do not eat certain foods. Go somewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

it was okay. quiet place to chill no disturbance good pools but no wifi . it was okay thats the truth the towels changed everyday clean rooms and other cool stuff freindly staff .i enjoyed my self very well good security gaurds freindly and all ppl safe and cool all the time wonderful view good buses most of the time i loved this place and i am willin to return someday soon i dont kno when but very soon

Room Tip: the tenth floor is the best room 10/13 and 10/14 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kabrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

My family and I has been visiting Isla de Margarita since 2006 sometimes 3 times a year, we always stay at Margarita International Resort and we always have our breakfast,lunch and dinner at the Village.It has been a wonderful experience, very professional staff, very friendly, the rooms and always clean, food is excellent, I would recommend there to any one.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CarolynVickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlamar
6.6 mi away
Maloka Hotel Boutique & Spa
10.3 mi away
California Hotel
California Hotel
#2 of 12 in El Yaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.4 mi away
LIDOTEL Hotel Boutique Margarita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Unik Hotel Margarita
Unik Hotel Margarita
#3 of 8 in Pampatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.1 mi away
Puerta Del Sol Porlamar
Puerta Del Sol Porlamar
#11 of 24 in Porlamar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
9.6 mi away
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
#13 of 91 in Margarita Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarita Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarita Village

Property: Margarita Village
Address: Avenida Bolivar | a 5 minutos de la playa la Caracola, Porlamar, Margarita Island 6301, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Porlamar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Porlamar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Margarita Village 3*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Margarita Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarita International Hotel Porlamar
Margarita International Porlamar
Margarita International Resort
Margarita Village Margarita Island, Venezuela - Porlamar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing