We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Had a blast of a time ...””
Review of Margarita Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Margarita Village
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Porlamar
Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
““Had a blast of a time ...””
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This Hotel has the potential to be one of the best hotel in Margarita. Upon arrival the staff was so willing to assist you to make your stay the best experience ever. The food, the settings,th e most friendly staff, the entertainment the pool and so much more..... To the best Bartenders in margarita the boys Aurthur, paul. The Resturant, Luis and the waitress the best service ever luv u guys we'll be back soon Aaron&Vidya

Liked — The food,the bar,the pool and the meeting of tourist of the world.
Disliked — the flies
Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple

Value Location Check in / front desk Rooms Cleanliness Service Business service

Room Tip: get nearby the Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fruitpunch24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    96
    48
    31
    73
See reviews for
170
54
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We are very upset with MARGARITA VILLAGE INTERNATIONAL RESORT in the margarita island, Venezuela. We went for vacations last december 31 2010, to spend one week there, with my husband and my two daughters. We have made that reservation last june 18 2010 with RCI
That was terrible!!!! horrible vacations.
The hotel never gave us, the right room with the kitchen,with the refrigerator and appliances for cooking.Thus, we have to loose all the food that we brought to cook.
They gave us a terrible room without tv, light and hot water.
The worst thing,was: we were stolen our clothes. Someone got the room and take out our new clothes and presents for chritmas eve.
We missed more than 4mil bs(1000 dolars) the valor of the things
My family was scared about the situation, and we had to go to another hotel

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacaido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Porlamar hotels

São Paulo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

I went to this hotel for a 1 week trip during new-year's vacation.
Everything was extremely disappointing:
- Overbooking - hotel was overbooked so we lost all day (January 1st) fighting for an awful room
- cleanliness - found spiders, cockroaches
- staff - unfriendly, unwilling to help
- maintenance - from showers to taps and air-conditioners - everything seemed to be one hundred years old
- No clean towels in room - had to fight with staff for a whole day for 2 towels

There was no phone line on rooms, and even in reception! I needed to do an international cell phone call everytime I needed a taxi.

I don't recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a relaxing trip to the beautiful island of Margarita.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

This is a 3 star hotel, minus the 2 stars. We arrived early evening after a 4hr delay at Caracas. The Hotel grounds are spacious but VERY dirty!! The 1st room was right next to a huge fan that was VERY noisy. I asked to be moved as our A/C did not work , the fan didn't work and there was no way we could sleep. The next room was better, but no towels, toilet seat broken. Nevermind we mentioned it to the receptionist who took a note but we never got towels until the next day when I went to the laundry myself and took some. We told the maid about the towels and the fact that our hot water tap was broken. Nothing happened, nothing not a single effort was made to fix anything. Personally, the Hotel is too big and the staff have no idea how to run this place properely. Do not waste your time, stay elsewhere!! The place was filthy, plastic cups everywhere from the previous night show. They didn't clean up till breakfast time. The grounds were sticky, the dining area filthy!! I don't think that they ever mop!! Disgusting. It was a disappointment but we loved Margaritas and Coche island!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

The overall experience on the island, outside of the hotel was great. The hotel needs a lot to be done. The rooms, in village one, are very spacious. However, the showers do not work very well and the room service is very poor. The location is not bad, apart from the fact that is located next to waste land. The food is very, very poor. It's the same menu nearly every day. Most of the staff is, nevertheless, very friendly but other's cannot be trusted and this can be said from personal experience as my camera got stolen. The hotel did not do much to resolve this problem and did not handle this situation very well. The swimming pool is also extremely dirty - a week after my stay and I still have a severe ear infection from it! I highly discourage staying here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlejaValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blankenberge, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

it's a good hotel, if you want a cheaper arrangement, not expencive, and i liked the food and not crowdy hotel...
excellent to have some chill out time

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Sven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We picked this resort due to an inflexible travel schedule and the lack of availibility at preferred resorts. We knew this would be an older property. However, upon arrival, we were shocked at the filthiness of our villa! Half hearted attempts by management were made by replacing an AC and microwave, but the room was not clean and looked like it had been that way for years! Four out of 7 days we had restricted water usage, both in the morning and in the evening. Many amenitities were either closed or not fully functioning. We felt like we had to get up early and leave to escape the deplorable conditions and returned as late as possible to the resort to avoid depression. The only positive thing I can say, is the location was good, based on the closeness of restaurants and shopping. I could go into very detailed description on our room condition, but I do not want to relive this experience. Totally disappointed that we invited a family member to join us and very embarrassed that they had to experience this as well.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penguingrlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlamar
6.6 mi away
Maloka Hotel Boutique & Spa
10.3 mi away
California Hotel
California Hotel
#2 of 12 in El Yaque
187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Puerta Del Sol Porlamar
Puerta Del Sol Porlamar
#12 of 24 in Porlamar
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Unik Hotel Margarita
Unik Hotel Margarita
#3 of 8 in Pampatar
137 reviews
2.4 mi away
LIDOTEL Hotel Boutique Margarita
9.6 mi away
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
#16 of 91 in Margarita Island
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarita Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarita Village

Property: Margarita Village
Address: Avenida Bolivar | a 5 minutos de la playa la Caracola, Porlamar, Margarita Island 6301, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Porlamar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Porlamar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Margarita Village 3*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Margarita Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarita International Hotel Porlamar
Margarita International Porlamar
Margarita International Resort
Margarita Village Margarita Island, Venezuela - Porlamar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing