We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,638)
Filter reviews
1,638 results
Traveler rating
759
399
195
151
134
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
759
399
195
151
134
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 1,638 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2006

Me and my partner stayed at this totel in September for 2 weeks. We were really disappointed when we arrived at the hotel. All the other hotel drop off's had welcome staff and drinks and traditional dancers. hesperia offered nothing. We were given our room keys and proceed to the 2nd floor where the bell boys brought our bags. The room was lovely and spacious howveer we had been allocated twin beds when we had paid extra for a double roon. We decided to leave it till the next morning to complain as we were so tired. No chance of that!!!!!!!! We had maintainence staff to our room 3 times that night. firstly to repair the broken safe that we were unable to lock, secondly to fix the toilet with no ball cock so it was constantly runing and thirdly to turn on the air con as it did not work. Needless to say we didn;t get much sleep on the first night.
day two we complained about the room and were immediately moved to an ocean/pool view room. We were later told that they put all europeans to the far side of the hotel with no view until they complain and then they can be moved.
First day all was going well and we were really impressed with the pool and the beach and were totally overwhelmed by the sheer size of the hotel As the days went on the cracks started to show. Very few staff spoke English. Even when you did try to get their attention by asking for things in Spanish you would still be ignored. Above all that what we hadn't realised was that this hotel is the main resort of families from mainland venezuala. The hotel caters for 700 guestes and I'd say while we were there it was pretty much full. Out of the 700 guestes staying for the two weeks there were 16 english people (eight couples). We were all extremely disappointed that it hadn't been mentioned that this hotel was aimed at famalies. There were more children than adults at the hotel and all the pool activities were aimed at children. Speaking of entertainment. Our evening entertainment consisted of 45 minues of traditional dancing shows in the outdoor ampitheatre and once a week a disco on the beach (playing just spanish music). We went to the first disco they did and we got looked at like we were from another planet. needless to say we left. The hotel is definately not the cleanest I've ever been to and we even notced that one of the windows has been insulated with duct tape.
In addition to all of this to really top the holiday the spa, main resteraunt and part of the pool area were all closed for repair works. My advice ...... give it a wide birth. People who got on outrcoach on the way to the airport from the Dunes resort loved their time and all the staff came out to see them off and knew them all by name. We did not have any of that.

Date of stay: September 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Hilton-Browne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2006

My family and I stayed there for a weekend two weeks ago. The stay was very disappointing.

The room was very spacious with a big bathroom. The pool was not crowded. The beach is about 300 meters away from the main building of the hotel. The beach is not very big but adequate. However, don’t expect the staff from the bar to come around and bring you the drinks. They don’t. In addition, the bar that serves the beach closes rather early at 5 pm.

The service and the staff are the main problem. The check-in staff was not particularly friendly. When we checked-in, we were given our key cards and no other information was volunteered. We asked about where to get towel, then we were given the cards for the towel. Then we have to ask about the lock to the safe to get the lock. When we were checking out, I asked how much does it cost for a cab to Porlamar. The lady called to ask and told us how much it costs. You would have thought that she would at least ask if we needed one immediately. In short, you ask for one thing you will get that one thing but nothing more.

The next morning we went to the beach at around 10:30 am. The tents and sun bed were not set up yet. There were a bunch of them sitting on the side of the beach. I started pulling one to the beach and then saw there was one staff preparing the beach volleyball court. I went over and asked him if he would be kind enough to help me set up the tent. He simply said that he is part of the entertainment staff so he would not help me. When I challenged him that he is after all a staff of the hotel, he should help the guest even if the task was not part of his job description; he became very rude and kept insisting that it was none of his business. I went over to the restaurant and complained to the manager on duty. He instructed a waiter at the restaurant to help me. The waiter reluctantly came over to help me set up the tents.

Will we go back to Hesperia Margarita? Definitely not. We were at the Dunes Resort next door a few months ago. The staff there was much more friendlier than the ones at the Hesperia Margarita. The beach there is also much nicer and bigger.

Date of stay: September 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank etcaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2006

We have just returned from a two week break at the Hesperia isla Margarita and had a fabulous time.
We went on this holiday with an open mind after reading all the reviews and I think sometimes you can read too much! Some people moan about nothing!!!
The problem is that when you go to places like Margarita you cannot compare the standard of hotels to ours at home because there is no comparison.
The Hesperia isla Margarita was a very nice hotel, It wasn't 5 star as it says but it was clean and well maintained, probably a little dated but hey does that matter.
We booked our holiday with First choice and upgraded our flights to premier class which was great, more leg room etc and the service on flight was brill.
The transfer to the hotel was very smooth, and when we arrived at the hotel reception service was good, we were put in a room facing the hills at the back which smelt very musty, we went and complained and were moved straight away to a room overlooking the pool and golf course which was much better, the hotel did seem to put all the english in these rooms and if you didn't complain that was what you got, the reception staff were very helpful and spoke fairly good english.
The rooms were really big and the decor was okay, nothing to write home about but was cleaned every day and you always had a bottle of water or two depending on the maid.
There were a good choice of restaraunts to eat in:
Buffet - really good choice of food, breakfast was lovely and the theme nights were great, although it did get soooo busy being a conference hotel but that was the only complaint about it.
El Fogon - this was the italian restaurant and cooked pasta and pizza's to order which was lovely and some nights that was themed too.
Beach restaurant - lovely food at lunch, you could only eat on all inclusive at lunch time and had to pay extra if you wanted to eat in the evening.
Al la Carte - Very nice food, small portions but you still came away feeling full and you could always pop back to the buffett if you were still hungrey.
The only downside to the hotel was that there was not much to do in the evenings, although it didn't really bother us, the lobby bar was really the only place to go and there were a lot of people smoking, so at times it wasn't very pleasant especially if it was busy so you just ended up going back to you room, thats if you could get served by the waiters, the venezulan guests seemed to not understand queueing so you could wait 20 mins, the best thing to do was order 3 drinks in one go and to give the odd tips and then you got better service..
The swimming pool is a good size and was never really very busy in the day, there was always a sunbed and there was never a rush to get down to put your towel out which was good. the pool water never really appeared to look that clean and you couldn't see your feet, but the beach was only five minutes away so we went down there instead.
We booked all our tours through Marcos and he was brilliant, if you want to do any trips in Margarita he is the man to see, his details are as follows:
(--)
We booked all our trips with Marcos who was great. Orrinnoco/delta tour, Island around trip, swimming with Dolphins and Horse riding. we paid less booking through marcos and he was so reliable.
The two day Jungle trip was brilliant, we met some mad people from Derby ( Hi Guys) and had a great laugh, especially the Croc/snake searching in the middle of the night when it was thundering and lightning and then drinking rum and coke in pitch black floating down the river!!! I have never laughed so much!
Sleeping in the jungle was certainly an experience that i probably may never do again, not sleeping a wink because of the jungle drums(well thats how it felt) and then the howling monkeys that wake you up at 5 o clock whether you were asleep or not!! Take plenty of mosi spray because believe me you will need it!!!!!! We were lucky enough to see the Angel falls which was amazing, Walking under the water falls was an experience we will never forget, so if you go to margarita it is a must to do either the one or two day trip to venezuala.
Horse riding was fab, its better if you are experienced or say you are as you get to canter etc otherwise its a trot and walk.
Margarita on the whole is a great place to visit if you want a cheap carribean holiday but don't expect too much and you won't be dissapointed.
The Hesperia Isla Margarita is a nice hotel and we would go back there if we decided to go to margarita again.

Date of stay: August 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank SueTate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2006

I stayed at the Hesperia Isla Margarita hotel between 30 Aug and 13 Sept 2006. I booked through First Choice and thankfully they err on the side of caution when grading hotels!

This hotel gives itself a 5 star so you would expect sumptuous luxury because after all it is five star. However, either I was dropped off at th wrong hotel or someone added the two extra stars for a joke!.

The hotel location is secluded and looks fantastic if you take a trip along the coast and see it nestled in the country side. The beach is small but has some lovely coves within walking distance and rocks just off the coast creating lovely wavy areas to play in. The beach is at times over run by locals, but since this is their country who can blame them. You do not get hassled by them they are there to have a good time too.

The adult pool is lovely, it is large as is the kids pool. The pool bar does not open til 11 and if you have had breakfast at 8, you could well die of thirst waiting for the three hours to go by in the heat. Though you were given a bottle of water in your room each day, sometimes you want a bit more than water by the pool.

I think the management could sort out the lack of drinks til this time for the all inclusive guests. You should not have to buy drinks from the hotel shop to tide you over til the all inclusive pool bar opens. I have stayed in enough hotels to know that this is a dying practise.
The pool cleaners are meticulous. They spend early hours and spot check the pool for cleanliness throughout the day. It is nice to know that the pool was clean. The surrounding gardens were also to a good standard, but I think smokers should be aware that there filthy butts left lying around is making hard work for the cleaners and gardeners around the pool area. It is not fair on those who do not smoke or have to clean them up, because at present this is a task they are losing. Please put them in the bin.

The pool snack bar serves sushi and fresh fruit amongst other things! How very different from stale burgers and minging chips. Oh if you do get a burger it is cooked to order so it is lovely.

There are more than adequate sun loungers and it is spacious enough not to be sat on top of total strangers. Though beware that on a few occasions when I left my lounger with my kit on it to get some drinks, only moments later had I returned to locals also staying at the hotel deciding that the wanted that spot and would effectively move their lounger next to your lounger and not even bat an eyelid when you returned and looked at them strangely! I would not get offended, they appear to do this to each other!

Sadly this same tradition occurs in the restaurant. If you leave your table to collect your next course, then expect to have a family sat where you were.

The food was brilliant. In the main buffet restaurant, there was a different theme night each evening. The staff dressed accordingly and the entire hall was made into the appropriate place therefore making you become totally emerged in that theme night. This great idea by the management meant that unlike most all inclusive buffets, you did not get bored of the food.

The smaller all inclusive buffet room located elsewhere in the hotel was dedicated italian where you chose your ingredients to add to you pasta and spaghetti etc and had a lovely chef cook it before your eyes. Warning if you expect to diet, then this hotel is not for you. The food is too good to be skrimping on the portions.

Even breakfast and lunch were up to the same standard. The staff are very clean and wear hygiene gloves when dealing with your food at the grill etc... They were also very quick to clear up spills and dropped crockery or cutlery with fresh replacements. The food certainly is between 4 and 5 star.

Oh yes you are probably confused by my opening comment about it being a 3 star. Keep reading, you will understand why?

The beach bar was ok. The portions were small and very limited, but what they did serve was perfectly adequate for a beach snack.

My favourite food was in the a la carte. Oh my gosh, the hall where you eat is reminiscent of an elegant captain's diner on a early twentieth century ship. The tables are set to the same high standard as the other eateries. The food is very elegantly arranged on your plate and looks too good to eat. They really were works of art and taste wise could rival any good celebrity chef meal. All meals were served with good table wine that was quickly topped up and drank just as promptly.

The downside to the main restaurant. You could wait all meal for a waiter/ess to serve you drinks. It became apparent that the locals were served always before foreign travellers. Oh and this was not paranoia. On more than five occasions, having sat down as one of the first tables before being joined by several locals. Our drinks came well after theirs did. This occured whether the order was in spanish or english.

The downside to the lobby is there is only one bar. It is about 6 metres long and though the lobby is full of very comfortable seats, the bar area is limited and it seems to smokers and therefore again you could die of thirst waiting for a drink at the bar of an evening. The bar staff are friendly and have worked out that people on holiday are more likely to tip than those not on holiday, so guess what they are very friendly and will sort you out with lots drinks if you chose to sit somewhere else in the lobby away from the bar. They do not expect tips, but by god do their little faces light up if you do tip. They work silly hours and get paid a palry wage. It is worth remembering this.

The hotel shop selling groceries is not worth visiting unless you are desperate. The person behind the counter was nothing short of rude. Despte greeting him in english and spanish and being courteous he would chuck your money on the counter was still reading his newspaper and would not even give you the decency of repaying the compliment or giving eye contact. Oh guess what that shop was almost always empty!

The other shops sell your usual swimwear and knicknacks, they were pleasant but it is better to go out of the hotel to buy good for obvious reasons. There is tourist information in the hotel which is invaluable as you can book all your trips without being ripped off. It is worth visiting and booking the horse riding on the blue leaflet. Its a lovely ranch with gorgeous, well cared for mounts that will provide you with hours of fun. The dolphin trip and cruises are fantastic also.

The hotel security are lovely and appear professional so you can sleep safely in your rooms. I read other reviews of thefts in the hotel. We used a safe and did not experience any thefts or maids using out products.

However, I am not sure what the maids did in the room, They certainly did not do any cleaning. Upon arrival I had some manky old soap in the shower, the mirror had some one elses bodily fluid spray on it, the toilet was not clean, the bathroom floor was so dirty that when I walked on it bare foot my soles were grimy. And this was my first impression.

The drawers were so dusty that I could not unpack my clothes into them I had to hang every thing up. The floor in the bedroom area was so dusty that again I chose to wear shoes all the time as each day passed the dust just mounted. Underneath my bed was a local newspaper dated June 2006. I stayed in September!

The room was large and had the potential to be really comfy,but the air con smelled of old mould, the dust was unbearable, the floors were disgusting, there was evidence of the previous occupier and the windows had never seen a cloth in goodness knows when. The furniture has seen better decades and you could not wait to get out of the bathroom quick enough. If the maid had cleaned, then I would never have seen the problems that age causes with furniture in this room. This is why I have graded the hotel a 3 star. I have stayed in three stars that have been the same standard as this room. It was a shame that the hotel management do not think that your room is an important part of the stay. This was my let down of an otherwise enjoyable stay.

I would say by venturing out, the hotel is certainly well above the standard of anything else on the island, however, do not expect a 4 or 5 star by european standards. Go with an open mind.

Date of stay: September 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank msflex2fit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2006

My husband and myself have been to this hotel in the last two weeks of August .

Hotel : The rooms are very big and have 2meter x2meter beds.
The bathroom is devided in 3 rooms - 1 with bath and sinks , 1 with the toilet and 1 shower room.
It is keps very clean and we has a lovely view over the golf course and the sea - including wonderful sunsets every evening.
The rooms have great air cons which will leave you freezing if you want to and you get a telly , fridge, hairdryer, phone and safe in your room .
The rooms are not designed to dry clothes very well - so we ended up taking our washed clothes to the beach to dry.
In the bathroom you also get a selection of soaps, shampoos, bubble bath , combs , razors , toothbrushes, toothpaste , slippers, shower caps and a lot more
In total I would give the Hotel room 98%

Food:
Every night there is a differnt theme , Mexican , Venezuelan , Japan etc. so the food varys - the buffet is big and you should alwys find something you like. Sometimes the food can be a bit cold.
There is a special childrens buffet with Hotdogs , chips etc which is served by a woman dressed as a clown - which is nice for fussy eaters.
Breakfast was great with a huge selection of hot and cold foods.
Lunch was a selection of snacks ( different salats , fruit , hamburgers and hotdogs)
In total I would give the food 80%

Beach:
There is a small beach right in front of the hotel with free sunbeds and you also get a fresh big beach towel every day. If you walk 5 min around soem rocks you get to another big beach which is mostly deserted with lovely while shell sand .
In front of the hotel you have the option to use the free kayaks ( 1 or 2 seathers ) and pedaloos. Jetski is for hire for 65.000 Boliviars for 30min.
In total I would give the beach 100%

Pool:
There is a big sqaure pool and a smaller childrens pool.
The big pool was great for swimming but looked a bit boring
There was animation changing from dance lessions , to aerobics , bingo , spanish lessions etc.
In total I would give the pool 90%

Location:

The next town is 15min away by taxi ( Taxi cost 12.000 Boliviars one way)
Otherwise it is just mountains and the beach around you.
I loved it as I wanted a quiet holiday but if you are looking to get out a lot it might be a bit too quiet as the next Disco ( apart from the Hotel Disco) is 35min away in a Taxi.

We have left the hotel feeling very relaxed and we will be defenetely be back in future.

Date of stay: August 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MajafromScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews