We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away from this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hesperia Isla Margarita
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Margarita Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay Away from this Hotel”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Worst Points: building in terrible conditions original from 1994 the buildings has stay without any renovations since it open. The only paint around.

Toilets in the rooms get clog easily.

Dirty as and dust all over the rooms. Room service may skip servicing the rooms 2 days at the time without major explanations. The last I understood is the workers may not show up for work for different reasons.

Pool is in terrible conditions guest were cutting their feet's while playing inside the pool not even a warning sign. The Guest kept cutting their feet in the pool due to the broken ceramics on the pool.

Food is repetitive and alcohol served is the least expensive around.

Towels may not be provided neither in the rooms nor in the pool areas.

Stay away from this Hotel.

Spa needs to be closed down

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor Panoramic Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llopez3033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    360
    187
    146
    129
See reviews for
566
436
31
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have living on the island for the past 8 months and have been staying at a long range of hotels for weekend getaways.
Firstly, the beach is my favourite on the island, with amazing sunsets.
The rooms lack a bit of class, as furniture and beds are a bit outdated, but that is the only negative comment I can use for this hotels.
The service is classes above most other hotels at the island. The food is very good and varied (even bacon for breakfast, which is rare in Venezuela). For dinner there is the a'la Carte option, which is included (sirloin steak, salmon cerviche and wines). Furthermore, they do a long range of cocktails, sambuca shots and much much more that is not standard in the all inclusive here. The nightclub is nice, but most people hang out in the nice lobby bar at night.

The hotel is very well maintained! The swimming pools worthy of the 5-stars, and the indoor spa, gym, sauna and jacuzzi (also included) was amazing.

I had a very nice and relaxing weekend here, and yes, the furniture is worn in the rooms, but I can not put a finger on anything else! It might not be Aruba or Cancun, but for the price, you cannot find anything in this class in Venezuela or Europa for that matter.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasmus_Tranberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and although we liked the hotels facilities, the customer service from the staff was terrible. During three days I asked for towels and they were never delivered to the room. Our bed was not made one day and the empty glasses were not picked up for several days. Also one day we were left without toilet paper. Kindly I asked for the towels and one of the guys at the reception did not even listen to my concerns and failed to provide the service required. He was really mean, unfortunately I do not remember his name .Also, and many of the employees at the buffet were not kind at all. Whenever we asked a question, it was answered as if we were stupid for asking. We found very little nice staff. I must say only one of the customer service clerk at the reception desk, Willian , really nice with us, one of the exceptions. In general I liked the hotel but it is a shame the poor customer service, reason why I would not recommend this hotel. I believe the human connection is very important to provide good customer service, something that we did not find in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezuela
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I just stayed with my family at this hotel for four nights and I've never been so happy to checkout from a hotel. They sell this 2 stars hotel like a 5 stars, the only thing that is 5 stars is the staff, I had to ask for a change of room, the first one had the floor eaten by termites, the bathroom was black with fungus, the second room was a little bit better but the bathroom lights did not work at the shower, had fungus, the wood floor was going up due to moisture, the furniture in the room and all over the hotel is the same as 20 years, need to be change or at least washed, the food was regular not even Ok. There are better hotels to stay in Margarita Island which I found very clean and nice. The best thing was a taxi driver I hired, funny, nice, very good tour guide, always on time, his phone number is +58 414 0938003

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAfamilytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionHIM, Gerente at Hesperia Isla Margarita, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we wish to thank you for your time and input in communicating the unpleasant incidences you went through during your recent stay at our Hotel property.

Although we have failed to demonstrate you differently, all our rooms are checked prior to be assigned to an arrival guest and, in the event of any lack of maintenance, are repaired and serviced.

In your case, as per our investigation into the matter, the room you were misgiven was out of order and, therefore, it could not be ready quite enough to allow any overnight in there.

We apologise for any frustration or unconveniences you may have experienced.

There are many things that we can do better beginning for a closer monitoring on our new front office staff.

You may have noticed that the hotel fachades are now being painted and that we have a large number of rooms under refurbishment focusing on wood floors and bathrooms.

Hopefully you may give us the chance to take you in again in the future and see the modifications made on both, rooms and hotel building so that you may enjoy better from your visit.

Many thanks for acknowledging our staff attitude and service.It is really good for us to know that we are doing some things right and that we are on the path for excelence in service and good hotel premises.

Sincerely.

Juan Candeal
Manager
Hesperia Isla Margarita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nothing bad to say!! Thanks to all the team!! I just love the level of service!! The location is beautiful!! The Beach, "Puerto Viejo" is the best!!! I just want to say that you should put some more chairs in the beach for the Hotel clients.. But overall Excellent!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionHIM, Gerente at Hesperia Isla Margarita, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is great for us to know that you have enjoyed your holidays that you appreciate our services and that you liked our Hotel premises.

Being our main goal to create satisfied customers and good memories from their stay with us, we are really glad to acknowledge your positive review.

Thanks for your recommendations. It is true that the Island Government allow us a limited number of canopies and long chairs in the beach and we will be getting in touch with them to convey your and other guests' concerns on this regard.

Looking forward the pleasure of a new visit of you and your party to the Hotel, we remain,

Very truly yours.

Juan Candeal
Manager
Hotel Hesperia Isla Margarita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have any concerns about this hotel. It is the best place to stay on vacations or for business. I came here for work and I had a great time; almost couldnt remember i was working. The atention is excellent. They offer around three different restaurants and the food is delicious. I loved they have a theme every day. One day was Mexican, the other Italian... They have a private beach. It is awesome. We also went to dance at the disco and play golf during spare time. It is all in one hotel. There is no need to go out, but if you want to visit the malls, you just let them know in the front desk and then a bus from the hotel takes you to the malls and waits for you to take you back. This is one of my favorite hotels in Venezuela.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxanagoncharova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionHIM, Gerente at Hesperia Isla Margarita, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hesperia Isla Margarita

This is to acknowledge and to thank you for your kind review and for your for your time and input in sharing your experience with future visitors to our Hotel.

It is indeed a great occasion for us to know that you did enjoy so much from your stay with us and that you plan to return.

On behalf of our entire team we convey to you our feelings through your words that we are really improving every day and that it is mostly due to the kindness of our valued guests, as you are, and also to the follow up we make to our guests’ needs and suggestions by means of our quality system service.

We are now trying to offer a wider range of meal options as well as to arrange better and more professional shows for our evenings to be more enjoyable and artistic.

Hopefully, you might find more improvements on your next stay.

Thus, we remain, while waiting for the pleasure of your next visit to our Hotel,

Very truly yours,

Juan Candeal
Manager
Hesperia Isla Margarita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I went with the family for five days ,,it was very good that doesn't make you wanna leave the hotel.
very good choice to relax after long stress time of work. The rooms were very good,clean and big. The service was good and nice .There is a pool and a private beach if you are a bad swimmer like me, every night there were making a new event and parties, very good restaurant with rich colorful menu and delicious food, surprisingly from different countries, so maybe you'll find your favorite dish !
For sure I recommend this hotel if you are searching for fun,relaxing,nice time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H0mamD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionHIM, Gerente at Hesperia Isla Margarita, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guests:

Thank you so much for having stayed at our Hotel and for having trusted in our services. We are happy to know that you and your family did enjoy your holidays and that you plan to come back in the future.

It is very grateful when we see that we have created another happy costumer, that is our main objetive and primary goal.

There are more chances to enjoy in our premises, such as SPA, tennis and Golf facilities. Hopefully in your next stay you can also let us know which is your opinion on those assets.

I remain at your entire disposal for any future booking reference at our Hotel and, meanwhile, I send you our most respectful regards.

Sincerely,

Juan Candeal
Manager
Hotel Hesperia Isla Margarita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margarita Island hotels
8.0 mi away
Maloka Hotel Boutique & Spa
5.5 mi away
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
#16 of 91 in Margarita Island
216 reviews
16.2 mi away
California Hotel
California Hotel
#2 of 12 in El Yaque
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Agua Dorada Beach Hotel by LIDOTEL
16.0 mi away
StevieWonderLand
StevieWonderLand
#1 of 12 in El Yaque
314 reviews
11.6 mi away
LIDOTEL Hotel Boutique Margarita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Isla Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Isla Margarita

Property: Hesperia Isla Margarita
Address: Entre playas Puerto Viejo y Puerto Cruz | Entre playas Puerto Viejo y Puerto Cruz, Margarita Island 6309, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Margarita Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Margarita Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Margarita Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hesperia Isla Margarita 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the verdant landscape of a natural park, the Hesperia Isla Margarita looks out over sparkling white sands and peaceful, crystalline waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hesperia Isla Margarita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Isla Margarita Hotel Margarita Island
Hesperia Isla Margarita Island
Hesperia Isla Hotel Margarita Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing