We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big waves” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Playa El Agua

La Playa El Agua
Book In Advance
More Info
$120.00*
and up
Margarita Island Full-Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A gorgeous tropical beach where, as locals boast, the sun shines for eleven months of the year.
Poznań, Polska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Big waves”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Very nice to sunbathe and stroll but definitely not for swimming- too big waves, too strong currents. You will be happy if you are a surfer… On the beach you will find a lot of people trying to sell you something, I recommend not to buy- you can find all the same stuff on the market but half priced.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank piciex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    373
    232
    34
    28
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

crowded in the middle, but walk to either end for a beautiful time. lots of body surfing. lots of little bars - try the caiparinho's!!!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank MontrealCanajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“long beach- lined with chairs and restaurants with strong waves-”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

The beach is nice and long to go for walks. The beach is lined with chairs to rent and restaurant to serve you food and drinks. There are tons of sellers walking up and down trying to get you to buy anything from oysters to sunglasses. Try the oysters- they were very good and I had them many days in a row without a problem. There are many beach dogs hanging out- some in not the best shape. The street that lines the beach has some lazy (drugged) people trying to get you to spend money in this store or that shop but you can just walk past them. They do hit on the women, which is annoying. The beach is relatively clean. Very windy, which is nice because it keeps the heat and bugs down.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szklarska Poreba, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Nice, big beach with many bars and restaurant. There are many Colombian women making masages - grat thing!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Isla Margarita (Playa El Agua), Angel Falls and Los Roques”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

My housband and I traveled to Isla Margarita in the end of January, and stayed at Playa el Agua. The beach is beautiful, but rest of it is quite run down and not much to do. Maybe it was low season, but it was realy quite there and nothing going on. Was as well suprised of condition of the country, did't thought it was so bad!

We went for jeep safari in Isla Margarita. There is a lot lot of driving but realy little to see. La Restinga National Park was ok, but nothing special, have been to way more beautiful national parks than that! Don't bother doing this.

We also booked 3d/2n Angel Falls Expedition with Magic Tours who unsured us several times that there have been a lot of rain in that period in Canaima and that there is a lot of water in the waterfall, and got through the whole interary. We belived them, got excited and couldn't wait to see the waterfall/s, sleep in the jungle, see nativpeople, trekking,etc. When we arrived in Canaima alone (after 2flights), we had to wait for someone to pick us up, and when the guide finaly arrived (after some waiting) and we told him that we booked AF Expedition, he said that it's impossible because it's dry season and there are no water in waterfall and it's difficult to get there because of lack of water so it's impossible to go by canoe. We got really pissed and tryed to call Ciro from Magic tours to get us back somehow, but he just said that he couldn't do anything and we had to stay there for 3days! The guy that were supposed to be our guide tried to organize something, and we saw waterfalls just nearby that we were suposed to see on our day 1 anyway, and that's about it (have to day that waterfalls were beautyfull and we went also behind them). Nobody couldn't tell us what the plan is for next days. Second day we had to wait until 1-2pm, and when they finaly came they told us that we are going for a canoe ride.. Nice nature, but not expedition. Accomodation we got was awfull! One day we did't even have any water in the shower, the toalet did't flush, the food was basicly spagetti and eggs every day. Nature is realy beautiful there, but we definitely did't get value for 1000$ we payed. If we knew all this we wouldn't ever ever go on this 3 day tour! But there we were somewhere in the jungle and we were forced to stay. We complayed when we came back, Ciro (Magic Tours) said that he understod we were angry but he coudn't do anything and after some back and forward he offered us 30%refund. That's better than nothing, but this was realy a scam!!!

On the end of our trip we went to Los roques for 3days, realy expensive, but realy beautifull! If you can afford it, do it! We booked plain tickets and accomodation trough posada.

I tried to get as much info as possible before we went to Venecuela, but found it to be more difficult that other places I traveled to. We had a nice time beeing on holiday and relaxing, but wouldn't go back, not before country is on it's both feet and people don't try do scam you..
Now we are looking forward to a holiday in Asia in Des/Jan :)

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank MMS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Playa El Agua also viewed

Margarita Island, Coastal Islands
Margarita Island, Coastal Islands
 
Margarita Island, Coastal Islands
 

Been to La Playa El Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing