We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable but sobering”

Pea Ridge National Military Park
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Garfield
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but sobering”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Pea Ridge National Military Park is the site of a civil war battle that took place March 7 and 8, 1862. It was one of the largest battles (16,000 Confederate troops; 10,500 Union) fought west of the Mississippi River and was associated with Federal efforts to keep Missouri in the Union. There has been little development in the area since and it is said to be most intact civil war battle site in the nation.

There is a small but well-done visitor center and a seven-mile tour road with several well-marked tour stops.The visitor center contains a theater, bookstore, and a small museum. A very useful 30 minute film providing a historical overview is shown on a regular basis throughout the day. Highly recommended. Also recommend that some time be spent viewing the museum and the informative relief map and dioramas.

The tour road is self-guided and visitors can take as much time as they wish to examine the topography and battle-sites. There are a number of cannons on display.

This a beautiful area, and I found it illuminating and sobering to view the sights; to consider the events; and to contemplate the carnage and the courage. Definitely worth visiting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Henderson49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    72
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
402 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Pea Ridge National Military Park - #1 Civil War Park”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have read many websites that list Pea Ridge as a top Civil War Park. The park lived up to that billing. We spent 2 hours exploring the visitor center, watching the movie, and driving the battlefield. I do not recommend the driving tour CD, it was off by a stop and we were more confused than helped. The best way to experience the park is to view the map boards in the visitor center, watch the movie and then drive the park with the brochure. If you get lost during the drive, make sure to stop at the east overlook, it will help you regain your bearings. If nothing else, visit here!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ahmonroe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pea Ridge National Military Park”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were 4 senior ladies on a trip to Bentonville and decided to visit the Pea Ridge National Park since it was not far from where we were staying. We were able to see the park for free as one of us in the group had a senior pass. We first watched the film explaining the battle and the battle lines and what occurred - very nicely done. We then took the driving tour and used the map at each location for our photos. The park rangers were very helpful in assisting us with our tour. It was the middle of Oct and we did see some beautiful fall color. We stopped at the inn and there was a male re-en-actor who shared interesting stories and information with us. He was dressed in Rebel clothes and was very personable. With so much American history and parks being in jeopardy we were pleased that so far this lovely park is still in existence.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frieda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson MS
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fall's beauty on display...leaves, deer , and wild turkey.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited the Pea Ridge National Park early in the morning of Oct 16, 2012. We arrived shortly after sunrise around 7:30am and began the drive around the park. The fall foliage was beautiful with the morning sun creating a brilliant glow. Many deer were eating breakfast in the meadow and were very tolerant of an eager photographer. Since we arrived before the Ranger station opened when we went to pay later we were informed the visit was free. Don't miss this jewel and get up early.

Helpful?
Thank RoseyJacksonMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas, USA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful fall drive”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We took the drive which was nice - lots of deer and great scenery. Stopped at the visitor's center for map and details of the drive. They offered a short film, but we did not watch it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cam330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pea Ridge National Military Park also viewed

 

Been to Pea Ridge National Military Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing