We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to park in between activities”
Review of Posada Casa Sol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Casa Sol
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed a week in Merida and the whole time in Casa Sol, except for a 2-day hike on the mountains. Enjoyed it very much - Casa Sol has attentive personnel and everything is very neat. We liked the interior and the common areas very much; it took me 3 days to notice the turtles in the small piscina, though. :) Rooms were simple, neat and quickly cleaned every day. Breakfast was simple and ok, but you had more choices if you wanted to pay some more. We changed our reservation according to our hiking & activities plans and everything worked out very flexibly. Definitely a perfect place to stay in Merida!

Only thing why I am writing this feedback four o'clock in the morning is that the diarrhea I got in Merida got the best of me again. I was already beating it and now the prime suspect is the water they serve to your room at Casa Sol. The timing is just perfect for it, but obviously I cannot know. We both got it, and I renewed while continuing to drink the water again. Like said, might be completely wrong, but when you get there, ask the personnel and make sure it is bottled water, which they serve.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HugoJaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 298 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here in February 13. Very nice little inn. Rooms are fairly basic but very adequate and to be fair the hotel is not marketed as a 4 or 5 star property. The hotel owner is on site most of the time and she is very helpful and charming.
Try to make sure you get a room in the main building rather than the annexe at the back of the property. If you do get a room in the annexe keep you voice down as the walls are very thin and it's probably better not to enter here what we heard from next door.
Merida city itself is not really the reason a tourist would want to visit the area but the surrounding countryside is beautiful and great for walking

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

It is in a street within walking distance of a couple of nice restaurants - it is based round a pretty courtyard and has a small garden. Our room was a lovely room with a balcony but l am afraid that we found the double bed too small (most of them are small doubles in Venzuala) and then moved to a tiny bedroom with twin beds with the window overlooking the street which was a bit noisy (not helped by the fireworks that are let off all night long in January). The breakfasts were different but good and l would suggest having the eggs scrambled or an omelet. Not much English spoken except by the owner but it was a pleasant place to stay in a safe area.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank fido0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We spent 2 nights and returned for a third night, a week later. It is a relaxing place to stay after a day out and about in Merida. It is in the top of the City within walking distance of downtown. We felt safe in the evening walking to restaurants. The staff is more than helpful and the rooms are clean and bright with small balconies to sit and relax overlooking a small garden with many birds and flora. The beds are firm and comfortable, the lobby offers internet, some jewelry and art work and seating area to just relax. I would return in a N.Y. Minute.

Room Tip: The suite is not really a suite, just a large room with seating area, for 2 persons. East facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ezrider926_178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is every bit as good as most of the previous reviews claim. It is truly a little gem: clean, peaceful and tastefully decorated. It is a little haven of peace in a hectic country and it was always a pleasure to return to the place after being out and about for the day. Good Wi-Fi, cable TV and a pretty little interior courtyard with a fountain, perfect for sitting and reading in peace. The staffs are extremely helpful and friendly; I stayed for a few days and most got to know me by name. The breakfast is always fresh, with homemade arepas, local cheeses, eggs, coffee and fresh fruit juice. The lady who runs the kitchen also makes delicious omelettes if you ask. I have been to many B&Bs over the years and this is one of the best I have been to anywhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pascallu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at Casa Sol as an overnight on the way to do some hiking in the Sierra dela Culatas. The overall experience was excellent. The Posada had everything you needed for a good over night and the art, garden and bright colours added to the pleasure of the stay and distinguishes above other posadas in the area. We had a very tasty and filling breakfast out in the garden. The staff were very helpful and friendly, particularly those who also do guide trips. The Posada was well situated. Was a real pleasure to stay at Casa Sol.

Room Tip: There are two levels of rooms to choose from. If people staying on the second floor aren't mindf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnowbootsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here in March for a few days. Pretty building and interesting artwork but way too over-priced and the area was noisy at nights. There were a couple of other places up the hill that offered a better deal (without the artwork but I can always go to a free gallery!!!!)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merida
0.0 mi away
Mon Cricket Hotel
Mon Cricket Hotel
#4 of 4 in San Cristobal
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luna Azul
Luna Azul
#21 of 30 in Merida
20 reviews
4607.6 mi away
El Serrano
El Serrano
#24 of 56 in Merida
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Casa Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Casa Sol

Address: Avenida 4 Entre Calles 15-16, Merida 5101, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Andean Region > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: $59 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Casa Sol situated on the historic "Calle del Sol", in the central district of Merida. Our Posada is a beautiful colonial style home with patios and corridors that have been constructed using local architectural design and contemporary elements that offer the comfort and well-being that our guests deserve. All of our spaces offer the tranquility of a mountain lodge in the heart of the city, just a few blocks from the Plaza Bolivar. For the duration of you stay, you can count on our personal care and attention. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada Casa Sol Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing