We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gamaliel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Three Oaks Resort On Lake Norfork
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamaliel
Kansas City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

This was our first trip to this area of Arkansas and we had a nice time. Mike and Joyce were very helpful and worked non stop to accomodate the guests and keep things in working order. We were the ones who had the speed boat mentioned in the previous review. The boat was fine the entire time we were out and the motor issue was discovered by Mike after we returned it. I'm sure if something happened while we were out, Mike would have some to our rescue. He gave us the resort phone number in case something came up while we were out (like getting lost on the lake which almost happened). We were in Cabin 2 which have a great porch to watch the sunsets. The 2 bedroom cabin had been taken so we rented the 1 bedroom which was a bit cramped for the 4 of us but we knew that when we reserved. They did provide a comfortable rollaway in addition to the sleeper sofa so it was O.K. for us. Everything in our cabin worked just fine. The temp's were over 100 degrees almost everyday so having ice cold ac, a cool water pool and a boat dock to jump off of into the lake was great!

If you are in this area don't miss Blanchard Springs Cavern. If been to a few caves and this one was the best by far. It's a llittle over an hour to get there and they take reservations.

Thanks to Mike and Joyce for a great vacation!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missingkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed in cabin 4, we had friends in 3 other cabins (which all froze the out). Ours would be 80 degrees (at the ac unit) and the bedrooms were probably 90... They did the minimum, they would tell us to put the unit on low while we weren't there, that was even worse... for a $150 unit, they made us sweat... It was miserable. We had a cold front come thhrough, the coldest the unit would get to was 70 degrees over night... The other cabins would get there in 1 hour in the heat of the day... Our friend rented a "22' pontoon boat" the canopy top was smashed from previous renters, they did nothing to repair it acted like they had know idea that it had happened, I felt bad for the person who rented the ski boat, looked like a POS and the motor blew up the first full day.. It was 100 almost every day so the Bimini top and AC were a priority... There were dead bugs in the corners of the bedroom and behind the kitchen table, The "1,3,5" buttons did not work on the microwave (makes it hard to warm anything up)... They said every cabin has a small slow cooker crock pot... Nothing... I cooked everything outside in fear that the cabin would heat to 90 degrees... There was an "out of order sign" on the wash machine the last night... When asked what was wrong, no real answer... Turned the cold water on (the valve was off) , worked great... STRANGE... Good view of the lake, bring your own cleats to mount into the dock to tie your boat, not much on most slips... Canceled a couple of the "group nights" because the chocalate would melt, etc... Seems like it has been warm before and you just buy a different kind of candy... Seems petty, but not much was good with my experience at 3 oaks, lake was fantastic, but nothing could make up for the lack of effort to fix my AC unit... The owners ran around a lot like they had something important... Just didn't take care of my issue, and I didn't complain about anything except for the air (on the 3rd or 4th day)... Would NOT recommend

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank midwestfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godfrey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

We have been vacationing at Three Oaks for the past 3 years. Our kids have now made it an annual tradition also. We have found this to be the perfect resort for a wonderful view of the lake as well as great access to the lake by the trolley. Our cabin has always been emmaculate and well furnished. Grounds are kept up well. Joyce and Mike go out of their way to assist their guests needs. We really enjoy Joyce and Mike and the resort provides a great time. There are different activities to participate in and the activities seem to be loved by the kids. The pool is wonderful and miniature golf another plus. Great family resort. Mike and Joyce monitor grounds well and look out for their guests. Docks for boats are well maintained. Store is well furnished and handy for things needed in a pinch. We cannot wait to go back. This resort is great for a family with kids or retired couples. Nice and quiet- beautiful sunsets. We highly recommend this resort.
I miss the porch to cabin 3 already!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakegodfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ball
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

Beware when renting, all cabins are NOT on the lake and many don't even have a lake view. When making the reservation I was told that all the cabins were reserved, but they had a nice trailer. When we arrived, our trailer was no where close to the lake, not even on the resort. It was in the middle of the woods. When I expressed our disappointment, I was told that they didn't have anything else and that if I didn't want to stay there we were going to charge me anyway. They did however have a cabin closer that was open for 3 of the 7 nights we had reserved. We were moved closer to the resort after two nights in the horrible trailer full of bugs and unkept grounds. The cabin that we were moved to, was 100% better, but only had enough hot water for 1 shower, so everyone else had to take a cold shower. Joyce was very friendly, but her husband told us that they were going to rent the trailer to someone else if we deceided to move to the closer cabin. We told them it was ok, because we were leaving early anyway. I would not have spent another night in that trailer. We were charged for 7 nights, but only stayed 5. The dock was very nice and we caught some fish and swam. I didn't consider it a relaxing vacation at all. You had to drive to do anything other than go to the lake. It would have been ok, if you were there to go hunting/fishing or staying in your boat on the lake all day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Momof4sometimes6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norforkfisher, Owner at Three Oaks Resort On Lake Norfork, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
This guest made a last minute reservation , knowing as she stated, that the mobile home was the only place available for the full week. She was informed that it had no lake view (also stated on website) and that it was 3 lots down from the main resort area. When they arrived, her husband insisted they be placed in one of the lake view cabins. They became agitated when I informed them again, that the water front cabins were already booked for the week. She told me that she lives in a big house and has never stayed in a mobile home before. Trying to accommodate their needs, I let the woman know that I had a studio cabin with lake view open for 3 days in 48 hours-which she agreed on changing to since “they were not planning on staying the whole week anyway”. As we state on our web site-you are responsible for the days you reserve. She never said anything about bugs while she was here, and upon inspection there were none to be found. The cottage is beside a wood line not in the woods; and the unkempt grounds are butterfly bushes that are no longer blooming. Arkansas is the Natural State, and we try to promote nature here. Thousands of people each year visit our resort specifically for the Natural beauty of the Ozarks .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

The place was just alright to us. We found small dead spiders everywhere but said nothing because I thought maybe they had just sprayed or something. Our kids sure weren't happy about that, but other than that, nothing really stood out about the place as we were mainly there for boating, and that we did. We were gone from morning to evening on the lake with our family and 2 dogs. We grilled of the evening and pretty much hit the sack. When we got our bill we were charged an extra $50.00. I called to ask why and I was informed our dogs urinated all over the place. I was told once in the living room and 2 puddles in the bedroom. I know for a fact this is a down right lie! Our dogs are used to going everywhere with us and are trained to do so. We checked that house everyday (as we do anywhere we go) and found nothing. I know we would have seen 2 puddles on a dark hardwood floor! Now I feel like we were used because we had small dogs in the house as a way and means to get their carpets cleaned (which was needed before WE got there). The only place in the whole house that was carpeted was the small living room, and we were charged an extra 50 bucks to have it cleaned. They got close to $400.00.00 out of us before we left and that place was not worth it. So beware people of paying there with a credit card. Even people in the Bible Belt have greed. We sure won't be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OutandAboutRolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norforkfisher, Owner at Three Oaks Resort On Lake Norfork, responded to this review, July 19, 2010
We try to limit and screen pets coming into the resort. We only have 2 cabins that we allow pets to stay in, and rarely do we let someone bring multiple pets. Everyone is told that the pet is to be kept on a leash, kept out of the common areas, and is to be crated while unattended. Outandaboutrolla may have done this-but sometime just before they left (maybe while trailering their boat) the dogs went in the hallway-twice, and once in the living room (not in the bedroom as they stated). Luckily, I did not have someone coming in directly after them, so I was able the clean the carpet and have it dry. I am sorry they feel they should take no responsibility for their pets actions. As I tell everyone who calls wanting to bring a pet-your dog may be very well behaved and potty trained at home, but when they are in a new environment they become stressed-and you have to watch them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

We went for a week the end of April, primarily to fish. The cabins are nice, relatively clean, although we could feel grease on some of the kitchen utensils when we needed them, so washed everything prior to using it. The grounds could use some sprucing up. Lots of tall weeds, does not look like anyone uses a weed wacker after mowing. While there, the trolley to the dock became inoperable, and it's quite a hike both up and down the rocky cliff to reach the dock. The boat we were given as a rental was old and in sad shape, maybe at one point being nice looking, but now pretty rough. The owners were friendly. A quiet place with not many yet renting cabins. Overall, a good value.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGranny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying 4 nights at the Three Oaks Resort. We wished we had more time. The cabin was exceptionally clean and well appointed. Mike and Joyce are awesome hosts and take a lot of pride in making sure your visit is the best it can be. Our seven year old daughter loved the place. We were a bit concerned that she might be bored but the playground, rec. center and putt putt course kept her very entertained. If it had been summer, she would have also enjoyed the pool. We also took a day on the lake using one of the resorts pontoons. Like the cabins it too was in excellent shape and would easily accommodate a much larger group than ours.

We stayed in Cabin 1 which is a two bedroom. It has a huge screened in porch that faces the Lake. It is right next to the Trolley that takes you down to the boat docks. Another fun activity for our daughter.

In addition to touring the Lake we visited Blanchard Caverns and went Horseback riding on the White River. The area is beautiful and there is lots of outdoor activities to keep everyone happy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheresaLC776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamaliel
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
#1 of 16 in Mountain Home
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
8.3 mi away
The River Rock Hotel
The River Rock Hotel
#3 of 16 in Mountain Home
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 16 in Mountain Home
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ramada Mountain Home
Ramada Mountain Home
#6 of 16 in Mountain Home
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Mountain Home
Days Inn Mountain Home
#4 of 16 in Mountain Home
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
16.0 mi away
Twin Lakes Inn and Resort
Twin Lakes Inn and Resort
#4 of 5 in Lakeview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Oaks Resort On Lake Norfork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Oaks Resort On Lake Norfork

Property: Three Oaks Resort On Lake Norfork
Address: 117 Three Oaks Ln, Gamaliel, AR 72537-9793
Location: United States > Arkansas > Gamaliel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamaliel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Oaks Resort is located on the shores of Lake Norfork here in the beautiful Ozark Mountains. All of our cabins come completely furnished, you need only bring a beach towel for the pool. We have the only cable trolley on the lake, which carries the guests to the water. Our new recreation hall and miniature golf course are guest favorites. The 12 stall dock sits in deep water and all guests recieve a free stall for their boat. Our dock remains as one of the best year around fishing spots on the entire lake! Panoramic lake views and sunsets keep guests coming back year after year. Come see for yourself what you have been missing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Oaks Resort On Lake Norfork Arkansas/Gamaliel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing