We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Isla Navidad Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Alondra(Barra de Navidad)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trivento Hotel(Barra de Navidad)
$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Barra de Navidad(Barra de Navidad)(Great Value!)
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Sarabi(Barra de Navidad)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cabo Blanco Hotel(Barra de Navidad)(Great Value!)
$66
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Villas Coco Mango(Barra de Navidad)(Great Value!)
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Delfin(Barra de Navidad)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveler rating
299
164
65
33
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
164
65
33
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater taxigrand baygolf coursepool bartrue starincluded in our packagelarge hotelfish tacosgolf packagemanzanillo airportthe entire hotella plazuelarest and relaxationmain poolall inclusive guestspesos per persontennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 585 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Grand Bay Hotel Isla de Navidad was our home for one week at the end of February, and we absolutely loved it ! Fabulous, attentive staff, breathtaking setting, large variety of tasty dining, great evening entertainment. Every day began with an incredible yoga class on the beach led by Jan, followed by afternoon kayak adventures. We were looking for an authentic Mexican experience and appreciated this uncommercialized area. We frequently took the little motor boat taxi (or paddled on our own) to Bara, also visited the charming villages and beaches of La Manzanilla and Melaque. The hotel looks like a Spanish styled mansion with luxury marina and golf course. Cleanliness was exceptional. Thank you Grand Bay for a wonderful holiday, we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akromaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Grand Isla Navidad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and living the Wyndham Grand, Isla Navidad Resort Experience and the authentic Mexican lifestyle.
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, activities and the surroundings of this beautiful bay.
We are looking forward to welcome you again this unique Mexican Destination.

Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We travelled to Grand Bay on Feb 20, 2013 with another couple and were pleasantly surprised from the onset at this resort. Having been to many 3.5to 5 star AI's this was the best hands down.The hotel is laden with marble throughout including the spacious rooms. Even though it is a 10floor layout with 199 rooms it has a very comfortable feel about it. All rooms face the lagoon, there isn't a room that doesn't have a water view. The grounds are well kept with lots of walking available.

We have ate a many AI's and the food here was by far the best we have ever experienced. There were two higher end reservation restaurants with options from duck to rack of lamb. The buffets were equally as good, with many choices to choose from.

All the staff, were more than helpful and had answers to any questions we may have had. If you don't know Spanish, you don't have to worry, all the staff had good English skills.

Pools were like nothing we have ever seen before. Small private pool on the main floor, large roof top pool on the 10th with jacuzzi. On the main level there are three pools joined together with small water slides. Pool side drink service saves walking to the swim up pool bar.

This resort is very quiet. There are tennis courts and a volley ball court both in the beach and in the pool, but other then that not a lot of activities. You can book a fishing charter, snorkelling or jet-skis. There is a boat shuttle every few minutes to the town of Barra de Navidad. There you can walk to the markets (on Thursdays) or the stores, all safe. For spending money you should take Mexican pesos, less expensive than US or CDN currency.

As for the weather, it is perfect as usual being the Pacific Coast. We would recommend this resort in a heart beat. Next time we plan on going for two weeks and take in the beautiful 27 hole golf course.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Grand Isla Navidad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review! It is nice to hear that your experience with us was rewarding . We feel honored to hear that you appreciate our efforts! This is what we live for and it motivates the whole team to keep doing what they are doing.
We hope that we will have the pleasure to host you soon again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Breath taking is where I will begin, we are a couple in our 30's and we have found our slice of heaven here! Yes it's true we are probably the youngest couple on the entire resort but we did not come to make friends, the resort is huge! Pools are beautiful clean large a lil cool but refreshing we pretty much had it all to our selfs all week, the food here is Amazing!!!! Wow never have we had food like this in an all inclusive beautiful 5star presentation taste and quality!! The staff will bend over backwards for you any request you may have ask for ex, I had asked for Mojitos they had no fresh mint here, one of the bartenders picked from his garden for me and brought it in the very next day... Treat them with respect and you shall receive. The whole property here is stunning and very clean there are two "secret" pools here, find them you won't be disappointed! This was our view into how the rich and famous live from the million dollar yachts in the marina to the top notch service! Rooms are clean and beautiful we stayed on the 8th floor with an amazing view, take the water taxi to Barra ! So cool there, if you are adventurous hop the bus and continue on to a town called Malakha bigger there very cool, everything here is super safe no worries as to venturing out and about also the staff here would never take from you, this is there lively hood the earn 5$ a day so do tip it makes a huge difference in their world, hope this helps in your decision to stay here .....do it don't hessitate !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Grand Isla Navidad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

On behalf of all the Team at our beautiful 1,200 acre resort, thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit to the Wyndham Grand, Isla Navidad Resort, especially the ones about our staff, which are the key element of our success.
We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful vacation, which motivates us to continue providing personalized and friendly service in such beautiful property.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Wyndham Grand Bay Isla Navidad Resort.
Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

From the moment you walk into the lobby you are pampered. All the employees are most helpful and polite
The rooms are beautiful and the views spectacular. The food is excellent. Just to let you know about another review Feb.14th. Isle Barra is not a private Island there are many homes and co does and also many restaurants in the little town of Colomia. There is also a worl class 27 hole golf course which is public.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Barrylang_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our first all inclusive at all, and the first as a family with a toddler. After reading many many reviews we decided to give this hotel a try. I have to admit that at first I was disappointed and even a little shocked. I expected more of a 5 star hotel. But after a week of staying there I feel it was a very good hotel for our purpose and we all came back relaxed and happy.
The location:
Like other resorts it is far off the road and hard to get out by car or foot. BUT - there are water taxis and in 2 minutes one can reconnect with the normal world of a little Mexican village which lives partly from tourism and fishing. It is great to wander around and see some other faces or get some other food options.
The grounds:
The property is a paradise for people loving golf. The closer garden around the hotel is a paradise for people loving plants and birds. Super nice maintained and taken care off. Constantly cleaned and replanted. Birds are nesting in the big trees, lizards are wandering and geckos are climbing - just the right environment for a curious little adventurer. The gardeners were super friendly and we always had a great laugh when our kid tried to help them doing there work.
The hotel:
Nice architecture! I am very happy I did not spend the time in a modern North American style hotel! If you wander around you will find little ponds, gardens, pathways and lookouts. Nice few on the marina, the pool area, the garden from different levels and angles. The hotel sits right on the water, so humidity is taking its toll. You will find cracks and aches in the structure but you also find teams constantly maintaining the structure. Small teams, they are never loud or disturbing, very polite people. It just has to be done. And yes, I saw a cockroach in a hallway, birds nesting in open pathways, geckos climbing up the wall - BUT IT IS A JUNGLE CLIMATE - so this it what we were here for - heat and humidity - and all the little creatures come with this type of climate.
The Room:
We had a deluxe room, 2nd floor, looking right on the pool. A little balcony and an extra window which we could open facing away from the pool. First I was shocked about the smell of the room. But the air condition neutralized the smell in a very short time. We opened the window and balcony doors only in the evening hours and in the morning when it was still coolish out there. Otherwise the air condition kept the room nice and relaxing for our child's afternoon nap.
The noise from the pool was not a problem at all. The hotel offered ear plugs which we never used. It is not a party hotel and after 8.00PM the pool is quiet. Even in the afternoon we only heard some nice holiday background noises. The music was never unpleasant or to loud.
We had 2 double beds, with great mattresses (nice and firm - great sleep!) in a spacious room which was important to us with a kid.
A nice bathroom and a extra little room for the toilette.
The Room service:
Just awesome! Thanks Carmen for always keeping our room clean and making me feel comfortable. The towels were changed up to 3 times a day - depending on our visits at the little beach and the sand carried in by us.
The beach and pool:
Just exactly what we wanted for our kid. No waves because it is a lagoon, flat to start with with shells, crabs, fish and lots of sand to make castles. Usually we had the beach to ourselves. There were chairs, hammocks and benches at the beach which were hardly ever used.
The pool has several levels. The kids level is far away from the pool bar. It is flat enough that an average height 2 year old can stand in there. The drinking folks are far enough away as well as the more active and older kids who can play water ball in the lower level. The level are connected through slides and it is super fun for older kids and adults to use them. The water temperature was always nice and there was a warm up jacuzzi for blue lips. The palm trees around the pools gave shade on sunny days but let enough sun through if you wanted sun bathing. Beach benches were spread all over the place and one had never the feeling to compete with other guests for a spot. Beach towels were always available and clean. The pool was very clean in the morning and I saw every day how they proofed the water quality. The service was great and the stuff had to walk far ways to check on every one.
The food:
First I was disappointed with the buffet. But I quickly realized that there was ALWAYS something which I liked and which tasted great. I mostly stuck to the Mexican food - after all this is what the cooks know best. I also liked the fresh prepared seafood. We never tried one of the a la card restaurants. With the kid it was just super easy to eat of the buffet. I was a little unhappy with the fact that the prepared fruit is not covered - fruit flies are quick to settle down.
The service was great, the stuff super friendly yet relaxed and all in all the atmosphere just as it has to be when you are on holidays.
Activities:
I saw a regular yoga group twice a day on the beach, there was a ping pong table which was used, and they had a kids activity center which was open and offered a lot of games and activities if wanted. People used the tennis court on a regular base and everybody seemed happy.
All in all - a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlecCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Grand Isla Navidad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

It was wonderful to read about your comments in regards to your stay at the Wyndham Grand, Isla Navidad Resort, thank you very much for such attention to detailed description, it was truly very rewarding and at the same time a great opportunity to show the team how our Guests live the Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad Resort.
“Seeking opportunities to create memories” is our motto and this is what our entire team stands for and it is very rewarding to hear that it has been noticed and appreciated by our guests.
It will be a pleasure to share your comments with all the Associates to let them know they contributed to create those unforgettable memories for you.
I would like to let you know, on behalf of all our Team, “we Look Forward to receiving you in the Near Future”
Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews