We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lawaki magic”
Review of Lawaki Beach House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beqa Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lawaki Beach House
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Beqa Island
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We've just returned from Fiji and found our experience to be one of the best ever. Christine, Sam and their staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and we truly felt like locals given the hospitality we received. It's hard to put such an experience into words.

Lawaki Beach House is not a place to go and party and carry on like you're 21 again. It's a place to absorb everything that is good about Fiji, great fresh food, beautiful walks, a cheeky swim, fishing or somewhere to relax and enjoy the company.

The food was unreal and the idyllic nature of the resort made it very calming. We're not sure how people come to complain about Lawaki as it's great value and you're getting a true Fijian experience. Something you'd be hard pressed to find in a typical resort. Christine was accommodating to our budget and went out of her way to keep us happy. Sam shared his 'war stories' with us and by the end of our trip we felt as though we had known them for years. Having grown up in the area it was great to hear his local knowledge about Beqa Island.

It was our first holiday away with our 4-month old and like most Fijians they loved our daughter like she was their own. My advice would be to get yourself to Lawaki Beach House ASAP and throw yourself into the local environment, engage the locals, scrape coconut out of the shell for the Lovo and marvel as ancient rituals are observed.

Accommodation was basic but we were happy with that and was in-line with the pricing we paid. Food was fantastic and we got to eat what we caught and the Lovo was out of this world.

We met a fellow traveller who was on his second trip to Lawaki so that should tell you something. We'll be back for sure, hopefully sooner rather than later!

Thanks again Christine and Sam!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camarator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawakiBeachHouseFiji, Owner at Lawaki Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Bula Camarator and Family!
thank you for the review! Others may think we are paying you to write all those nice things about Lawaki!
It was such a pleasure to meet you and we love to remember the time that we spent together.
Hope to see you again soon!

We wish you all the best.
Loloma from Christine, Sam and the team (and the few almost caught fish that are still enjoing their life!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 62 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

When I travel to an island paradise like Fiji I want to connect with my surroundings, not with the resort. Lawaki Beach House was among the best I've found in this category. Quiet, simple, good food, perfectly clean and comfortable accommodations surrounded by nature. The fringing reef right in front of the property is a broad meadow of coral and fish that's recovering beautifully since being made a protected area. At high tide the water depth ranges from 3-10`. I spent half my time there and the other half on dive trips through nearby Beqa Lagoon Resorts, about a 10 minute boat ride away. I can't say enough good things about Christine and Sam and the experience they offer to visitors. I learned about local politics, environmental issues, and experience a lovo (Fijian version of a luau, a feast cooked in-ground).

Room Tip: There are two bungalows (bure) with twin beds and a dorm. No AC but louvred windows provided plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidBethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawakiBeachHouseFiji, Owner at Lawaki Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Bula DavidBethesda,
thank you for the review.
We hope that the chef in the family can use the lesson that you brought home on fotos!
Thank you again for all the snorkeling fotos!

Best wishes and regards,
Christine & Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We decided to go to Lawaki beach house when we visited Beqa.
When we arrived by boat (40$ each) we found the scenery and the main house with the veranda very lovely. By entering the dormitory, we realized, that the price per person and per night (140$) was way too high! Other dormitories along the coral coast offer beds for 40$ per night and are much nicer than the place at Lawaki. Anyway, as we were the only guests that weekend, at least we didn't have to share...The place was clean but wasn't cleaned after the first night, so we had to deal with dead cockroaches and the full waste bin the whole stay, which wasn't nice.
Around noon we had lunch and after the long arrival, we all were pretty hungry. Unfortunately, the salad was not really a substantial meal and the dishes were pretty small, too.
Apart from that, we really loved the view and the swing right next to the beach.
Also the staff was pretty nice and did their best to make it comfortable. We were also able to switch lunch and dinner, which was nice for all of us. Breakfast included a few slice of toasted bread, butter, jam and some fruits.
The housereef was a bit disappointing, as the corals didn't seem to be alive. However, we liked it to make a contribution to the MPA, which was 12$ for all of us.
Another surprise has been the cold shower. I expect hot water to be included in a price of 140$ per night...
Moreover, after sunset, which has been very beautiful, it was quite challenging to find the way back to the dormitory, as there is no light to guide the way. We stepped on toads several times because we couldn't see them which is not very 'eco-like'!
They also except no credit cards so that you have to carry a lot of cash along.
There was also a lack of communication and information in terms of taking the ferry back to Navua.
All in all it had been a nice weekend, but for us, however, too expensive with too less service so that we probably won't come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawakiBeachHouseFiji, Owner at Lawaki Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Bula ChantalD,
thank you for the review. We are sad to hear that we could not meet your expectations while you were in Lawaki.
Regarding our rates: may we mention, that there are 3 meals included?
We hope that you found what you were expecting in the next place that you had stopped.
We appologize for any inconvenience or frustration we may have caused.

Best regards,
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This place is absolutely wonderful with very friendly staff, loads of activities to do, amazing food, a perfectly remote location and lovely little details all around the lodge. Go there if you would like to get away from the major resorts and tourist magnets, but are rather looking for silence, nature and traditional food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariSa333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Local Fijian family-owned and run resort - perfect for families, young people, everyone in fact. Sam, Salome and the staff were great. friendly and like staying with your family. The girls do great massages - had more than one. The staff were very friendly. Beach beautiful, awesome snorkelling! Bure was perfect for us with en-suite shower and bathroom, cool and free from mozzies. Food was superb, every attention to detail, lots of tasty homemade breads, soups, cakes!!! Small number of bures so easy friendships made with other guests. Took us out on a fishing trip and dive on a shipwreck - great! Definitely recommend staying at Lawaki Beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lloyd newell n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I went Lawaki beach house with my family. I love perfect sunset and lovely veranda. Room is clean and well organised. Home made bread was very nice.Staff is well mannered.
My kids enjoyed beach walk, sky TV, great hospitality with Fijian staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawakiBeachHouseFiji, Owner at Lawaki Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Bula danielMac,
thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you and your family have enjoyed Lawaki Beach House.
We hope to see you one day again.
Till then: all the best and regards,
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here with a large group and I loved this place. It has the true fijian charm and very freindly staff. It does run on fijian time, like most places in fifji. It is not a 5 star place, but for the price it is excellent value - who can complain with massage of about $8 AUS for 1 hour, double bed with outdoor rain shower and right in the beach. There is a inhouse resturant - reccomend the fijian dishes (such as fiji/inian fusion curries - yum) and a bar where the manager will quite happliy play your favourite tunes direct from your ipod! Breakfast is also yum and can be buffet style. The beacj=h is not "beautiful" but is noce for a walk and there is a pool. Tours to local communities and kava for all. If you want a resort that is the old fiji and a chance to see rural fijian communities I recommend a stay here! They also have dorm style room for a real budget saving traveller!

Room Tip: I went for a cabin with outdoor rain shower - great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawakiBeachHouseFiji, Owner at Lawaki Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Bula Michelle,
are you really writing about Lawaki Beach House on Beqa? We don't have open air showers, no pool and no bar.
Look forward to your reply.
Thank you.
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beqa Island
2 mi away
Beqa Lagoon Resort
Beqa Lagoon Resort
#1 of 4 in Beqa Island
501 reviews
10.6 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
216 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
663 reviews
20.3 mi away
Crusoe's Retreat
Crusoe's Retreat
#20 of 24 in Coral Coast
364 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Davui Island Resort
Royal Davui Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Royal Davui Island
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawaki Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawaki Beach House

Address: P.O. Box 250 | Navua, Beqa Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Beqa Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Beqa Island
Price Range: $52 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lawaki Beach House is a locally owned eco tourism enterprise with a total of 10beds. It opened in 2003. The managers/owners are Sam & Christine, a Fijian-Swiss couple (we speak english, german and fijian). Sustainability and environmentally friendly management, a low impact on local culture and tradition are an ongoing concern for us. All guests are on a full meal plan. We have our own spring water and organic garden. The resort is powered by solar energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lawaki Beach House Hotel Beqa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing