We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leave Your Stress Behind... Welcome to 'Fiji Time'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lalati Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beqa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, California
1 review
“Leave Your Stress Behind... Welcome to 'Fiji Time'”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

If you need a break from reality and are deserving of a relaxing and tranquil Holiday... Lalati Is the place for you. Peaceful, yet plenty to do for the active traveler.. From the moment we stepped off the boat we were greeted at the Jetty by friendly attentive staff, Traditional coconut drinks, fresh flower lais and foot massages. All meals provided! Delicious Food! Arriving Christmas Day we shared a 5 Course Fijian Feast Resort Managers, Staff, Owner and Hotel guests. Each day a delicious selection of fresh fruits and breakfast treats, wonderful lunches and diners. A fantastic secluded destination, ideal for couples, but we met lots of wonderful new friends during our stay and reigned in 2011 with lalaiti festivity

The wonderful spa treatmentss are a must!! .. The village tours and arrary of activities just made a relaxing and indulgent week a wonderful adventure! The Hotel has pretty much everything you need, but be advised Beqa island is a 30-40 boat ride off the mainland, so once you leave, your not going back... No shops or non resort facilities on the island, but in a paradise like lalati, they are not missed at all!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatiowners, Marketing Director at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
VINAKA - isn't it nice to leave the clocks, and schedules, behind, even for a short period of time. There's nothing like "Fiji Time" and we are so happy you enjoyed a bit of de-stress and rejuvenation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    59
    27
    26
    18
See reviews for
24
290
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We spent 5 nights at Lalati. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff was very accommodating. The setting was peaceful and very relaxing. Some of the kayaks(?) were not operational, but we made it work. They had plenty of snorkeling equipment and places to snorkel. The rooms were always clean, and sleeping in them was a dream. You could hear the ocean that was only 30 feet outside our door. I would absolutely recommend this place to other couples who are looking to relax. The one thing I would say to not go see is the fire walking, I thought this was lame. And lastly, the Lalati picked us up from our first hotel and dropped us off at our thrid destination when we were done at their resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icky36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatiowners, Marketing Director at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Thank you - we appreciate your feedback, and happy you enjoyed your time on our "no news, no shoes" island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2011

My husband and I spent two nights and three days at Lalati and found it to be just what we needed. I had arrived back to Fiji that morning from India completely exhausted and off we took to Pacific Harbour where our transfer to Beqa Island was waiting.
The area was so scenic with a dramatic backdrop of a near mountain across the bay. We were greeted with a foot massage from the lovely local staff and met Sarah and Chris who were managing the resort. They were extremey friendly and very eager to ensure our stay was as comfortable as possible.
The villas exceeded our expectations with a HUGE amount of room, comfortable beds and another room with a queen bed. We especially loved the huge balcony and hammock at the front of our villa to lap up the sea breeze.
There are so many activities to do at Lalati - kayak, snorkel, Bat Island visits, fishing, diving and waterfall hike to say the least. We kayaked across the bay where we were greeted with some hidden little waterfalls and amazing rock faces.
The food was sensational and all compliments to the chef there. Each day we had a different menu for lunch and dinner. The meals became something to really look forward to. Each dish had a bit of a twist to it and our tastebuds went into overdrive!
Overall, our experience at Lalati has left us wanting to return again soon. The staff, location, activities and food were amazing! A big thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suvadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatiowners, Marketing Director at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
What a wonderful review. We are so happy that we met your expectations and helped you enjoy your time in Fiji. VINAKA for your lovely compliments!

Chris & Sarah, Brad & Susan and the Lalati crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Help and service was always at my beck and call in this gorgeous setting. Flowers adorned nearly every flat surface. I wanted for nothing. The meals were exquisite, the service was great, and smiles were everywhere. You get to know your fellow guests in the small setting--folks from all over the world. I look forward to staying in touch with the folks I shared meals, activities and fun conversation with. I would definitely recommend Lalati to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CYNBAD1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Bula! We just returned from Lalati a week ago and I want to write my review while the experience is fresh in my mind. Lalati was a wonderful experience overall, secluded and private. However I am going to write as balanced a review as possible. We felt like we were the only 2 ppl on the resort for most of the time, although there were several other couples (mostly older couples) from Australia and Canada who were also vacationing there.

The management, from Olly the Fijian resort manager to the general managers Chris and Sara to the resort owner himself-Brad were all extremely friendly, informative and just genuinely nice people. Everyone who worked at the resort were all friendly and helpful (thank you Raj and Louie!). Whenever my husband and I were walking around everyone would ask us what we had planned for the day-whether it was kayaking, snorkeling, or spa treatments, and if we didn't have anything planned they were more than happy to arrange something for us. The Fijian people truly deserve the description of being the friendliest people on the planet.

The food was excellent for the most part, the curry night and the lolo chicken/coconunt soup were standouts-absolutely delicious. Although the selection was limited to 2 or 3 options for both lunch and dinner, everything was pretty tasty and even the bread was homemade. The fruit smoothies and morning breakfast muffins were pretty much mainstays for us. My husband fell ill for 2 days and the chef even came out of the kitchen and we customized a *sick day* menu for him, vegetable soup and broth and plain rice with yogurt and pineapple salsa (he didn't eat the pineapple salsa) which they delivered to the bure. It really settled his stomach and I tried some of the broth they sent him-very good. They set up a table for us to eat our meals privately when he was sick and even brought over honey tea when he didnt ask. We don't know why he fell ill, but I feel like it might be a combination of sunstroke-January in Fiji is extremely hot, and even moreso I heard this time, and we had been out fishing and kayaking that day. I was also sick for a few days however I do have a sensitive stomach and suffer from symptoms like gastroenteritis whenever I travel.

We stayed in an oceanfront bure which was really like a luxury cottage-2 bedroom with one large bathroom. It was spacious and cleaned daily by the housekeeper. We did have to ask several times for our amenties (such as hand soap and shampoo) to be replaced, and one night we discovered several roaches by the windows. As soon as we reported this to management it was promptly taken care of and they were very apologetic. The houskeeping lady was also extremely nice and friendly, washing and ironing laundry for us, and when my husband got sick she even offered to bring some traditional herbal remedy (some guava leaves) for him to chew on which she claimed would settle his stomach (he didnt use it though).

At Lalati we enjoyed a sunset cruise, we visited a neighboring resort for firewalking, kayaking, a snorkeling safari, foot massages, regular massages, facials, just lazing around by the beach and walking through the rainforest. A warning about this, we were escorted to a private beach by a villager who we thought worked for the resort, as many of the male resort workers do not wear any identifying color coded shirts or anything to distinguish them as resort workers. He escorted us through almost a 45 minute walk over sharp rocks and gravel to a neighboring beach which was not really the type of beach you would expect in a tropical paradise, it had little sand and was mainly rock. After a few hours he picked us up, not before telling us that we had to pay him at least a 100 FJD and he warned us not to tell anyone in the resort about him walking us there. We were both a little scared at this point but since we needed him to show us the way back we went on a hike through the rainforest with him. This was probably one of the scariest experiences of my life. The path through the rainforest was very unsafe, narrow, and the drop on one side was at least 40 feet to sharp rocks. We had on beach sandals which we took off halfway through as we were terrified of the slippery path and falling. He led us back after 30 minutes (this was a short cut) and we did pay him after all. However if we had known that he was not a resort worker we would never have gone with him in the first place. Beware of Peter! Always make sure that any villager who approaches you to take you somewhere is a resort worker.

The resort also seemed to be having an issue with equipment-all their boats were in repair for the majority of the time we were there (1 week) and they had to rent boats and jet skis for us and the other couples, even the resort's iPod that plays music at night was in repair! Because there was no boat available from the main island to the Beqa (pronounced Benga) lagoon we were told that we might have to wait several hours in a hotel room on the main island near the dock until a transfer boat became available. However we lucked out because Brad (who had picked us up from the airport after some miscommunication with a taxi driver who was supposed to pick us up from the resort) arranged for us to go on a transfer boat that was waiting to take another couple to another resort near ours-we just narrowly made it. The snorkeling safari was awesome, it was our first time snorkeling (beginning swimmers and divers) and we greatly enjoyed the experience and it was just beautiful underwater. I would recommend other travelers to not book activities ahead of time, but just to book at the resort because many activities had to be rearranged due to equipment issues. Because we missed one day of our honeymoon due to flight issues in the LAX airport Sara was kind enough to offer us free activities or spa treatments-which we used and were fabulous (definitley get a massage by Olly-amazing!).

There is no tv and only one computer (cost 50 FJD to use per day/stay), but there was a lending library which we used. We were cutoff from what felt like the world for one week but what better way then to spend it in a tropical paradise like Lalati. Wished we could have turned down the heat but that wasn't anything anyone could have helped-and it made the water feel that much better when we were in it. Great experience, friendly staff, customizable activities, and yummy food-you can't really ask for more. Definitely recommend. You can not beat the service anywhere. Could write a page more but will end it here. Would give this 4.5 out of 5 and hope to return one day in the future. Ni sa moce! (goodbye) & Vinaka (thankyou)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missAPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snowmass, colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Lalati Resort is under new ownership and they are great. The bures are huge
and well appointed and staff is super friendly. Food is 4 star out of
5...with some meals surpassing that. We had some rain the first day and sun
after that. We LOVED the diving on coral heads in Beqa Lagoon. Corals, sea
fans and small fish life were better than anywhere we have ever dived, with
exception of Vietnam a long time ago. The resort location is in a small
bay so kayaking, snorkeling and swimming are excellent. No real beach right
at resort, but you can walk to a beautiful one in 10 minutes...or kayak to
one across the bay. Nice swimming poll and deck. New owner is doing a great
job sprucing things up and the Fijian resort manager, Olly, is a warm and
special person. Two Brit managers, Chris and Sara, are also wonderful and
attentive.

We only dove the coral heads because we were there for 3 nights, so do not
know what other scuba opportunities exist. However, there is a well
advertised shark dive with big sharks about 45 minutes away by boat. Did
not have time to do it.

There appear to be interesting hiking and kayaking opportunities around
the island, and the resort will customize anything you want.
We will definitely go back. It is a first class operation all the
way....in a stunningly beautiful location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andywiessner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupont, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We could not have dreamed a better vacation than the one we experienced at Lalati Resort and Spa, Aug. 3-10, 2010! Welcoming foot massages, gourmet meals, village visits for rugby matches and kindergarten, masterful massages, beautiful sunrises, genuinely warm people, lapping waves and lazy days. Although there are many things worthy of mentioning, three things stand out from our visit.

The Fijian People: Smiles, laughter, senses of humor, helpful, harmonious (musically and in life), warm, welcoming, genuine. It truly is the people of Beqa, Fiji that make the island so very wonderful! It is something you must experience for yourself to fully appreciate that it is not fake, contrived, or simply a put-on. We were even luckier that during our stay, the other guests were good people, too.

The SCUBA Diving: The SCUBA diving is what you make it. The warm waters, brilliantly colorful soft and hard corals, plethora of diverse sea life, easy going divemasters and captains, moving with the pleasurable pace of the water, and always coming across something new, provided us a diving experience that was superb. With all that said, there are a couple of things we feel compelled to mention. First, we were the only two divers on the boat. Brad and Susan (owners) could have arranged for us to dive with the other resort on the island, but never once thought of that. They have a philosophy that is beneficial to the customer and the resort. Ask them! Second, Beqa is a remote island. Looks can be deceiving. The boats may look and function differently than you are use to, but they function well and safely. The divemasters and boat captains are quite competent when it comes to maintaining and running their boats. My husband and I share different diving experience levels (33 dives and 400+dives), and we both thoroughly enjoyed each and every dive. Bring your camera!

The Children: We felt quite honored to be able to visit one of the local villages and donate 40 pounds of picture books, pencils, crayons, etc. We were even able to talk with the teacher and some of the women after the village chief accepted our gifts. The preschool/kindergarten children sang songs, were well behaved and had beautifully huge smiles on their faces. Traditional snacks were graciously served, and we felt very welcomed. Several days later one of the little girls we had met during our visit rowed up to the resort with her father. She was playful and delighted to see us again in a less formal setting, as was apparent in the way we bantered back and forth with giggles and smiles as we stuck out our tongues and wiggled our fingers from our ears at each other. :)

Both of us had dreamed of a tropical paradise. Beqa and Lalati gave shape, form, and reality to a dream neither one of us could have so perfectly created. It was as if we had been transported to a more natural way of life and we came away feeling extremely relaxed and renewed.

The Lalati Resort and Spa will be a part of us forever. It was a wonderful way to start our married life together!

P.S. This is a moist, tropical island and mosquitoes live well here. However, swing by REI for some Junlge Juice, and they will enjoy the OTHER guests more than you! ;)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatiowners, Public Relations Manager at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2010
VINAKA VAKA LEVU for the lovely words and warm thoughts! The villagers are still speaking about your generousity in donating all the school supplies to their children, You will always remain special to them, and in their hearts.

You will be happy to know that we added 2 more boats to our fleet, which will ensure there will never be a dull moment at Lalati Resort!

We are all so pleased you thought your trip was a "dream vacation." We always share each review with staff, and they couldn't have been prouder to hear what you had to say about your experiences with us. The next time you visit, you'll no longer be guests - you'll be members of the Lalati family.

Thank you for making the children of Beqa Island happy, and sharing your time with us. Staff tells us to invite you back "right away." It's wonderful guests like you that make all our jobs so easy! LOLOMAS~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beqa Island
3.0 mi away
Beqa Lagoon Resort
Beqa Lagoon Resort
#1 of 4 in Beqa Island
455 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
905 reviews
10.2 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
626 reviews
23.8 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
475 reviews
6.5 mi away
Royal Davui Island Resort
Royal Davui Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Royal Davui Island
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalati Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalati Resort & Spa

Property: Lalati Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 461, Beqa Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Beqa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beqa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lalati Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning all inclusive resort. Lalati Resort & Spa sits on the edge of a protected bay in Beqa Lagoon, with world class snorkeling and diving just steps outside your door. Standard Cottages, Deluxe Villas, Premium Deluxe Honeymoon Villas and Superior Honeymoon Suites offer comfort in a Fijian-style elegance and full amenities. Kayak, trek, snorkel, scuba dive, surf, wakeboard, tube ride, SUPs, zipline, village safaris, and the famous firewalkers, all within easy reach. It's where you find the Soul of Fiji! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lalati Resort And Spa
Lalati Hotel Beqa Island
Lalati Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing