We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lalati Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beqa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2009

I'm an American living in Fiji and have stayed at many resorts in Fiji--large and small. And I have to say, Lalati has been the best BY FAR. Too often resorts in Fiji over promise and under deliver. Others are so expensive that no one traveling within a budget--no matter how big--can afford them. At Lalati, you get much more than what you pay for.

Lalati truly does it right. From the moment you arrive at the resort you are welcomed as a member of the family. The staff are the friendliest group of Fijians my partner and I have ever come across. They really care about you and want you to have a memorable experience. If you want anything, all you have to do is ask. You won't be turned down. The owners Brad and Sue and their son Jordan are true professionals and should be proud of the wonderful environment they have created.

You can be as active or inactive as you want. There are always planned activities to keep you busy. But if all you want to do is lounge around and read, what better place to do it than swinging in your own hammock right on the edge of the bay.

My partner went to Lalati for the diving and we were not disappointed. We've done lots of diving around Beqa Island from Viti Levu but many of the dive sites we were brought to we had never even heard of. The dive staff is amazing and really take care to make you feel comfortable whatever your experience.

While we were there, the resort was rather full, but we never felt crowded or pressured to be a part of anything we didn't want to. We spent time with the other guests when we wanted and spent time alone when we wanted. We met some very nice couples and spent most evenings in the bar/restaurant socializing.

If you're like me and you narrow your list of potential holiday destinations down to a couple of places, let me tell you to forget about everywhere else. I've been to them and they cannot hold a candle to this place!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmerExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 431 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2009

This person should stay in the Sheraton in Hawaii.
I was at Lalati. I have traveled more than most people, and I found the people that live on this Island and work in the resort among the most pleasant & helpful anywhere.
The cabins are in true South Pacific style, large & clean. The open air dinning/bar area is in the same style and relaxed. You can get anything you want anytime. Just walk up to the bar or to the kitchen door & a beautifully smiling woman comes out to fix what you want. The food was great and healthy.
We snorkeled,dived, kayaked and visited the village of people who live there. There are no roads & no need for roads.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crackersc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

What do you go to Fiji for?

I thought I'd find at any resort in Fiji--certainly one for $400/night for two:
Beautiful blue water, inviting for a swim
- A long, white, sandy beach
- A clean, bright, attractive lobby
- A stocked bar with a bartender who knows how to make drinks
- An appetizer menu with food available between meal times
- An inviting, sparkling-clean pool

Well, not at this place. But if you want a whole resort to yourselves, which our group of 12 did, come to Lalati. No other tourists here, hardly. And be prepared for frequent power, hot water outages. They need a new generator, new cushions on the chairs in the lobby, new paint all over in the lobby from the 60s, a stocked bar with an experienced bartender, and snacks.

Bring lots of good books and your own cookies. There's no place on the entire island to buy anything.

The local villagers were very sweet, and did their utmost to please.

The resort guides did take us to a beautifl snorkling, diving spot--on the last day. The other snorkling, dive spots were so so.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IwantAmenities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

This is a wonderful little resort with lovely Fijian staff and beautiful large bures along water's edge with big front porches. Very comfortable and clean. This is a very private place which we loved. We went with a group of friends and had the place to ourselves. The food was great as were the spa services. The diving and snorkeling were awesome. Stayed a week and would have loved to have stayed another. We were greeted with songs from the staff, welcomed with foot wash & massage and cold drinks, enjoyed a special day on storm island and loved the traditional fire-walking ceremony and local villagers sharing Kava with us. We felt pampered the whole time. Many thanks to Brad, Dick, Cisa, Joe, Oli, Rush, Salome, Lome, Rye and all the rest of the very special staff.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeezelSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

I celebrated my 50th birthday with a group of friends at the Lalati Resort. It was a fantastic week. We especially enjoyed the staff at the Lalati. They are very friendly and cater to your every need. The accommodations are perfect for small groups. I had the honor to stay in the "Honeymoon Suite". If you are looking for a private honeymoon adventure, I'd recommend it highly. And be sure to have a "banana leaf wrap" at the Spa.

The food is superb. The Chef has trained for 6 months with a chef from Austria and everything from the breakfast breads, to fish tacos, to the desserts were delicious. And, it's all inclusive!

If you enjoy snorkeling or scuba-diving, you've come to the right place. It's spectacular.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGal059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

We recently returned from Lalati after spending a wonderful week at the resort.
Honeymoon Villa: Definitely worth the extra dollars if it fits in your budget. We enjoyed the courtyard as well as the extra space in the bedroom & bathroom.
Food: Overall very good. Recommend the private romantic dinners at the end of the pier.
Diving: We signed up for the five day dive package. We enjoyed every dive (mainly intermediate, soft coral dives), especially the shark dive, which we were both surprised how much we both enjoyed. My wife & I have over 200+ dives each and we appreciated the local dive masters knowledge as well as the small dive groups , ranging from just the 2 of us to 6 divers.
Staff: Truely AMAZING. Great people with great attitudes.
Also recommend the sunset boat cruise, fun time & thanks for the Fijian songs but watch out for the yummy rum punch.
There were a few minor issues but the resort staff works hard to correct. We feel that Lalati will continue to just get better. Overall, a wonderful place to visit and create beautiful memories together.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RRSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Its taken me a while to get round to writing this review, but i thought i would write a quick note about the fantastic time my new wife and i had at the Lalati resort for our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived the hospitality from eveyone there was first class(the complimentary foot massage helped :o)). Even though we had not booked the honeymoon bure we were given a free upgrade which i thought was very generous and made all the difference. We had a wonderful two weeks away from the rat race on the island and we couldnt fault anything. The food was great, as was the snorkelling and all the other adventures we had. I just wish we could have stayed there longer. A big thankyou to Brad who went out of his way to make our holiday the best it could possibly be and a huge thanks to all the staff there especially Dick, Cisa, Oli and Rush we hope to see you all again sooner rather than later. Thanks again guys. If your wondering where to spend your honeymoon look no further.......

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butty1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beqa Island
3 mi away
Beqa Lagoon Resort
Beqa Lagoon Resort
#1 of 4 in Beqa Island
510 reviews
10.2 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
219 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
679 reviews
23.8 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
616 reviews
6.5 mi away
Royal Davui Island Resort
Royal Davui Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Royal Davui Island
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalati Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalati Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 461, Beqa Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Beqa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beqa Island
Price Range: $275 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lalati Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning all inclusive resort. Lalati Resort & Spa sits on the edge of a protected bay in Beqa Lagoon, with world class snorkeling and diving just steps outside your door. Standard Cottages, Deluxe Villas, Premium Deluxe Honeymoon Villas and Superior Honeymoon Suites offer comfort in a Fijian-style elegance and full amenities. Kayak, trek, snorkel, scuba dive, surf, wakeboard, tube ride, SUPs, zipline, village safaris, and the famous firewalkers, all within easy reach. It's where you find the Soul of Fiji! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lalati Resort And Spa
Lalati Hotel Beqa Island
Lalati Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing