We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lalati Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beqa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have just got back from the most magical holiday at the Lalati. We arrived to a serenade from the staff at the warf and then a lovely foot massage...Bliss! Our villa was huge AND air conditioned AND had a wonderful view. tick, tick, tick!
We headed straight for the house reef for a snorkel and it was just lovely so much to see right out your front door. The diving was amazing and the highlight was the bull shark dive on the Monday before we left.
The staff are amazing, Sue and Mark the managers are friendly and helpful, Sabine and Josiah the dynamic duo are just the greatest always smiling and nothing is a problem, and my new friend Qoli ( Golie) she is just lovely, Mary does great massages, Una is an amazingly warm and efficient young woman, Sela your cocktails ROCK, oh god there are just so many more I could go on and on! Nothing is a problem or an inconvenience for any of them as I was told more than once it was all about us.
The food is fantastic and just so much of it, the fresh muffins and bread every day. My only gripe about the food is that we only got the chocolate soufflé once, it is AMAZING!
Brad and Susan you should be very proud of your beautiful resort and I cannot wait to come back and see the changes you have planned.
I am sure that there will be some people who would hate the Lalati as it has no shops or nightclubs but that is not what it is about it is eco friendly, it is relaxing, it is early nights after big days of activity,(not because you have to but you want to) it is everyone getting together at happy hour and actually talking, it is BLISS! We'll be returnee's definitely

Room Tip: Villas have A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Felicity H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatimarketingmngr, Public Relations Manager at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

So happy you were happy! Sounds like you got a bit of everything - a little big of romance, a little bit of adventure, a bit of rejuvenation. We love to hear that your requirements in a great Fiji holiday were met by the staff and managers at Lalati Resort & Spa.

Last night, as I ate my hot chocolate soufflé, I thought of you. We'll have to time your next visit so you can have at least two during your stay. It is a bit of chocolate magic! And maybe you can check out our brand new honeymoon villas to boot!

Vinaka Vaka Levu for choosing us, and taking the time to say so many kind things. We are honored to have you as past guests, and present "friends of Lalati."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 430 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Double celebration...20th wedding anniversary and 40th birthday...no kids, chilled vacation in a beautiful setting. Lalati delivered! From the moment we stepped off the boat, we entered another world. Met at the dock with a cool coconut drink and smiling staff, onto the resort for a relaxing foot massage. We settled quickly into Fiji time! No need for clocks and alarms.
The staff were all lovely, Freddy, Qoli, Una, Olly, Kula, Leechee (sorry for the spelling!) to name a few. Nothing was too much trouble...always ready with a smile and a laugh (after Kava ceremony we found out why they always smile...thanks Freddy!) The food was delicious and plentiful! My birthday cake was yummy and loved the staff serenade of Happy Birthday!!
Met some great people, with a small number of guests, you have the ability to chat and get to know everyone...even managed to teach our US friends some Australian slang....new word..."Mozzie"!
A visit to Lalati village for church on Sunday was great...despite the language barrier, it was great to see the villages come together and the singing was incredible....I had goosebumps despite the heat!
Handling fishing in an outer reef was very relaxing...crystal clear water and I caught a fish or two (even thought they were too small to keep!)
The managers were lovely...enjoyed a late night drink and chat at the bar with Mark and Sue...so busy all the time...but always at the ready for anything that makes their guests happy! You guys rock!!!
Josiah and Sabine...just like the Fijians...always happy and smiling and passionate about what the island offers...sorry Sabine I didn't go snorkelling with you....next time!
It was also great to talk with Brad about his story and his vision for the resort...very inspiring.
Lalati Resort is a family and we really did feel as though we were a very welcome part of the family.
Our week away was everything we wanted and more. If you want a holiday where you can chill and relax...Lalati is the place. If you want to dive, snorkel or experience village culture...Lalati is the place.
Thank you for an awesome week...looking forward to returning for some R & R!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatimarketingmngr, Public Relations Manager at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Actually, thank you! Thank you for sharing such memorable moments with us (a birthday AND an anniversary!), thank you for your kind words, and thank you for taking the time to write it all down for Trip Advisor readers. All of us at Lalati Resort & Spa are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and can't wait for you to return. Glad you got to relax, chill out, but also take part in a bit of adventure. We look forward to treating you upon your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

WIfe and I spent week of Feb 28 at Lalati Restort and let me tell you, We had the best time and probably our best vacation ever!

Sue and Mark, the managers, we absolutely wonderful. They made sure we were well taken care of (as well as the other guests). We actually felt like we were leaving friends when we had to depart.....it made us sad to leave.

Sabine and Josiah in the dive shop we also just amazing. My wife is a diver, I am not. She had the best shark dive ever and said if you go, you MUST do the shark dive. Additionally, she said some of the best diving water and sea life in all her 20 years experience. And, they were totally great with me just hanging out on the dive boat and enjoying the beautiful scenery while they dove.

The resort is gorgeous and well maintained, we stayed our first night in an seaview cottage and the remaining 6 nights in a oceanside villa. The cottage was nice and super comfy but the Villa was gorgeous and well worth the upgrade (including the A/C).

We both had a couple massages and the spa treatments were wonderful and well priced.

The food was great too. It was just so easy to enjoy your breakfast (of choice) and review the day's activities and then make your lunch & dinner selections from the menu.... then, just go and enjoy your day.

I think what made our trip great was that we could do as much or as little as we choose. AND, with only 4-6 other couples, you practically have the resort all to yourself. There was never any pressure to partake in any activity unless you wanted to. Some we did, some we didn't....it was totally our call and we enjoyed every minute!.

Dollar for dollar, we will go back to Lalati Resort in a minute!!! forget Hawaii and the masses. It truly is a unique property with it's raw, unspoiled beauty and respect for the people who call it home and the people who come to visit.

The local Fijians were so nice and welcoming. We loved learning their culture and customs as well as just listening to them share their island with us.

Again, thanks so much to Sue. She is a sweetheart and just enhanced our stay by making sure we were happy and informed of the day's activities. If you go, spend a couple minutes each evening and just visit with her and the other visitors and staff.....It made our trip so enjoyable.

Thanks Lalati Resort......we will see you again!

Room Tip: The oceanside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatimarketingmngr, Public Relations Manager at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

BULA Grant!

Thank you for your amazing review. We always love hearing about our lovely Fijian staff. And we are especially pleased that you noticed our awesome management team. They are at times behind the scenes, and the primary reason things run smoothly. They are the engines that drive the resort, and we are so happy that kudos went to them for the outstanding job they do.

As Marketing Director for Lalati Resort, Sue & Mark as General Managers make my job that much easier. They work diligently to improve on a daily basis. Sabine & Josiah, our Dive and Activities Managers, work hard to make having fun so easy. With these four, I could probably retire and never be missed!

Your wife is correct - that Great Shark Encounter is a life changing experience. It's a reason in itself to get certified.

Happy you could do as little or as much as you want - after all, it's YOUR vacation and that's exactly the way it should be! Please do return now as friends! We'd love to wow you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Location: 2 hr drive from Nadi airport, then 30 min boat ride.

Facility: Beach front villas, with additional 7 brand new villas due to come on-line in March 2014. Has swimming pool and private dock.

Accommodation: No complaints. Our villa had a private outdoor shower, and for the entire week we ever used the indoor shower!

Activities: Dive operation is on-site. Dive options include a shark dive where the 8 species of shark are attracted by free food (not you). Two escorted snorkeling trips ($) and one escorted kayak trip ($) per week plus unlimited free unescorted kayak-snorkeling anytime. No surfing spots nearby.

Nearby villages: Lalati village is home to 132 indigent Fijians and is located 2 minutes from the resort. Local villagers who are also on staff at the resort will escort you to the village one afternoon where you will be given a tour of the village, given an opportunity to buy low-cost jewelery, participate in songs and dance, and make an optional (no obligation) donation to the village fund (currently going towards the cost of building a Community Hall).

We also attended the village church (Methodist) service on the Sunday. This was a treat to see and hear the choir in the church. Our attendance was much appreciated and was acknowledged.

The island: Beqa (pronounced "Banga"). There are no roads and not really any opportunity to visit any of the other villages or resorts on the island.

Staff/atmosphere/ambiance: Very friendly and helpful staff. Very welcoming. Guests are made to feel "part of the family".

Take your Kindle. It's a place for no internet, no cell phones, no TV, and no texting at the dinner table!!

We loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ExNeddiesBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatimarketingmngr, Public Relations Manager at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

VINAKA for sharing your review with Trip Advisor followers. We always appreciate any feedback and love that you loved us!

You are spot on - Lalati Resort is definitely the place to unplug. But with that in mind, we do have WiFi and TONS of movies to watch if you book a room with a TV, or even if you just bring your computer, you can plug in if the mood strikes you.

While there are regularly scheduled snorkeling trips, you can always check with the activities staff to schedule guided snorkeling, kayaking and the like. There's also watersports right in the bay - tubing, wakeboarding, SUPs and more. Sometimes unplugging has it's benefits!

So glad you enjoyed your holiday, and hope to see you again at Lalati Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is a fine destination. We would go here again. As a couple from small town USA this resort was more than adequate. A stay at Lalati includes dining. The dining was a great value by our estimation nearly a $600 USD. The food quality was very good! Very few duds on the menu. Large portion sizes keep you sustained all day. The dining was probably our favorite aspect.

However, we also really enjoyed our first ever snorkeling experience. We paid for a guided snorkel out in the lagoon. We were brought to a fine location and saw some great corals, many fish and some eels. For the remainder of our stay we snorkeled for no additional cost right in front of the resort. This is some very fine snorkeling as well. Also featuring many fish, great coral, blue starfish and we even saw a sea turtle. Our kayak voyage to bat island was nice as well. The number of bats that got up out of the trees was astounding. Being of questionable physical shape the trip was longer than need be. I was ready to be done much sooner than we were. The scenery of the bay is great. Later in the week we went on the village tour and that too was a good time.

Some short comings of the resort were the lack of night life. Dinner is at seven and after dinner it is essentially bed time. Perhaps some after dark activities could be offered. Happy hour was fine and essentially the only time people could be found in the bar area. Alcohol in general is expensive in Fiji. At the resort it is more so. Happy hour prices are comparable to the rest of the country from what we encountered. Some of the advertised offerings were not offered during our stay for instance trivia night, cocktails with management, beach volleyball (did not even spot a net) and wood fired pizza. The grounds of the resort need to be picked up lots of litter and debris present and is probably a constant battle as the tides continually deposit such items. However, right off the dock is a decommissioned refrigeration unit serving as nothing more than an eyesore. We enjoyed the garden it features many fine fruit trees and flowering plants. However, after touring the vegetation we remain in the dark about what things are. Some simple signs placed by the plants to identify what they are and even a brief description would be a nice addition.

All in all we enjoyed our experience and would recommend Lalati to people with similar values.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Owlczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatiowners, Public Relations Manager at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and review of the resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we'd love for you to return again. We love to surprise our returning friends!

Regarding some of the things you missed - we do have woodfired pizza, and I checked the menu and it is offered as lunch on Sunday - which is the day, unfortunately, you left in the morning. Trivia night is offered weekly, however, if there are only a few people at the bar, they do not run that activity, as it's not much fun unless everyone gathers around. We do have beach volleyball and you are correct, you didn't see a net. That is because the net is stored until a game is played. This is done for 2 reasons. The first is that the elements are too harsh to keep it up permanently. And second, it detracts from a lovely beach setting for those you want to relax with a drink, watching the peaceful bay.

As far as the decommissioned refrigeration unit. I apologize if you thought that it was something that was just tossed there. It was not decommissioned - it is a used freezer from the resort. We had purchased new kitchen equipment. This was an old freezer and instead of selling it, we donated it to our local villagers, who do not have the means to purchase one on their own. It took several hours for the villagers to organize a boat to pick up the freezer, and it had to coincide with the tides as well. It was on the side of the dock one day, for several hours only. No, it wasn't pretty, but we practice the "pay it forward" policy. Our village friends and staff give of themselves so much to us and our guests, that we try to give back to them as much as we can.

As for your comments about notes on the flora and fauna around the resort - Great Idea! Sabine, our intrepid Activities Director, is already in the process of making signs and an accompanying booklet that will aid in a self-guided tour of the resort grounds. So when you come back this will all be in place! We also highly recommend taking the complimentary herbal medicine walk which will also give you an insiders view into the many uses of the plants that grow in profusion in our tropical environment.

For our future guests - please do not hesitate to check with staff or with our expert management team if you have questions, concerns, or special requests. They really do go out of their way, but only if they know before hand. I'm sure if you, owlczar, would have mentioned the woodfired pizza, they could have switched the days that it was served!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 days at Lalati. The setting is beautiful, green and lush. The surrounding reef is abundant with gorgeous coral and fish. The visibility was great most of the time we were there. We loved using they Kayaks to get to a neighboring beach and to visit Bat Island. Our villa was lovely and we particularly enjoyed sitting on the large veranda looking out at the water and enjoying the quiet time to read and relax. The staff and managers were always attentive, friendly and helpful. The food was good and creative. All in all a wonderful experience. We loved Fiji and the Fijian people.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatiowners, Public Relations Manager at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

BULA and VINAKA for the lovely words. Lalati Resort & Spa is quite lush and green - in fact, the name "Lalati" means "green wall." You also expressed well the beautiful coral gardens that surround us on all sides of the bay and lagoon. It is truly a snorkeler's paradise. There are so many colors that it's almost a sensory overload!

We hope you return again in the future, and stay a bit longer to take in even more of what Lalati has to offer. We'd love to see you here again!

Susan, Marketing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Lalati is a fantastic resort and ticks all the boxes, with something for everyone. Relaxing, spacious with well-trained staff and experienced management with an eye for detail and personalized service provide a superb resort experience. Lalati is in a great location, just a short 30 minute boat ride from the mainland, with access to plenty of great tours and activities. There's also plenty to do and see on-site. However, the resort is also just far enough away so that you feel as though you are in your own, remote little piece of paradise! A unique resort and memorable experience. I would definitely stay longer next time!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank F5454Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatiowners, Front Office Manager at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

So happy we "ticked all your boxes" on your trip to Lalati Resort & Spa. It's important to share this with your booking agent, or with the booking staff at any resort. This is a sure way to get the best out of your vacation in Fiji, and to make sure that you have selected the resort that will best accomplish that goal.

Glad you got to participate in some of the great activities we have on offer. We always felt we had the best location - so remote, yet so near. Remote enough to feel like you are totally removed from the rest of the world. Yet just a 20-30 minute boat ride away from the "Adventure Capital of Fiji." Kind of like the best of both worlds.

Do come and visit us again - and stay longer. We have lots of surprises for our returnees!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beqa Island
3 mi away
Beqa Lagoon Resort
Beqa Lagoon Resort
#1 of 4 in Beqa Island
502 reviews
10.2 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
216 reviews
23.8 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
1,016 reviews
9.4 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
664 reviews
6.5 mi away
Royal Davui Island Resort
Royal Davui Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Royal Davui Island
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalati Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalati Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 461, Beqa Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Beqa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beqa Island
Price Range: $275 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lalati Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning all inclusive resort. Lalati Resort & Spa sits on the edge of a protected bay in Beqa Lagoon, with world class snorkeling and diving just steps outside your door. Standard Cottages, Deluxe Villas, Premium Deluxe Honeymoon Villas and Superior Honeymoon Suites offer comfort in a Fijian-style elegance and full amenities. Kayak, trek, snorkel, scuba dive, surf, wakeboard, tube ride, SUPs, zipline, village safaris, and the famous firewalkers, all within easy reach. It's where you find the Soul of Fiji! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lalati Resort And Spa
Lalati Hotel Beqa Island
Lalati Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing