We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lalati Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beqa Island
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My Wife, her Sister and I spent two weeks at Lalati from Nov.1st through the 15th as primarily a dive vacation. This wasn't our first trip to Fiji... in 2001 we spent two weeks at the Matangi island resort near Taveuni, also as a dive vacation. Upon arrival to Beqa Island, we were greeted by the Lalati Fijian staff in typical warm fashion at the end of the pier. A nice welcome after a long 11 hour flight and 2 1/2 hour van ride!

The premises are beautiful and dining/bar structures gorgeous. Pool/spa area are beachfront and looked wonderful as well. We were given a wonderful coconut milk foot massage by Fijian staff and briefed by one of the Managers, Sue and escorted to our bure which was one of the oceanfront bures. The bure was wonderfully done. Note; toilets are composting toilets and will emit a not-so-wonderful odor that will waft through the bure with the trade winds. Such is the reality of living eco-friendly!

We thought food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) was just average for a resort like this. A couple times for dinner and lunch, they exceeded average. Service was haphazard. I don't mind slow as it's "Fiji time" but typically one or two would get their food and 10-15 minutes later, the others would get theirs. It's just a minor training issue but staff were always friendly and greeting you each and every time.

Lalati is adding more bures to the premises and the dive shop is renovating so there was lots of construction going on. Whether it was 7am and trying to sleep or hammering going on while attempting to get a massage at the spa, it was bothersome.

As for diving, Sabine and Josiah as the dive masters saved the day. Both are extremely professional and did a great job. We dove with Sabine the majority of our dives (we logged approximately 20 dives in two weeks). She remained highly enthusiastic despite suffering from pretty bad allergies. Total trooper! Diving was a mixed bag. We were disappointed by the lack of soft coral growth (what Fiji waters are known for) and the lack of large animal life. You'll see plenty on the shark dive but on regular dives, an occasional white tip reef shark is what we saw. What Sabine was excellent at was pointing out the small stuff. Nudibranch city! Diving near Taveuni was superior to this region and so we were a bit disappointed in that regard.

It rained quite a bit during our second week so during dives, visibility suffered from a perfect storm of rain run-off from the main Island of Viti Levi and Beqa Island. Visibility was often reduced to 40 feet. On one of the dives, current was a bit strong and visibility was poor so my wife and I decided to cut the dive short and signaled the dive master that we were heading up. Upon surfacing, we saw that the boat ladder was not lowered into the water. We yelled out to the boat Captain (also named Josiah) to lower the ladder and he seemed startled but finally lowered the ladder.

We decided not to dive the second dive due to the conditions of the first dive so we remained on the boat with the boat Captain, Josiah. Josiah promptly went to sleep after all the other divers were in the water, which explained why the ladder wasn't in the water on our first dive. Tremendous safety breach here. We reported Josiah's incident to Sabine and Manager Sue and they promptly counseled him on it. Unfortunately, the next day in the dive shop, boat Captain Josiah confronted me on the issue. I also advised Sabine and Sue on Josiah's confrontation and they promptly acted on it. Sue had advised me that it was probably a "cultural" issue going on here where Josiah simply wanted to iron out the problem. Hard to tell how Josiah felt about me after outing him on his safety breach, though. Not good.

During our two week stay, approximately 98% of the resorts guests (including us) fell ill to a rather nasty 24 hour stomach bug. My version was 12 hours of vomiting every hour on the hour and my wife's was a bit milder. We were told by the Mangers, Sue and Mark that it was something one of the guests probably brought with them and was transmitted to the other guests. They had explained that they had changed out the water filters for the tap water and briefed staff on food preparation and hand washing. There were several different opinions from guests on the source of the illness so the jury is still out on that one.

Overall, the resort is decently run and is beautiful. Managers, Mark and Sue are hospitable and very nice people. Fijian staff are wonderful. My review rating for Lalati is unfortunately average given the above issues

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank divergreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatiowners, Public Relations Manager at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Happy you enjoyed most of your stay at the resort, the gorgeous gardens, picturesque bay, and of course, our phenomenal managers and hospitable staff.

Please do note that took to heart the composting toilet issue you mentioned - and it is doing the trick. It is very important that, for resorts positioned beachfront, we do all we can to protect the fragile reef environment. So many resorts have septic systems which can leach into the soil and eventually the water, and we work hard at protecting the environment not only for our guest enjoyment, but for the sustainable livelihood of our Fijian neighbors and staff.

As far as the diving - I am surprised that since you wanted to see "big fish" you didn't book an Ultimate Shark Encounter - or 5! Since you were staying with us for 15 nights, you could have seen more big fish than you could even count! In speaking with management, the reefs around Beqa Lagoon are healthier than those they've experienced in the Maldives, Caribbean and north Great Barrier reef - where they either lived or managed resorts. And do note that Beqa Lagoon is far enough away from the main island as to not experience any run off from the island.

Sue, our manager, has taken your comment regarding service, and has reorganized some staff, and continues with the training process. Thank you for the comments. Of course, we all love great reviews, but it is from constructive criticism that we learn.

Do also note that construction NEVER starts at 7 a.m. And our management team is quite on the ball when it comes to noise. If the spa is being used, they make sure all power tools and noise making construction is halted so that each guest has a peaceful and serene spa experience.

As far as the virus, unfortunately that part is true. Not the 98% - it was less than half of the guests, but that doesn't make it any more comfortable! It was obviously a virus as it seemed to hit the big group that was also at the resort traveling together, so we kind of tracked it to that group. Not sure about the "jury" being out but it was definitely a virus. It simply cannot be the water. You are correct about the filters, but neglected to mention that the filter process is just the first stage in the whole process - perhaps it wasn't explained thoroughly to you.

Our water is first filtered at the source (rainwater) for sediment. It then goes through a charcoal filter process, and as a final process, it is UV light filtered to be sure every bacteria is killed before it gets served to our guests.

We are happy to report that the diligence of the staff (bleaching and constant cleaning) has resulted in the extinction of the virus by the time the last group member left the resort, and there have been no other reports since. Unfortunately, people travel from all over the world, and although we've been quite lucky in the past, it does happen to the best of resorts. It is the quick response by management that resulted in a quick demise of the annoying bug!

I'm sorry about our captain. He insists he wasn't sleeping, but he was spoken to about safety issues. Josiah is quite a gentle soul, so I'm sure he wasn't confronting you, just trying to explain to you. They do get upset at themselves and want to be sure that you aren't mad at them - not the reverse. They would never be mad at a guest for pointing out something they did wrong. It's quite the opposite - they want to be sure that you aren't angry with them! After 15 years of living with and amongst the Fijian people, this is something I can surely guarantee!

Hope you did get a great Fijian experience, and that you enjoyed the discounts I offered you prior to booking your getaway. Isa Lei!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    59
    27
    26
    18
See reviews for
24
290
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

With lots of family living in Fiji I've been there quite a few times and for this trip I was looking to get off the main island and away from the 'cookie cutter' tourist traps. I was also looking for a PADI accredited dive centre for me & my partner to start our diving experience. After much research the Lalati ticked all of the boxes and once we arrive I found it exceeded all of my expectations. This is a resort where you go to get away from it all. During our week there was no more that 16 guests at any one time and all of the staff know your name, how many resorts have you been to where that happens? With only 4 'internationals' on staff the majority of the resort is staffed by the two adjoining villages. Not only does this provide much needed income and development for the Fijian staff but it has the added bonus of seeing the beautiful children pass by the front of the resort each day as they walk to the local kindergarten - they really are very cute. If you haven't been to Fiji before you will find the local staff at the Lalati a shining example of this smiling, welcoming and beautiful culture.

We were luck enough to be offered an upgrade from the Sea View Cottages to the Ocean Front Villa's for the majority of our stay. I would caution that if you are staying in the cottages, beautiful as they are, there are no block out curtains so bring an eye mask or be prepared to be awake early each day! The ocean front villa's have block out shutters so you'll be fine in there. That said, the accommodation is fabulous. The villas particularly are an excellent example of modern meeting traditional design where you'll be more than happy sitting on the front verandah reading a book and watching the waves just steps from your front door.

As for the diving, we couldn't have been happier. Josiah & Sabine head up the Blue Starfish Dive Centre and are both exceptional at their job. We were very lucky that it was just the two of us doing our open water dive course with Josiah and he was an outstanding instructor. We didn't have the best weather for our trip but Josiah & Sabine ensured we found excellent sites for our open water component. Sadly we weren't able to fit in the shark dive but we're already talking about when we can get back to fit in that once in a lifetime experience.

Our trip was also enhanced by massages and facials at the spa at the start and end of the week. What a way to relax into the trip and then rejuvenate after all of the diving!

I can't finish the review without mentioning the food - do not go here to diet!! The food was an excellent mix of western and Fijian cuisine which will have you wondering if they stole a chef from one of the major resorts. Pleasingly the kitchen is staffed by women from the local village, and boy can they cook! (They also just might think they are feeding the Wallabies front row so be prepared for large meals!)

Thanks Lalati for a fantastic week. We made some new friends and I'm already trying to work out when I can fit in my next visit.

Room Tip: If you can afford it book an Ocean Front Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TaleiB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatiowners, Public Relations Manager at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
YAY! Exceeded your expectations? That's exactly what we are looking for!

You hit the nail on the head regarding the staffing, and the income provided to our local villagers. It's important to note that the majority of our local staff had never worked before. So it was training from the boots up, and we think they do it marvelously. Their innate warmth and friendliness lends itself so well to the hospitality industry. We also found our chefs in the village - wonderful woman who create amazing meals for their families using all the fresh local produce that these island provide. With just a bit of training, and creating a Visiting Chef Program at the resort, our chefs (an Iron Chef winner from Canada, A Japanese Chef, a trained South Pacific Island chef, and an Austrian chef) have all lent their considerable talents to our training process.

You simply must come back for the shark encounter. You will see so many fish (yes, sharks, but the other sea life is over abundant) that you will want to do this dive every day! And we will have a special surprise waiting for your return.

VINAKA from the staff, management and owners for your insightful words and kind praise! Isa Lei - until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
267 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Unlike many here the purpose of our trip was diving rather than a wedding or honeymoon. Despite some inclement, windy conditions the dive team well managed and headed up by Sabine & Josiah got us out diving decent sites every day including a last days shark dive which was truly stunning. Had we been able we would have gone on this again. Great service from all dive centre staff and nitrox available.

The resort is small, friendly and smoothly run. Mark & Sue, along with all of the staff are always looking for ways to satisfy all and are very amenable hosts throughout the day & evening.

Oceanfront villas are spacious, well appointed and ...oceanfront. Great terrace area with seating and hammocks. Minibar, tea & coffee facilities in room (change the tiny cups - hopeless!!)

As we spent most of our time diving we did not try any of the other activities except the spa which I am told was great! Good happy hour snacks & drinks at sunset.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin_roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatiowners, Public Relations Manager at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
So happy you enjoyed your dive vacation at Lalati Resort & Spa. Our dive managers are exception at finding just the right dive sites to match the sea and weather conditions. And the shark dive really is amazing. It's always good to book that early, so that you can return to this incredible encounter.

Glad you received the first class treatment you deserved, after your long trek from the UK. If you ever find yourself in our neighborhood again, let us know. Our favorite thing is to "wow" our returning guests! We would be sure to leave a bigger coffee cup in your room next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I spent 8 days at Lalati Resort for our honeymoon in mid October 5-13, 2013. We had an incredible time!

The Island: Beqa is a beautiful place. We couldn’t have imagined a better spot to spend our honeymoon. The island is lush and green. Lalati has a great decently sized sandy area at the resort for laying out and relaxing. But if you are looking for the "white sand beach" feel there are many beautiful beaches that you can kayak to if you are looking to go lay out and relax with the added bonus of there being no one else on these beaches but you and your partner. It doesn’t get any better than that! There are multiple small villages dotted throughout the island. Just getting to the island is an adventure! The locals use the beaches at low tide to walk from village to village. Fijians really are the friendliest people on the planet. They love to call out BULA! to the visitors as they walk by the resort. There are no roads or cars on the island so it really gives the feel of seclusion. Yes the mosquitoes do come out in the afternoon. Just make sure to bring some bug spray, purchase some at their gift shop, or cover up with long sleeves during happy hour. Overall they weren’t that bad.

The Ocean: The water is crystal clear and warmer than the pool at the resort. It has the best snorkeling we’ve ever seen. Ever. The amount of fish and pristine coral reefs makes this a very special place. One couple that was staying there did the famous "Shark Dive". They came back to show us photos and video that just took our breath away.

The Resort and Lodging: Lalati Resort is beautiful! The grounds were clean and well kept. Everything is within close proximity so it’s easy to get around. We stayed in an ocean front villa and loved every second. I made sure to spend at least an hour a day laying in the hammock on the front porch and watch the ocean only 50 feet away. The villa was large, spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and the linens were soft. The ceiling fans and ocean breezes kept us cool at night. There was no need for air conditioning. All the windows and doors have screens so we were mosquito free when inside. All the water at the resort is treated and filtered rain water. They asked that we do not drink the water from the tap in the villa, and to just ask for the filtered water from the restaurant to drink. We still used the villa water to shower in the giant tiled-in shower with OnDemand hot water, and brush our teeth, and had absolutely no problems.

The Restaurant/Bar: The restaurant is a short walk from the villas. It has open walls and an amazing view while you enjoy a drink or meal. If this place were in Hawaii it would be jammed packed with people fighting for parking, and for a seat with the best view. We could just walk up, sit wherever, stare at the ocean and wait for the food to come to us. The food was delicious. We learned they have a rotating menu every two weeks, so we never had to eat the same thing while we were there. When you come in for breakfast they have a menu on the table for all your choices for lunch and dinner for the day. You make your choices in the morning for what you’d like, and that is pretty much the only real decision you have to make for the entire day. My wife and I always tried to get different things so we could share and make sure to taste as much of the food as possible. I can’t think of one thing we didn’t really like. And there is always a vegetarian option, just in case. My only issue with the food was the bacon in the morning was a little undercooked. But that is all personal preference, as I like my bacon crispy.

The Staff: The management and employees were wonderful! From the minute you step onto the island you’re on a first-name basis with everyone. They give very personable service. There is a little pressure from the visitor’s standpoint to learn everyone’s name, but we picked them up quickly.
Sue was as sweet as they come. Mark, Sabine and Josiah were also very welcoming and fun to chat with when we were just hanging around during happy hour. Based on a review I read right before coming to the resort, I made sure to pay close attention to the management, and how they worked with their employees. All I saw was one big happy family. I even sat at the bar one day while Sue was training a new bartender, and the way she spoke to the trainee was very kind and respectful. Anyone who says that management was mean, or that the employees are afraid of management, I can only say they are probably a horrible judge of character. They employ locals from the surrounding villages, and we made friends with a few of them throughout the week. Nelly (Isowa) is the BEST! Leeche, Louie, Lela, Goalie, Niko, Mary, Chantel, Coola (and many others I can’t remember right now) really make this place such a special place to visit. We miss them all and can’t wait to come back and visit again!

The Activities: We expected to sit around a lot and just relax after our wedding. Instead we found ourselves signing up for all sorts of activities that are offered. We spent time in a kayak every day, snorkeled, did the bat island kayak tour, had a private picnic on a secluded beach with beautiful snorkeling, did a rum punch sunset cruise, hung around and watched Isowa talk about coconuts, and learned how to make some sort of Fijian sweat bread. We sat in the spa and watched a tropical thunderstorm roll through the area and swam in the pool when the sun came out. My wife got a 1 hour full body massage, and we were told by others who were visiting that all the spa packages they offer are wonderful.
There wasn’t enough time in the day!

Final Thoughts: Lalati isn’t for everyone. If you need the giant high-rise hotel, impersonal service, a white sandy beach with 1000 people on it like in Waikiki, then Lalati isn’t for you. If you want a secluded vacation where you can cut yourself off from the rest of the world, with wonderful views and absolutely no crowds, and the best, professional and personal service possible, then Lalati may be what you need. We will definitely be back. Thank you for a wonderful honeymoon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isaac F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatiowners, Public Relations Manager at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
WOW - what an amazing review! We always print all reviews and post them on the staff bulletin board, and they cheered when they read yours. We are also so happy at Lalati Resort & Spa that we "ticked all the boxes" for guests.

You are spot on in your description of what not to expect - crowded beaches or high rises. If you walk along the coastline, you will not see another resort, restaurant, or mall. But if you enjoy the sound of the waves, or birds, or a Fijian singing on his way to his plantation, well, you're in the right place.

I'm happy you participated in some of the activities, and I have to whole heartedly agree with you on the snorkeling. Too many fish, too little time! Put us in your calendar for a special anniversary. We would love to surprise you with something special for our favorite returnees!

Again, so many VINAKAS for taking the time to share your Lalati experience with others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the honeymoon garden villa for about seven nights. We picked the villa with its own hot tub and outdoor lounge area because we especially wanted privacy and time to ourselves on our honeymoon.

However, between being surprised by the housekeeper, the hot tub guy (who apparently comes at a different time than the housekeeper), staff checking in before scheduled activities, staff checking in after the activities to sign the bill, repeated reminders about various activities taking place that day, we were probably interrupted between 1-4 times each day. After a few days of being caught in various states of undress as people shouted a loud "Bula!" while peering through the slated windows, we eventually gave up any attempts at romance. And it didn't help to ignore the intruders - albeit friendly - as they stood around outside until we got dressed to greet them. The housekeeper at least made attempts to only be there while we were out on excursions. My husband and I are able to laugh now to at all the unfortunate timing (it will certainly make good stories), but it was a frustrating experience while we were there.

It would have been very helpful to be given a general timeframe for when the housekeeper and the hot tub guy are expected to be around at the beginning of the trip, instead of finding out by trial and error. And for the love of God, please provide the option of sticking a "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door! Maybe curtains would be helpful too as they can let in some air while providing cover from visitors' eyes. Lastly, we were solicited for donations while in our room because we didn't go on the village tour, and then later told by the staff (while we were in the middle of breakfast) that he would be fired if the resort found out. We didn't mind contributing to the villages, but his approach made us feel very awkward about what we did.

Caution at the "romantic" sunset cruise unless you think it's romantic to go on a boat ride while a staff member stared across at you and your spouse on a seat three feet away until you felt obligated to ignore the scenery to chat with him. The rum punch (which we liked) came from a bucket that the staff member spooned into glasses..and then he took a drink directly from that spoon, stuck it back in the bucket, and then offered you more. The ride back was...exhilarating; on the one hand you were making good speed back to the villas, but on the other, you wondered if you were going to bounce out of the boat as it skipped/crashed from one wave to the next at breakneck speed.

Also, I purchased the spa manicure and pedicure because I forgot to bring nail clippers. It consisted of 10 seconds of light "massaging" to constitute the "spa" portion. She cut my finger nails so short on my hands it hurt, no clipping of toe nails, and the rest of the nearly hour and twenty minutes spent solely on trying to paint my nails. And the result was horrendous. I picked red nail polish on my feet and it looked as if my toes went through a meat grinder. The only thing that kept me from asking for tools to redo my own nails is the woman had tried SO hard and she looked so proud of the result after she was done.

So here's a reason why despite the issues, my husband and I can still laugh at the experience: there are huge cultural differences. The locals are from a community based culture; everyone is super friendly, but probably don't understand that Americans sometimes have antisocial tendencies on occasions like the "honeymoon." Furthermore, the locals do not have a lot of means and have not experienced the "luxury" that this resort attempts to market. So, everything from the food to the spa appears to be an attempt to mimic those standards.

With that said, we have to give a shout out to the management. They're new and it's clear they're eager to do everything to accommodate their guests. We got massages and a private dinner scheduled on the day we arrived even though it's customary to schedule everything once you're there. The staff were extremely friendly, and will remember your name. The activities staff were wonderful as well; my husband and I kayaked for three mornings in a row, snorkeled, and arranged for a picnic on the beach with no issues. The zip lining was absolutely worth it; be sure to bring a camera as the crew will go out of their way to make sure you get phenomenal photographs and videos of the experience.

This would have been a wonderful resort for any other trip we would have taken, but I would not recommend this place for a honeymoon. The honeymoon villas were beautiful, but they also seemed overpriced. Lastly, the snorkeling masks smelled like nose oil and old sunscreen. They were nice but if you're a germaphobe, you may want to bring your own.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheeraspire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatiowners, Public Relations Manager at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your experiences with future travelers. We are sorry that we did not meet, or exceed, your expectations for your honeymoon.

I am sad that you did not receive the privacy you craved on your romantic stay with us. As you mentioned, our wonderful management team does a great job and works hard to make sure all our guests get the most out of their stay. I wish you would have mentioned to any of them some of your issues early on in your stay. The management would have immediately alerted staff and they would not have bothered you for the duration of your stay.

Management has had meetings with staff since you posted your review, and have gone over some of the issues you raised. We did have coconuts to hang from the door indicating 'do not disturb" but those have gone missing, and new privacy door hangers have been replaced. As for being caught in "various stages of undress" I'm sure you noticed that your windows had wooden louvers that could be closed when you were dressing - which is why curtains are not needed in that Honeymoon Suite.

A correction for the Sunset Cruise - we definitely do not serve our rum punch in "a bucket." I'm sure you remember that it is served in a drink cooler with a faucet! The staff has been given a stern warning NEVER to open that cooler and dip a spoon into it. And do also remember that there were other seats in the boat - you could have moved to a seat facing forward, rather than facing the staff. Still, I appreciate your sentiments about the romance aspect of your cruise, and we have spoken to staff and will have them standing at the front of the boat, instead of seated by the guests.

Our amazing Activities Directors know exactly where the best "colors" for the sunset are found, which is why your cruise portion is longer going out than it is coming back. We cruise out to capture the best sunset spots, where you enjoy your rum punch and canapés, then quickly return before it gets too dark. While we do hurry, it is never at "breakneck speed" as our boat captains are all fully licensed and completely safe.

Because of your comments on your mani-pedi, we have dropped that service from our spa menu. While it is true that training for this just doesn't exist in Fiji, and your spa personnel do work hard to please, we don't want to offer sub-standard services. So we have instead substituted some wonderful hand and feet therapies instead. The amazing massage, wraps, scrubs and therapies are where our massage staff shines, and we thank you for your comments - it helps us to know what works, and to alleviate what doesn't!

You are absolutely correct in your statement about the staff not having the luxuries the resort offers. No, they do not sleep on lovely, fluffy king sized beds. However, they are all trained on how to make one! They are all trained on proper protocol, and we're proud to give them these essential skills that they can then take with them if they endeavor other pursuits. This is also why we employ Western management teams - to lead, to instruct, to train and to assist our warm and wonderful local staff.

Regarding the snorkeling masks - our equipment is 1 month old. All masks are cleaned and dipped in a bleach/water solution to disinfect. You may not have been told that, but I assure you that we practice these standards in our dive and activities center each and every time.

I am pleased you enjoyed your private beach picnic (very romantic!) and your other activities. As you recall, you were traveling on a limited budget and I personally worked with you to make sure that you were in the top accommodation level by offering you free nights, a free mini bar, and also your free sunset cruise, 1 hour couple massage, private kayak trip to Bat Island and a romantic candlelight dinner on the pier with a bottle of your favorite wine, all complements of the resort. We hope that these memories will be the ones you remember, in years to come, about your honeymoon in Fiji.

Again, thank you for your comments, as they always help us to reassess, make changes, and continue to improve for the benefit of our amazing guests - most of whom comment about their unforgettable honeymoon in paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at Lalati in September 2013, we had never heard of Beqa island but thought we would give it a go. Best decision we have ever made. Everything was beyond our expectation the managers and staff were absolutely fantastic and made us feel part of the family. The daily happy hour always had a new cocktail and delicious Fijian snacks. The food was phenomenal , always fresh. I'm gluten intolerant and the staff baked fresh bread rolls, and made sure any meals I couldn't have were replaced with something just as delicious.
The snorkelling at the private beach was the best we have ever experienced, but also just out the front of the resort is exceptional.
The day spa is fantastic and the treatments available are extensive and amazing.
You can do as much or as little as you would like on the island.
It was absolutely the best trip we have ever taken and we hope to visit there again one day.
Ben & Steph

Room Tip: Stay in an ocean front villa- spacious and spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 966Steph30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatiowners, Public Relations Manager at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
YAY! So happy you selected Lalati Resort & Spa and Beqa Island. That was a giant leap for you - not knowing anything about our remote yet pristine island. And wonderful that you landed in a resort that exceeded your expectations!

The snorkeling trips are indeed phenomenal. So much to see, that you could spend a week and still not even experience half of what there is. I'm always a bit amazed by just slipping on a mask and snorkel and sliding into the water from the resort pier. So close, yet such a variety of colors and life, right outside your door, and free! When I visit Lalati I try to do this every day. Exhilarating!

Happy that your gluten-free options were equal to our regular cuisine offerings. The management works hard on menus for our guests with dietary restrictions, so it pleases us that it all worked out well for you.

Thank you for taking time out to share your opinions, stories and experiences. We all know how busy life becomes when you board that plane for home, and the reality of "civilization." We are so blessed with amazing guests who take a pause to write on Trip Advisor. All the management and staff of Lalati wish you an Isa Lei - which means we will surely meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We recently spent our Honeymoon at Lalati. From the moment we stepped on the dock we began to relax and feel at home. All of the staff were so friendly and accomodating from the outset. Within a couple of days we were all on a first name basis which was a nice personal touch. We soon felt as if we were holidaying with a group of old friends.
The food was beautiful and fresh each day with a good range on the menu. The breadfruit chips and Fijian popcorn are worth the trip as well!
The beauty of Lalati is that you can choose how active you want to be each day. If you like to relax by the beach or in your hammock its a very good place to do it! If you like to snorkel or dive, the marine life is spectacular. We completed our dive certification whilst staying at the resort. Our "Super-coach" dive master was Sabine. Both Sabine and Josiah are passionate about diving and their knowledge of the local species is immense. They really enhanced our whole holiday experience. The mountain trek and the village visit were great activities and a good opportunity to learn more about Fijian customs and history. Thank you to everyone at Lalati for making our honeymoon so memorable. We will see you all again soon. Geoff and Yvette

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pineville05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatiowners, Public Relations Manager at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
So happy your trip to Lalati Resort & Spa was all you expected it to be. Our Manager, Sue, wanted me to express our thanks to you for donating the lovely school books about native Australian wildlife to the island school. It was much appreciated and we are sure that the children will be fascinated.

CONGRATULATIONS on completing your dive certification. Now you must return to Lalati on a dive holiday! This certificate is something that will stay with you for life, and I agree, our amazing dive managers make it easy. Once you are a diver, your life is never the same. And the diving at Beqa Lagoon is simply magic. We are so pleased you took the plunge, so to speak.

Thank you for your kind words, and a big Vinaka Vaka Levu for sharing your special honeymoon with us. We are humbled by our wonderful guests, who allow us to be a part of their lives, if only for a brief period of time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beqa Island
3.0 mi away
Beqa Lagoon Resort
Beqa Lagoon Resort
#1 of 4 in Beqa Island
455 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
906 reviews
10.2 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
628 reviews
23.8 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
476 reviews
6.5 mi away
Royal Davui Island Resort
Royal Davui Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Royal Davui Island
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalati Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalati Resort & Spa

Property: Lalati Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 461, Beqa Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Beqa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beqa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lalati Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning all inclusive resort. Lalati Resort & Spa sits on the edge of a protected bay in Beqa Lagoon, with world class snorkeling and diving just steps outside your door. Standard Cottages, Deluxe Villas, Premium Deluxe Honeymoon Villas and Superior Honeymoon Suites offer comfort in a Fijian-style elegance and full amenities. Kayak, trek, snorkel, scuba dive, surf, wakeboard, tube ride, SUPs, zipline, village safaris, and the famous firewalkers, all within easy reach. It's where you find the Soul of Fiji! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lalati Resort And Spa
Lalati Hotel Beqa Island
Lalati Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing