We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 nights in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lalati Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beqa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“5 nights in paradise”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Spent 5 nights at Lalati in September. Had a fabulous time. This is a small boutique resort perfect for a complete getaway for couples. My husband and I found the staff exceptionally friendly and the service was great. It was nice at the end of dinner to return to your bure to find the bed turned down and a mosquito coil lit. Yes there are mosquitios but nothing that Aeroguard repellent couldn't handle. The meals were incredible, especially when you consider you are on an island that is not highly populated! The snorkelling was amazing and whilst the resort is on a tidal beach this did not detract from its beauty. I would recommend this resort to any couple that wants some relax time. There are plenty of actiivites if you wish, it is the place to do as much or as little as you choose.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatiowners, Public Relations Manager at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
So happy you got to unwind and relax at Lalati Resort! I am equally happy you mentioned activities and snorkeling. Many guests feel that if they travel to a Beqa Lagoon resort, there is nothing to do but dive. Happy you mentioned other activities as there are many (and snorkeling is great!), and of course, a bit of relaxation and rejuvenation never hurt anyone on vacation!

Thank you for the compliments!

Susan, Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    59
    27
    26
    18
See reviews for
24
290
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Lalati Resort & Spa – Bequ Island - September 2012.
What a wonderful escape. With just a handful of delightful bures (Fijian cottages) located on the beach of a small inlet on Bequ Island; this boutique resort is nearly the perfect getaway. While the larger island of Viti Levu is visible in the distant background (a 30-minute boat ride away), the other side of the inlet with its rich green hillside is always there to frame the near perfect views. Despite its isolation, they have most everything you need. Electricity is 24/7; there’s a PADI Dive Center on property; a full-featured spa; a nice swimming pool & hot tub combo and a great open air bar/restaurant combo. There’s no TV, but you can get WiFi internet service (only at the bar where there’s no extra charge for the million-dollar view).

Despite these conveniences, you are really remote and that’s what makes Lalati special. If they are completely full; you’ll still have only a dozen couples dining at any given time. That’s another great Lalati feature; depending on your package, just about everything’s included: three meals a day (not a single one a buffet); nature hikes, cultural demos, snorkling, kayaking, etc.
As an active diver, having a complete dive center with no crowds was an unexpected treat. One dive you don’t want to miss is their Shark Dive. This is actually hosted by a Pacific Harbor shop (Bequ Adventure Divers), but you’ll do it with your divemaster from Lalati. This means that when Bequ shows up with a cattle boat filled to the max; you can make the same dive on a much larger boat with far fewer divers (I did mine with just one other—perfect!) The sharks are large and plentiful, and surrounded by hundreds and hundreds other fish attracted by the show. In addition to a non-cage shark dive; there were several other surprises about diving in Bequ Lagoon. Visibility was good, but not great. I was expecting 150’+, but most dives were about 75’ feet. This is due to the shallow nature of the lagoon and the tidal exchanges (that’s why surfers love the place). The air temperature was always great, but the water was just 77°F to 79°. This meant I traded my shorty 3mm for a full length 3mm. The plus was that the marine and invertebrate life was world class: great soft corals, ribbon eels, every variation of Nemo; specie after specie of butterfly fish…and so on. I’ve dived almost everywhere and this was one of the best spots (even without the incredible shark dive).

Getting to Lalati is interesting. It’s a 10 ½ hour flight on a 747 from LAX to the airport in Nadi. Then you’re in a van or taxi for 2 ½ hours getting from the west to the east shore of Viti Levu (Pacific Harbor). Then, it’s a half hour boat ride south to Bequ Island and the resort. The travel is pretty exhausting; but they restore your sense of adventure by welcoming you on the dock with songs, coconut water cocktails and an individual warm water foot massage (why hasn’t the Hyatt thought of this!).

You’d think that the isolation would make a week visit seem too long. However, there was always something new to do: a medicine walk, coconut demo; waterfall hike, etc. The village tour is a must, although probably not what many would expect. Drinking kava is also different (where else can you experience muddy water that makes your tongue go numb?) Maybe it’s the kava, or maybe it’s the weather, but no matter their circumstance; every Fijian we encountered was warm and friendly and quick to say “Bula.” Everyone we met from guests to staff all seemed to be having a great time at Lalati, and that included three different honeymoon couples. Some staffers that were exceptional were Sela; Atu; Chantal, Raj, and Brad (the resort owner who was visiting to do some upgrades). The dive staff also did a great job including the boat captains Paul and Josiah and instructor Ian Brown.

The oceanfront bures should be your first choice, but there’s nothing wrong with the hillside cottages either. All are clean, large, completely screened and feature nature’s air conditioning supplemented by fans. If you forgot your bug spray, the mosquitos can be annoying outside; but they seemed non-existent inside the cottages.

In summary, this is a nearly perfect resort if you're seeking a real taste of non-tourist Fiji, some relaxation and lots of tall stories to tell you friends. Bula.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the oceanfronts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BuddyF441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatiowners, Public Relations Manager at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you Buddy - for taking the time to write such a complete review of Lalati Resort & Spa. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us, and appreciate the authentic, "real Fiji" flavor of our island resort. Beqa Island and Beqa Lagoon are truly magical, and glad you had the time to dive and relax - all during the same vacation!

One quick correction - the Great Shark Encounter we attend is hosted by Aqua Trek, not Beqa Adventure Divers. Wanted to be sure to clarify that for future guests visiting us.

Vinaka Vaka Levu - Susan, Marketing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I went to Lalati in May 2012 for our honeymoon. We had a great time; it was very relaxing, peacuful, and tranquil. The staff were very friendly and the food was amazing. The only issue we had, was that it poured rain for 24hrs straight! Not the hotel's fault, but the only kink in our otherwise perfect time.

I wanted to let you all know how helpful the staff was. My wife and I met a 1 year old cat that was born on the island, who was hanging around our hut. He was very clean and friendly, so we let him hang out with us. He was our new best friend and was always waiting on the porch for us when we got back.

Well, we missed him so much when we got back to the U.S.,that we inquired with the resort manager, Kirsti, on adopting him. To make a 3 month story short... Kirsti put me in touch with a Vet in Suva where I worked out and arranged payment for vaccinations and boarding for a few weeks. Kirst brought "Felix" to the vet via boat and car. The Vet looked after him, fed him, gave him his shots and arranged the transport to the airport and the air cargo shipping arrangements for him.

We finally got him on September 4. We picked him up at the airport after his long flight. He was a little jet lagged, but once he got to our home, he recognized us (I think) and he was happy as can be. We absolutely love him and its such a great honeymoon story to tell everyone.

Big thanks to Kirsti and the Lalati folks for arranging this for us and helping us adopt the orphan kitty from Fiji.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatiowners, Public Relations Manager at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
BULA Justin!

So happy you enjoyed your honeymoon with us at Lalati Resort & Spa. And we are tickled to see pictures of the cat happily ensconced in his new American home. I'm sure he's quite happy. And we agree - what other managers and staff would organize the exportation of a Fijian wild kitty to the U.S. It's just another example of how our great team goes above and beyond for our guests.

Thank you for sharing and give Felix a scratch behind the ears from his Lalati Resort family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I chose Lalati after researching many different options. We do not like touristy places that are crowded and busy, and were looking for a place where we could ultimately relax and unwind in order to get away from the stresses of everyday life.
Lalati is on Beqa Island- a small island off the coast of the mainland Fiji. We flew into Nadi airport and Lalati transport picked us up and took us 2 hours down the coast to a boat. The boat takes you the rest of the way (30 minutes) to the smaller Beqa Island.

When we arrived, we were greeted warmly by the staff and shown to our rooms. After we got settled we were pretty much on our own. We always had plenty to keep us occupied and were never bored. A typical day for us was breakfast followed by kayaking, snorkling, napping, reading, or resort coordinated activities. For a truly wonderful and eye opening experience if you are at Lalati on a Friday, make sure you do the village tour. The local Fijians are some of the warmest and most welcoming people we have ever met.

Having now been to Lalati, my husband and I find many of negative reviews to be unfair, and in our opinion, are due to people not properly doing their research regarding the type of resort they are looking for. Lalati is a place to go to in order to relax, unwind, and to enjoy the view. If you are looking for a place where you can lay in the sand, swim up to beach bars, and party at night then this is NOT the place for you. However, if you are looking for a place where you can just get away from it all and forget all your worries and cares, then we recommend Lalati.

Yes, Lalati has bugs...it is on small tropical island in the south pacific. Bring along bug repellant and you will be fine. The meals are coordinated and they were never a problem. They give you a choice between 2 options for both lunch and dinner. For breakfast you can choose from a wide variety. We were always full but had brought along snacks just in case. There is wifi in the bar area, and we found it to be a relief not be hassled by the constant need to check emails all the time. If that is your thing, however, you can still open up your laptop, sip a cold drink and enjoy the view anyway.

They do not have tv channels, but do have a tv and dvd player in the rooms where you can watch a movie (there is a selection in the main office to choose from). But we found we didn’t miss the TV at all. We loved Lalati, the staff was kind and accommodating, and the view remarkable. We will miss falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean waves lapping the shoreline. You may not be able to lay on the sand, but you can kayak to a beach to lay on, or lay out by the pool and catch some sun. Or laze in the hammock and take a nap. Watch the hermit crabs, kayak, snorkel, and dive, read, and just RELAX.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at Lalati for our honeymoon this past August for 7 days and had the best trip of our lives. Let’s start with the staff; everyone is so nice and made our trip. The staff knew us by name and we would always get a warm welcome when we went over to the dining area especially from the amazing Ala!! The scuba dive staff Zara and Ian were great; we did half our cert before we got to the island and finished the rest with Zara who made us feel totally comfortable and excited to continue our dive education.

There are so many activities to do we were able to fit them all in! Snorkeling right out in front of the resort was so nice; we brought our own gear (but they do have gear there) so we could just walk out into the water and explore! Great corals and fish everywhere you look! The Kayaks are available whenever you like and it a great way to spend the day. We weren’t able to do the tour because we wanted to do the shark dive so we made sure to get in some kayak time on our own. The shark dive was my favorite activity of the trip (bull sharks, nurse sharks, black tips, white tips, and silver tips) Ian and Zara where with us the whole time and we felt completely safe. The amount of fish and sharks is incredible and that it is in a shark sanctuary makes it even better! Our private island day was really cool, we were dropped off with lunch, drinks, chairs a little table and some cushions to lay on. We explored the island, snorkeled, ate lunch had hermit crab races and just chilled out and listen to music was a great day. The other activity that was really cool was the rum sunset cruise, we did this our first night on the island and it was a great way to start the trip and get to know the other guests.

The food was AMAZING as my husband kept saying he has never seen me clean more plates than we did there; the fresh muffins every morning at breakfast were always welcomed and a great treat on the dive boat in between dives.

We stayed in the beachfront honeymoon villa and it was everything we had hoped for. The room was very large; plenty of places to sit and relax the bed was very comfy, lots of closet space, the bathrooms was large and clean as well. we had a patio with chairs and a hammock and a private backyard area as well with a bed, waterfall, shower, and hot tub. We could open the shutters to look out onto the beach or keep them closed for more privacy.

We want to thank the entire staff, the two managers Kristi, Paul and of course Dog,

The hotel staff: Mary, Ala, Rush, Chantel, and Kula

Dive and activity staff: Zara, Ian, Louie and Paul

You all made our trip wonderful!! Thank you so much for everything

All the best
Jen and Sean

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdavin728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

what you see if definitely NOT what you get. the pictures on their website are totally deceiving. went their for honeymoon but regret it. the water was so dirty and it isn't even a proper beach. staff were rude and food isn't that great either. we went for 5 days but that was too long, got extremely bored as their were hardly any activities organised by the hotel. Would not rcommend this one. bad experience!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalatiowners, Owner at Lalati Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
So sorry to read that your honeymoon trip with us was not all that you dreamed it would be!

I had emailed you after you arrived back home, regarding some of the comments you made to our resort managers. You were told we had white sand beaches, and were looking for that “lay on the beach” experience. Like many resorts in Fiji, our beach is a tidal one – it disappears during high tide, and is fully exposed during low tide – the beach is there, but so are some rocks further beyond, as you know. However, there are other options, and a very lovely beach within a kayak distance from the resort. Staff will even pack a lunch for you so you can spend as much time as you want.

As for activities – did you go on a snorkel safari? Sunset cruise? Did you join a guide for a kayak to and around Bat island? Participate in a village tour, watch a village rugby game? Did you do the scenic mountain trek or the waterfall hike? Take a Discovery Dive or learn to handline fish the traditional Fijian way? If you were bored, a day kayaking through the island is unforgettable. There’s also the fun zipline tour and the white water rafting that we organize through the main island – or a Capital City Tour, a Jet Ski outing and more. Every day there is a schedule of activities in which you can participate. And after a day of activities, you can relax under the gifted hands of our spa therapists, who – guaranteed - will leave you totally rejuvenated. For your honeymoon, if you didn’t get a couples massage, or a signature Moonlight Massage, you were truly missing something!

As far as the pictures on our website, they were taken of the resort only a year earlier, and the resort has remained unchanged since. Nothing was brought in, or taken out, of the resort or room for the photos. There was no “smoke and mirrors” to capture our essence. Whilst the accommodations, food and resort photos were taken by a photographer, many of our activities, snorkeling and diving shots were taken by guests like you, who shared them with us.

Your opinions are, of course, your opinions, but you can see from the other reports by guests who stayed with us during the same time you were there, that they enjoyed their stay and did not find themselves misled by false promises. I will definitely go to bat for our staff, who are absolutely never rude. They are our biggest asset, warm, open and friendly, and will do anything for you – all you need to do is ask. If they can’t accomplish what you need, our outstanding management team can.

Again, we are truly sorry for your disappointment. As I had mentioned in my email to you, our Australian marketing director has chatted with your booking agent to clarify some points on which you were unclear, to be sure that all the agents paint a proper picture of Lalati Resort, and that our lovely guests depart with fond memories of their experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I recently had the great pleasure of experiencing the Fijian culture.In May / June 2012 we spent 10 wonderful days at Lalati Resort & Spa.On landing on the island we threw away our watches and lived the next 10 days on Fijian time,what an experience, no dead lines.This was my husband and my first time o/s,from the time we arrived on the island, to the day we left, we were treated as family.We cannot recommend highly enough the staff and management, nothing was ever a bother to them, from the preparation of special diets (Gluten Free) to recommending all the different cocktails to try - you HAVE to try the B52's- everyone was so friendly and did their utmost to ensure that our stay was something to remember.
From snorkeling,fishing,hiking ( the list goes on,) our guide for the day did their utmost to ensure we experienced the most enjoyment possible. The accommodation was immaculate and well presented,the food was something to die for, so many choices considering the remoteness of the resort, a lot of thought had gone into meal preparation,the cooks are amazing they would give some chefs a run for their money.
I would highly recommend a visit to this wonderful resort. The treatment we received has encouraged us to travel further afield,But no matter what, we will be returning - look out Lalati

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beqa Island
3.0 mi away
Beqa Lagoon Resort
Beqa Lagoon Resort
#1 of 4 in Beqa Island
456 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
908 reviews
10.2 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
629 reviews
23.8 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
478 reviews
6.5 mi away
Royal Davui Island Resort
Royal Davui Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Royal Davui Island
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalati Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalati Resort & Spa

Property: Lalati Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 461, Beqa Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Beqa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beqa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lalati Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning all inclusive resort. Lalati Resort & Spa sits on the edge of a protected bay in Beqa Lagoon, with world class snorkeling and diving just steps outside your door. Standard Cottages, Deluxe Villas, Premium Deluxe Honeymoon Villas and Superior Honeymoon Suites offer comfort in a Fijian-style elegance and full amenities. Kayak, trek, snorkel, scuba dive, surf, wakeboard, tube ride, SUPs, zipline, village safaris, and the famous firewalkers, all within easy reach. It's where you find the Soul of Fiji! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lalati Resort And Spa
Lalati Hotel Beqa Island
Lalati Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing