We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel with good restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ViaVia Cafe Ayacucho
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ayacucho
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel with good restaurant”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Just got back from Ayacucho, and was very happy with our accommodations at Via Via. The room(Sarhua) was spacious and the bed quite comfortable. Not noisy at all, and a wonderful location right on the central plaza. No complaints at all!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonDCLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    98
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
35
60
20
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

After spending three nights in a small village with no hot water or shower, we felt like we were in heaven. ViaVia Cafe is a nice hotel and a very good restaurant located right on the Plaza de Armas. Our room was very comfortable and clean and the shower was wonderful. We did get a lot of noise from the restaurant guests as they were leaving but the restaurant closed at 10:00pm and the rest of thee night was very quiet. I would surely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMNMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

PROS
The best possible location in town.
Food is very good vs the rest of Ayacucho.
Owners will do whatever they need to make your stay comfortable.

CONS
The building structure allows every noise to be amplified.
The bathroom is a problem (toilette and shower). Lots of hot water though.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1971GGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Cafe VIA VIA Ayacucho We stayed here October 2013 130 soles per night. We were on the ground floor and the room was clean, large with a small courtyard attached. The bed was comfortable and the wet area was clean and spacious. The television was a good size. We had a WD Media player which we could attach and watch our own movies by choice. We could converse in Spanish but there was some English spoken there. The restaurant was upstairs and you could view the plaza from the verandah, if you wished to brave the cool air. It was very popular considering it was not easily accessible as you have to walk through a passage then up the stairs. The food was well presented and the continental breakfast was filling. We spent 4 days acclimatising with the high altitude and walking the streets looking for handicrafts.

Room Tip: We were lucky the room we had was quiet on the ground floor and under the archway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallbanger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I did not sleep there. I just dined at the restaurant.
They have wi-fi. Nice, diverse, menu. Traditional food from the region, "international" options, and also new versions of old dishes with local ingredients. They also have smoothies and fresh, healthy juices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
266 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The rooms are well designed with very good beds, nice decor and passable showers. The restaurant staff are very pleasant and the restaurant/ bar area is nicely laid out with great views of the plaza. It would be even better if it were not for of dirty glasses and dishes piled high on the bar - very off putting

What really lets this place down is the noise. We were in the. Africa room and the noise was intolerable and caused by a number of factors:
1. The kitchen staff start preparing for breakfast around 6.00. The first thing tey do is turn on the music - loud" we could here this in our room accompanied by the sound of plates being cleared.
2. Other guest and, it seemed restaurant users, congregated right outside our room by the water cooler which was used as a meeting place for guests and staff and as a place for people to make phone calls. I had to ask people to move away several times.
3. The music from the restaurant was way to loud in the restaurant AND in our room. This continued until around midnight when it was replaced by the sound of staff clearing up VERY lLOUDLY Totally unacceptable.

When I emailed the Hostal to book I specifically asked for a quiet room. I reiterated this request on arrival and was assured that the room was quiet. Clearly I was misled to put it mildly!

If they could sort out the noise issue this would be a decent place to stay and is one of the better in Ayacucho. If I returned, I would definitely stay somewhere else for a decent nights sleep.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you value peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crellston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViaVia A, General Manager at ViaVia Cafe Ayacucho, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

We apologize for the inconvenience.
As our hotel is set in a historic monument and also offers a high-quality restaurant, we cannot guarantee absolute silence throughout the day. We do strive for maximal tranquility during daytime and even more so during the night.

Regards,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
170 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

If they give you one of the Rooms in the back (as named above) either request another or switch hotels. From 6 am on the staff clomps up the wooden stairway to the laundry above the room. You also get to hear noise in the plumbing. If I had been able to sleep more than 6 hrs I would give a better rating. Hot water and wifi are good, the included breakfast is in the nice cafe (eggs, fresh juice, coffee, chaplas).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViaVia A, Manager at ViaVia Cafe Ayacucho, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Miss,

We apologize for the inconvenience. Measures have been taken to reduce any disturbing noises. We will be very glad to offer you a different room upon your next visit.

Regards,
ViaVia Cafe Ayacucho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayacucho hotels
0.4 mi away
Real America Hotel
Real America Hotel
#6 of 13 in Ayacucho
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
DM Hoteles Ayacucho
DM Hoteles Ayacucho
#4 of 13 in Ayacucho
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Misky Samay
Hotel Misky Samay
#5 of 13 in Ayacucho
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Internazionale Hotel Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Sierra Dorada
Sierra Dorada
#9 of 13 in Ayacucho
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#8 of 13 in Ayacucho
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ViaVia Cafe Ayacucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ViaVia Cafe Ayacucho

Property: ViaVia Cafe Ayacucho
Address: Portal Constitucion 4 | Plaza de Armas, Ayacucho, Peru
Location: Peru > Ayacucho Region > Ayacucho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ayacucho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ViaVia Cafe Ayacucho is where everybody feels at home. Restaurant, cafe and hotel with Peruvian and International style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your ViaVia Cafe Ayacucho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing