We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Ayacucho”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ViaVia Cafe Ayacucho
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ayacucho
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Ayacucho”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. We especially liked having meals on the balcony overlooking the Main Plaza, and ViaVia is the only hotel on the Main Plaza. The included breakfast was good and hearty enough to get us through until lunch. We also had dinner here two of the nights of our stay and both meals were good.

Our room was quiet and clean. The decor was a bit sparse and the pillows were very lumpy but all-in-all everything was fine. It's not a luxury hotel but it works.

I would recommend Via Via to anyone looking for a mid-range hotel with a great location in Ayacucho.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    98
    26
    6
    7
See reviews for
34
59
20
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for three nights. Rooms are cozy and clean. Good (free) WIFI internet. Service is very good and very friendly. Staff is very committed.
Food is clean and tasty. Good menu, lots of choices, if the supply of fresh ingredients is not cut!
For the vegetarians amongst us: I visited the VIA VIA hotels in Indonesia, Argentina and Belgium and they always had a large vegetarian menu, which wasn’t the case in the Ayacucho Hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the hotel (Costa for example) are more quiete but have no WIFI access in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Via Via Cafe and Hotel for three nights while exploring Ayacucho. After seeing the reviews, we were excited to stay there, but our experience wasn't great. I should mention that we arrived without reservations, though I had sent an email to them ahead of time. Also, they were doing some painting and remodeling during our stay.

Pros:
Location is perfect
Quiet rooms
Great food in the restauant

Cons:
The lights in the Australia suite were abysmal. There were two lamps hanging from the ceiling with very dim lights. Luckily we had brought headlamps which we had to use to get around the room in the evenings. There were also no reading lamps near the bed, so headlamps helped out there.

There is a free breakfast but if you want another cup of coffee, it costs 4 Peruvian soles, about $1.50. This was a total ripoff, the cup was only two-thirds filled. In every other hotel on our trip through Peru acne Bolivia, we never encountered a hotel that charged for the second cup of mediocre coffee.

They advertise that they have staff which speaks English, but we didn't find this to be the case.

Overall, not a bad place to stay but they could tweak a few things and improve it a lot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherylb1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViaVia A, General Manager at ViaVia Cafe Ayacucho, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for your justified remarks. The issues mentioned have been addressed in order to improve our guests' experience. The lights concerned have been intensified and our coffee's quality and quantity enhanced.

Hoping to welcome you again.
ViaVia Cafe Ayacucho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

A beautiful renovated colonial building in the city centre. From the terrace you get a really nice view at the main square and the surrounding mountains. Every time I come there the service is excellent. Every room is decorated in a specific theme, with good beds and really good showers (not always an evidence in Peru). Whatever question you have (concerning ViaVia or tourismwise) the staff and owners will be happy to help. Try some typical plates like lomo saltado, anything with trucha and, of course, a Pisco Sour and you're in for a lovely evening at the ViaVia terrace!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Els B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed here for several days, it's a very friendly and cosy place, delicous food, a nice view over the plaza. The rooms are spacious, very comfortable and clean. I would definitely recommend this hostal.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfclaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

A superb location right at the main square with a great view on the surrounding mountains. A wide variety of delicious dishes and tasty drinks, in a nice atmosphere (try the frappucino).
Superfriendly owners and staff.

Worth spending a couple of days, or passing by for a nice evening out...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdeparcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have stayed already a couple times in the Via Via hotel in Ayacucho and it is always a wonderful experience. The rooms are very clean and cosy, the view from their terras is amazing and the owners are sooo friendly people!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamita_Helmita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayacucho hotels
0.1 mi away
DM Hoteles Ayacucho
DM Hoteles Ayacucho
#3 of 13 in Ayacucho
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Real America Hotel
Real America Hotel
#5 of 13 in Ayacucho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Misky Samay
Hotel Misky Samay
#4 of 13 in Ayacucho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sierra Dorada
Sierra Dorada
#11 of 13 in Ayacucho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valencia Ayacucho
Hotel Valencia Ayacucho
#13 of 13 in Ayacucho
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Internazionale Hotel Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ViaVia Cafe Ayacucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ViaVia Cafe Ayacucho

Property: ViaVia Cafe Ayacucho
Address: Portal Constitucion 4 | Plaza de Armas, Ayacucho, Peru
Location: Peru > Ayacucho Region > Ayacucho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ayacucho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ViaVia Cafe Ayacucho is where everybody feels at home. Restaurant, cafe and hotel with Peruvian and International style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your ViaVia Cafe Ayacucho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing