We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One ocean facing Moai, at the feet of Mount Terevaka.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ahu Akivi

Ahu Akivi
Book In Advance
More Info
$200.00*
and up
Private Easter Island Full-Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Wuustwezel, Belgium
Level Contributor
176 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“One ocean facing Moai, at the feet of Mount Terevaka.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

On a big Ahu, 7 Moai await you while overlooking the ocean. These are the only inland Moai that look towards the Pacific Ocean. It's a very sacred place, as the statues are astronomically aligned. Very easy to find, and can be combined with a hike to the top of the island.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoelR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    107
    21
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Awesome moais - spectacular sight.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

These were my favorite moais. I preferred them to Ahu Tongariki for their number and simplicity, I guess. Are these seven moais (explorers) really looking towards the sea or looking towards their home in the West? We'll never know but the sight will remain with you forever.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dukkar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Inland platform with 7 Moais”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

About halfway from Hanga Roa on the shorter road to Anakena stands the seven seemingly seaward-facing Moais, (they actually faced the tribal village), which were the first ones restored and re-erected by William Mulloy in 1960. It is estimated that these Moais were originally carved and emplalced, in the 1400's.

Among other sites, these Moais are aligned with the rising sun on the spring and autumnal eqinoxes, another example of the

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
574 reviews
257 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Great in Combination with Rano Kau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

There's not a lot to see on Easter Island, although what there is is top notch. Akivi is a secondary moai grouping with just 7, but it's positioning is different. We learned many people combine this and Rano Kau on a half day tour on the day of their arrival, saving the next full day for the better known sites.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kairho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Berlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Inland Moai - Not Visited Much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We went there twice - once via horseback and another time on our own. Both times, we had the entire place to ourselves. This is the only Moai on the island that is inland (not by the sea) and faces outward to sea. These are very special Moais related to the seasons and well worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank zepned44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ahu Akivi also viewed

Easter Island, Chile
Easter Island, Chile
 
Easter Island, Chile
 

Been to Ahu Akivi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing