We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ahu Tahai

Ahu Tahai
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Tahai, Orongo and Rano Kau Half-Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
West Berlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Sunset Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We went there for the sunset and it was all that it was supposed to be. I wish we had also gone during other times of the day to get some great pictures of the Moai. At sunset time, all our pictures came out very dark but in the day time, the sun would have fallen directly on the Moai's face for better pictures. So go for the sunset AND also for some time in the morning. Walk around the area and walk behind the Moais for some great views of the ocean.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank zepned44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    129
    15
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
483 reviews
214 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Photos at sunset, wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

So close to the main street and so easy to get to. Go several times to see the Moai in the different lights.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
864 reviews
578 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Another wonderful place to see, check out at sunset!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Five moais stand in this area, a nice walk from the middle of town! Looks over the vast ocean behind them!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tammyBaltimore_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
717 reviews
307 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“Popular to Those Who Want To See The Sunset.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We took a taxi cab on our first day to see the sunset. We thought that we would not see many people. We were wrong. There were lots of people with the same idea and their cameras all propped up. However, we were disappointed. the sunset was not that great. It was a scenic area, though.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELdglobenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Moai with experimental eyes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Beautiful view, start the exploration of the island from here and the museum nearby to educate yourself before moving on to other sites!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Squith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ahu Tahai also viewed

Easter Island, Chile
Easter Island, Chile
 
Easter Island, Chile
Easter Island, Chile
 

Been to Ahu Tahai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing