We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Island by Cruise ship”

Rapa Nui National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Easter Island Moai Archaeology Tour: Ahu Akivi, Ahu Vinapu and Puna Pau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The landscape of Rapa Nui, the indigenous name for Easter Island, is an eerie exhibit of ancient cultural remnants of an abandoned desert-dwelling people.
Rimouski
Level Contributor
161 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Easter Island by Cruise ship”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

First trip I got to really rest because you have four days at sea between different islands such as Pit Cairn, Robinson Crusoe Island and others. Cruise starter In Val paraiso chile and finish 21 days later in Papeete Tahiti.

Very impures send by the Island, it's history, and thé Islanders were very welcoming. In the quarry were the Moies were sculpted, I felt like I had gone back In Time. Breath taken by all That I Saw.

A major ten plus plus

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichelineRimouski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    882
    114
    14
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
somewhere
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Unlike many other EI visitors, I did not make any deep research before my trip. Just wanted to get my 'natural' impression first and only after that to hear all legends and theories. Well, it worked perfectly for me! The island is magical - absolutely incredible combination of natural beauty with mysterious Moais. And beautiful, beautiful horses living their lives freely all around the island.
I liked this site a bit more than the others - probably because of its location and must say that it is beautiful at any time of the day. I kept returning there so saw it in sunset and sunrise and during the day. Spectacular!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SomewhereTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
459 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Beyond my already high, expectations”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

In the interest of full disclosure, I have been totally absorbed by this place for 25 years. I have read and watched everything I could about Easter island over this period of time. With that said, finally getting to the place had me full of trepidation as I was expecting a let down

No let down. Quite the opposite. No video or photograph does justice to this place. I had one of the best guides you could imagine ( Natalie or Natty ) from Mahinatours through the Hanga Roa hotel. She was incredibly knowledgable and went as deep or as shallow on any aspect as needed. It helped that she is Rapa Nui, her husband is a Rapa Nui historian and her father a wonderful local sculptor. Make sure you have a reputable guide as it will bring everything about the island to life.

The park occupies 43% of a 65 square mile island. There are many ways to get around. There are 887 Moai but less than 200 on Ahus and even less, standing. Don't rush straight to the Moai. Your first stop should be the small but well endowed local island museum. The 1 1/2 you spend there up front will make the visit that much more interesting and understandable.

You need the $60 ticket for Orongo and Rano Raruku ( the Moai quarry ). Spend at least 3 days on the island. I spent 4 and want to go back one day. While the Moai are the highlight, get into understanding the culture and life of the Rapa Nui. Simply fascinating.

I just had the most amazing four days in my life.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the most facinating places i have been so far”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

There are many interesting sites in the park and even though its possible to see all major sites in two days i would take a bit more time and enjoy it. Take a tour at the beginning to get some information but i would also recommend to rent a bike or jeep (depending on how much exercise you want to have) to expore less visited sites and go on your own pace. In general you can reach any point of the island and return within a day by bike without rushing...I rented a motorbike for 1 day and a bike for 2 days at Insular Rental and can only recommend it. Good equipment and very friendly and helpfull stuff. In other places you have to be careful because of scams. Here i had a flat tire and they didnt want to charge me for it...
Another hint: You need the national park ticket only for two sites: Orongu and Rano Raraku. You are only allowed to visit each site once with the ticket even though it is valid for five days.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Markus_Schober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I can't get enough of Moais”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

It is most marvellous to see such historical artifacts still half buried in earth in their "natural habitat", instead of a museum somewhere. Sure, this is partly due to the fact that there is not enough facility to preserve these thousand-year-old wonders, but its spectacular surroundings adds a great deal to the charm -- these Moais are charming. They seem to have such an innocent expression and an attitude all to itself. Unforgettable experience!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaisnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rapa Nui National Park also viewed

Easter Island, Chile
Easter Island, Chile
 
Easter Island, Chile
Easter Island, Chile
 

Been to Rapa Nui National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing