We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves it low ranking”
Review of O'tai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
O'tai Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Easter Island
Reviewed March 2, 2014

It would be simple to improve this hotel. Replace the room furnishings with something from this century or at least since 1950 and smarten up the breakfast.

On the positive side it's reasonably clean, well located, has a/c, pool and lovely gardens.

The breakfast is pathetic which could and should be fixed by tomorrow. As for the coffee it's just coloured water. Horrible

Our wifi only worked on the balcony, not in the room.

There's a laundry in the main street which is a fraction of the price of the hotel and does a first rate job.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobertJGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 307 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

The O'tai has 42 eooms spread out over a beautiful hacienda style motif. The flowers and foliage were superb. The walkways were manicured to perfection. My room was spacious. Floor, walls, ceiling and corners were hospital clean. The bed, bedding and towels were clean and clean smelling. Three stars means no TV, clock, radio, complimentary Wi-Fi, limited electrical outlets and some kind of gurgling through out the night. I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coled7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the lovely gardens and small pool. We were offered a welcome juice on arrival and the check-in was quick. Our room was a reasonable size, we had booked a double but there was an extra single bed in there too. There was a fridge and aircon and a safe. The bathroom was small but adequate. I immediately noticed there were left over soaps and open shampoo packets on the shelf in the shower, which housekeeping hadn't removed. The room was a bit old fashioned and the bedding looked old but it was comfortable. We had a small veranda overlooking the gardens and pool.

We went to breakfast the first morning at 9.45 (breakfast runs 8-10am). We only wanted coffee and cereal, but as we sat down with our bowls the lady running breakfast gestured at us and indicated we had to be out in ten minutes. I don't think I've ever been kicked out on the dot of breakfast closing before! We couldn't understand why as at 10am the lady still had numerous dirty tables to clear and the whole buffet bar to pack way. As it was, breakfast was a fairly limited affair- bread, sweet cereal, cheese, coffee, squash (no juice), tomatoes. We only went to breakfast twice during our stay, preferring to eat out instead.

Our air con stopped working mid-stay and our neighbours said they had the same problem. Eventually it came back on again. On the last day our safe stopped working but the hotel got it open for us. Twice we came back to the room and found the door unlocked after housekeeping had been in.

The best thing was the setting, the gardens are lovely and the little pool offered a refreshing dip. Surprisingly as the place felt quite full, the pool was never that busy; only ever a handful of people around it. There were always spare loungers. The gardener was a happy fellow who greeted us with a stream of jolly Spanish whenever we passed him. He was always busy in the gardens and it shows, they are beautiful.

The location is excellent and is the main reason to stay. It is right in the middle of Hanga Roa and only a minute or two from the seafront. Staying here gives you the option of going for a stroll and eating somewhere different every night; some other places we looked at staying were just a bit too far out of town. We particularly liked La Karena restaurant (end of the quayside at end of road), Te Moana was also nice, whilst Marau on the main road did excellent, huge pizzas. We hired a car from one of the hire places on main straight. It's an experience unlike with other hire cars - the 4x4 was battered all over and rusty in places but we didn't need anything better given how small the island is. We paid about 60,000 peso for 48 hours of car hire (about £70). "You hit anyone, kill anyone? No?!" was the only joke question the hire guy asked when we returned the car… the map they gave us wasn't great but there are only a handful of roads and it was easy to navigate. It gave us a bit more freedom and having seen the tourists being herded on and off the minibus tours, we were glad we took the car. (The tours seemed to follow the same route so e.g. they all turn up at Playa Anakena at the same time of the afternoon).

Lastly, we looked for a Easter Island guidebook before we left on holiday, but it was hard to find anything that wasnt just a Chile guide with a few pages on Easter Island tacked on. We bought "A companion to Easter Island" by James Grant-Peterkin once we arrived on the Island, recommended to us by a fellow traveller. We would definitely recommend if you are also struggling to find a guide - a travel guide but good for learning the history of the island too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinzofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here this past November. It's really in an ideal location to get a good feel for the island. It's located just a short walk from the restaurants on the Main Street as well as restaurants on the water front. And going out to the restaurants is a good way to get a better flavor of island life. You can also drop in a the grocery store to pick up water or the pharmacy to pick up sunscreen. There are nicer hotels on the island, but they are far enough away from town to discourage walking into town. And they have a " compound" feel to them. The gardens at the otai are very nice and the pool can be refreshing. Admittedly the rooms are pretty basic. But you're here to visit the island, not lounge in your room all day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We loved our stay here. Our expectations were low having read the reviews. It is a basic hotel, but we were strongly recommend for the location, close to town, restaurants, sea. And lovely tropical gardens and pool area with beautiful gigantic palms almost like the moias.
Breakfast is pathetic, service is limited to check in and out. So you are left to yourself in this beautifully manicured garden...complements to the gardener. Rooms are comfortable, well looked after, clean. Staff were prompt to resolve got water problem in the shower. We were reluctantly given a late check out by an hour. It is a great property that needs new management. However, we would stay here again, and recommend this place if you want peace and beauty and quick access to our favourite restaurant kaleta right on the water front.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sumatrastraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is where all the "big time" archaeologists stay when they come to RapaNua. Why? The owners are lovely, helpful local people; the rooms are simple but clean; the staff is lovely; the gardens are beautiful; the location is ideal; the price is right; the breakfasts are delicious. When I was there, I don't think a day went by without new guests arriving. They cater to small tour groups, too. This place came on a recommendation, but I was pleased and I think you will be, too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I was unfortunate enough to be given a room with a chipped and stained bath, broken wardrobe, no outside seating area and walls devoid of any embellishment. Non too clean either. I don't like seeing balls of someone else's dusty hair in the corners. The bed was made daily but that was all. All the airy chalet style rooms had some sort of outside seating area. A swimming pool but no towels or cushions on the chairs. Delightful gardens but noisy dog barking behind my room all night and some sort of loud music at 3 am.
Food good and staff helpful

Room Tip: Check there is a balcony and double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silversue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#4 of 16 in Hanga Roa
426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#7 of 16 in Hanga Roa
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Easter Island Eco Lodge
Easter Island Eco Lodge
#8 of 16 in Hanga Roa
357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico
Hotel Altiplanico
#9 of 16 in Hanga Roa
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'tai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'tai Hotel

Address: Te Pito o Te Henua s/n, Easter Island, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Easter Island
Price Range: $150 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — O'tai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your O'tai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Tai Hotel Easter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing