We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in Easter Island”
Review of Iorana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iorana Hotel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Easter Island
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good option in Easter Island”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Good hotel, with clean room, good facilities, well located (5 minutes from town by car, with a good view to the ocean). We stayed in the standard room, which is OK, although I would not advise for couples in honeymoon - prefer the more fancy rooms, which are bigger and better decorated. Te staff was incredibly helpful and attentive, even though we were the only guests they had during our stay (!!!).

Room Tip: If travelling for romance, prefer the fancier rooms; if not, the standard will do just fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FKann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    101
    75
    29
    27
See reviews for
46
118
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckand
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel itself is big and in a lovely setting but showing signs of age and lack of regular maintenance. Rooms small and ok but no windows and If ranch slider is opened in evenings Mosquitos invite themselves in. There is an ac that is efficient and noisy.

The staff and service leave a lot to be desired. If it haven't been for Karen we would give it a total thumbs down.

The meals were poor. No menus and very basic and expensive food. Fish that was so strong it almost walked off the plate and I'm sure I don t know what they did to that beef steak. Excellent place to eat if you want to a loose weight. A trip to town would be worth your while even, if like us you had prepaid some of your meals.
This hotel could be absolutely beautiful. Unfortunately it is not.

Room Tip: If you must stay here chose a room overlooking the water. It is drop dead beautiful and almost makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyAuckand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Easter Island hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Comfortable clean and quiet hotel. Food at restaurant was reasonable, don't be too late for breakfast though as bread selection becomes poor. 15 minute easy walk back to town, ok except when its really hot. Quicker than waiting for a taxi at times. Nice pool and beautiful view. Do the walk to the rock pool at bottom of cliff if keen for a swim as well. If not keen on walking, probably would prefer to stay closer to town and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel itself could use some updating. The cleanliness is lacking a bit as well, but we had the attitude that this is an island out in the middle of the ocean and basic comfortable was acceptable. The staff's friendliness and the views cannot be beat.
The on site restaurant is basic as well, food OK. After a couple days we started going into town for our meals. Taxi's are cheap and the front desk will call one for you as the walk to town is healthy. We rented a car for a couple days, but would not do it again. There are only 3 roads on the whole island.
I would stay here again if we ever find ourselves back on Easter Island, just because of the great staff.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean Front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My take the hotel's main forte is its location which I deem the best in Hanga Roa, close to the capes, caves and with wonderful sea-view. A little bit on the outskirts nonetheless it is within walking distance from the airport and Hanga Roa main street. The territory of the hotel is nice, well-kept and looked after. Yet the rooms are pretty worn out - we had to change our room due to leakage in the bath. The second room was better but also showed signs of heavy exploitation. The breakfast was quite OK although the choice of food was quite poor. I would recommend the hotel for its location, but generally do not expect a very good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms with side sea-view are better than with direct sea-view, as they are newer and more upscale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amk2f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were here for 6 days..... it isn't the most luxuriant but is clean, comfortable and has everything you could want on site..... restaurant (plain but decent tasty food), a bar, pool, great internet and WiFi (amazing!!!) and really delightful helpful and informed multi-lingual staff . It is an easy 10 minute walk into town, but taxis are only 2500 pesos ( £2 ish). Being a little out of the town center it is quiet, the night sky is amazing, and the view over the ocean from the restaurant and bar/pool area and most rooms is simply perfect.

Room Tip: there is a fridge in the room so stock up on bottles water etc from the garage/mini-mart down the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent-in-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The initial image of the hotel was biased by the fact that we had been booked into another hotel in the town and our booking had been changed without warning. Our original hotel had been in the heart of the only shopping area and now we had been driven the best part of a mile outside to a hotel whose worst aspect was the initial approach. The welcome was friendly and the room was of a good standard with quality tables and chairs together with folding chairs for use on the patio which was well shielded from other patios. The air conditioning unit was basic but efficient. The only failing was the bathroom which was cramped, crudely tiled and finished. Hot water was only available from 06.15 to Noon and 17.00 to midnight but this never caused us a problem and the water was genuinely hot during these times. The dining room faces West so in the evening there is full sun during dinner. For this reason it is better to sit away from the windows where the tables get hot. The view over the sea however is very tempting and the beautiful views as the sun goes down is a natural magnet to sit by the window. As part of the change of hotels we were given half board and all of the dinners were well cooked. Breakfast varied slightly from day to day depending on what was available to the hotel. All islands have transport problems for food and for one as isolated as Easter Island the variety of food available was very impressive.
Although in wet weather the heat in the dining room is not a problem heavy rain makes it difficult to get to reception as you cannot get from any of the rooms to reception under covered ways, and the tropical rain quickly soaks you.
The hotel has a pleasant lounge with TV and what always seemed to be an almost deserted bar. There are wooden sculptures throughout the public areas some of which seem quite bizarre. A small shop sells local crafts at very reasonable prices but if one improvement could be made it would be that it sold water and a few basic nibbles.
Outside there is a small pool and next to the sea is a natural pool in which the water is changed by the sea splashing into it. The position by the sea and the wide unbroken horizon makes up for the walk or taxi ride into town. We left the hotel pleased that our booking had been changed to it, proving how wrong first impressions can be.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank st8sman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#5 of 15 in Hanga Roa
439 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#8 of 15 in Hanga Roa
325 reviews
5.3 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 23 in Easter Island
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iorana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iorana Hotel

Property: Iorana Hotel
Address: Ana Mangaro S/N Hanga Roa | Ana Mangaro S/N Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Easter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iorana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iorana hotel located on Easter Island is a place to relax and recharge energy at any time of the year. The hotel offers two swimming pools, one in the beautiful and big garden and the other directly formatted in the sea rocks. Guests can enjoy beautiful sunsets from the chairs near the swimming pool. Hanga Roa center is 15 minutes away from the hotel and Rano Raraku volcano only at 3 km away. Rooms are decorated with wood and the floor is in ceramic. They include television, phone, a mini-bar and a view on the sea or on other wonderful landscapes. Every day, a buffet breakfast is served. The restaurant offers local and international specialties with media pension. At the 24h reception, you can book a transfer to the international airport Mataveri, located 1km away from the hotel, rent a bike to explore the island or reserve an excursion. We have 25 years of experience providing our services in a pleasant and familial atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Iorana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iorana Hotel Easter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing