We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel Iorana” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iorana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iorana Hotel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Easter Island
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel Iorana”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2008

Just returned home to the US from a 3 day stay with a group of our Chilean friends at the Iorana Hotel in Rapa Nui, Chile. This is a small, decent hotel, close to the Mataveri Airport and town with beautiful ocean views and adequate rooms.

The room we stayed in was considered a "Superior", but quite small and spartan by most "Superior" standards elsewhere. It was simply decorated with a queen size bed, ("cama familial"), air-conditioning, small table with 2 chairs, dresser, clothes closet, fridge (in closet), separate bathroom with bath/shower, (didn't notice smell of sewer) and, as other travelers have indicated, ants love this place, they were everywhere by the sink. The hotel provides hairdryer. Towels are ok, bathmat very small, needs replacement. The bedspread looks like it had seen better days. Since Easter Island is not a place one goes to watch TV you will note that the tv only has one viewable channel, in Spanish, of course. One of the receptionists speaks English, so shouldn't be a problem if you don't speak Spanish.

The restaurant was adequate. Had one late meal there on the first night, but not memorable. The breakfast buffet was ok but the staff was a bit grumpy at 9:00 a.m. We had to wait a while for coffee and eggs. Juices were very watered down, cereal was fine and so was the assortment of cakes and pastries. Ham and cheese is also served. This is a good deal as it is included in the room rate.

The nicest time of day here was at around 8:00 p.m. when we sat outside on our small balcony and had our evening cocktails with our group of friends while watching the sunset. You can also have cocktails on the terrace by the tiny (and cold pool) and watch the sunset from there as well. It is spectacular!

This hotel has a second pool at the bottom of a hill by the shore, it has salt water but it is somewhat difficult to access by a steep rough path. It would be nice if they made it easier to get to. Also, the hotel should check it out from time to time as there were empty water bottles and litter strewn around this pool. You have a choice of rocks or rubble if you want to sunbathe here, otherwise, climb back up to the pool deck and lie on the astroturf covering the ground there or on a deck chair.

This hotel is small, quiet and good value, if you aren't looking for the Ritz or Taj Mahal. Can't complain, this hotel was fine for a 3 night stay as we were rarely in our rooms.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelingmimi1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    94
    68
    27
    26
See reviews for
44
111
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2008

This would be one of the better establishments to stay in on 'Easter, clean, spotless and just a little out of the town, so nice and quiet. Great Breakfasts, which come with the room price. Lovely meals at night. We were happy here

  • Liked — The amazing swimming down at the foot of the cliff
  • Disliked — Have no problems
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fizz98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2008

Hotel Iorana is seriously letting down Easter Island and the staff who work in it.

The lady at the front desk was rude and when she realised we were not with an accompanied tour, she checked us into room 27, which was swarming with ants in the ceiling light, (see photo posted) and in the bathroom. It was shabby, run down, smelly, dirty and only had twin beds even though we had booked a Superior Double. (I am not unuse to discomfort having just spent 2 weeks travelling NZ in a campervan, but this was extremely bad)

We had booked a superior double in this hotel through Trailfinders who subcontracted it out to Journey Latin America who subcontracted it out to a tour operator ADSMundo based in Chile, we never ever met the tour representative in Easter Island. But thank goodness for James Grant-Peterkin who was happened to be our guide on a private tour he was really helpful in trying to sort it out even though this problem wasn’t his to deal with – by the way he is a fantastic guide with tremendous knowledge and enthusiasm for Easter Island. Sorry that I cant give you his details on this website :(

After we spoke to the office in Chile, we were moved to room 13, which was much better decorated and the bathroom had more updated fittings. It still had a sprinkling of ants even in the bed which apparently are a problem on Easter Island. We had no other choice but to accept the room as we were told there were no other rooms on the island. We realised later why the window in the bathroom is always open, the smell of sewage is so strong that it can keep you awake.

I think there are probably better rooms at the hotel, they did admit that room 13 wasn’t a Superior Double and that they didn’t have one for us as it was booked by a tour party, so if you are not on an accompanied tour where the guide knows which the good rooms are, you are then fobbed off with the worst rooms, and they don’t care because they know that there is such a shortage of hotel rooms and they have endless numbers of visitors to the island that stay a short time, there is nothing you can do about it.

Breakfast - I didn’t risk anything that wasn’t cooked i.e. I only ate the scrambled eggs as I was concerned about the cleanliness but everyone else was tucking in happily.

We had lovely meals out in the main street, the French restaurant by the Harbour and a restaurant funnily called Te Iorana! You must also try the best ice creams very popular with the locals at Mikafe next to the diving shop on the harbour. Cab fare back to the hotel was 1500 Chilean pesos.

James ensured that our visit to Easter Island was memorable and that we appreciated the island for all the good things it has to offer, Maohis and its natural beauty.

  • Liked — Nothing at all
  • Disliked — Every was bad
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonChiswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Easter Island hotels

College Station, TX
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2008

My wife and I spent almost 6 days at the Iorana Hotel. Our room was extremely comfortable; we had a small balcony with a spectacular view of the ocean. Carolina, the manager, was wonderful and helped, along with the great staff, to make our trip to Easter Island memorable. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We ate several meals at the hotel and found the food to be excellent. We would definitely stay at the Iorana when we return to Rapa Nui.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank AggieTraveler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santiago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

After reading the reviews, we were a little scared about the hotel our travel agent had booked but I have to tell that the people (owners and employees) were very nice and helpful; the rooms were just renovated and they were clean and you had everything you needed. The shower worked ok and the air conditioning also. The people in the restaurant were very nice and the food we ate there was great, much better than some restaurants downtown except from "La taverne du pêcheur": very good!

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank henrib2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2007

Funny that Iorana should actually mean good day. In Iorana we had none. We booked 3 days , got a dump and smelly room (not worth the price for sure) and were happy to leave for Gomero (book there if u can !!!) . The location is beautiful indeed, and the breakfast buffet was really ok - a real pity to see who is "managing" it (an unfriendly, snob, hysteric woman who has NO IDEA what customer service means) . I am sorry for the personnel, who seems to be forced to get her ok for every stupid little thing they are asked for. Definitively book somewhere else and enjoy Easter Island!

  • Liked — Location and breakfast
  • Disliked — manager and (not existent) service
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank donberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2007

We stayed for a week in November and enjoyed it. We are two discerning professionals (chartered accountant and psychologist); we travelled to Peru two years ago and were very comfortable here.

Carolina at the front desk and Eliza in the dining room were wonderful and made our holiday really relaxing. I saw some other reviews that were critical but we liked the management and staff. I think one has to treat others as you would like to be treated and be understanding if things are not to the Ritz Carlton standard. They are working in a very difficult environment (visit the barren supermercado in Hunga Roa) to provide a very pleasant holiday. They are also working in their second language and our Spanish was limited. If you do not expect Santiago or Toronto you will be very happy.

The hotel is renovating one wing of rooms for Christmas, but we had a very nice existing room overlooking the Pacific with good air conditioning and a very comfortable bed. The room was clean and the main difference from Canada was the floors were glazed tile and not hardwood. There were only two Spanish language channels on the TV but we did not come to watch "Desperate Housewives" on Easter Island!! The bar refrigerator was not in use so we stored our fruit juices and soft drinks and chocolate there.

To me, the hotel was like a northern Canadian lodge on a beautiful lake. You don't go for the hotel, you go for the surroundings. We stayed at the Marriott in Santiago and our junior suite there was nicer, but the Marriott is not on an island of just 4,000 people that is 2000+ miles from the Chilean coast on the most isolated island in the world with the best view of the Pacific.

Overall, this was the most pleasant hotel on the island as it has the best grounds and view (not in town by discos and not on the coast road with the motorcycles). The rooms were quite comfortable and the staff members were friendly. Each night we went to sleep with the seabirds and the surf and woke up to the same. The view from the rooms was outstanding and together with the famous moais, worth the five-hour flight from Santiago.

The restuarant view was beautiful, and the dinners were quite good. The dining room view was the absolute best on the island and one we will treasure for a long time. With the light wood decor, it looked exactly like a Muskoka lodge dining room done in birch and pine.

One evening my special friend had stomach cramps and the waitress very obligingly gave me a tray of toasted rolls and soup for her dinner in the room. We were charged only for the soup. We did not expect or want room service.

Some of the other restaurants on the island were equally nice, but the Iorana did a very good job. Eliza manages the dining room very well.

Breakfast was quite good with scrambled eggs, ham, cheese, two kinds of cereal, juice, coffee etc. together with papaya and pomegranet fruit salad, banana bread (three different varieties in one week - obviously with each baker's own flourish) and breakfast pastries that were quite tasty (the Rapa Nui lemon meringue tart was quite good).

Dinner and lunch menu was soup (try the asparagus), and entrees of fish, chicken with salad, sauteed vegetables, very good mashed potatoes, rice and for dessert quite nice crepes with ice cream. We are not beef eaters but beef was on the menu.

The shrimp sandwiches were great at lunch one day at 3:45 PM after we had been hiking. Officially, the kitchen was closed at 3:00 PM but we asked Hanna at the front desk to please call the kitchen and see if they could perhaps make an exception. They did and we were able to have sandwiches on the terrace overlooking the Pacific before our swim in the pool.

Given how far we were from the nearest restaurant supplier, we knew we were doing well. Also, Eliza let me see the kitchen; it is all gleaming North American stainless steel equipment operating on 220 volts DC. From past food-service assignments, I know major money had been spent getting that equipment in as Rapa Nui has no port and just a few container ships per year (with containers sent ashore by lighters).

It was also appreciated that the pool (shaped like Easter Island or Rapa Nui) was clean and it was very pleasant to sit outside and drink a Pisco Sour and enjoy the late November sun in this southern hemisphere paradise. The pool is NOT HEATED but it was quite refreshing after hiking up volcanos and visiting caves and moais!! The water temperature was mid to upper 70s F in the afternoon.

By the way, on checkout, I was happy that our bill was prepared and presented with the originals of every one of our signed chits attached so that I, as an accountant, knew we were correctly charged. Hanna was very professional

Could it be better? Yes, and we are sending a note to the owners, the Riroroko family, with some constructive comments (for example, an extra milk pitcher by the coffee so that one does not need to go to the cereal section for "cafe con leche" and bigger bath mats). But as we got on the LANChile flight for our return to Santiago, we both were happy and felt we had good value.

How would I rate the Iorana? If it was in the Muskokas north of Toronto it would be three stars. In Bermuda, another isolated island, we know well, it would be three stars +. In Rapa Nui I would rate it four stars.

We really enjoyed Rapa Nui and I just had lunch with a very senior colleague in my profession and suggested he and his wife consider Rapa Nui for a wonderful once-in-a- lifetime holiday. I also said that it they went, they should stay at the Iorana.

PS: I gather from Carolina and Eliza that in the rainy season, the island can be less than pleasant. We had two half-days of rain on one week. Check the weather and time your visit accordingly; even a great hotel has a tough time if the island's red volcanic mud is being tracked into the rooms and restaurant!!

PSS: On our last day we realized the hotel had a big flat screen TV in a lounge across from the office, but we do not know if it was satellite or just the local channels and some DVDs.

  • Liked — Beautiful iste and friendly management
  • Disliked — Small bath mats
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesGToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#7 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
4.3 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 23 in Easter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico
Hotel Altiplanico
#6 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iorana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iorana Hotel

Property: Iorana Hotel
Address: Ana Mangaro S/N Hanga Roa | Ana Mangaro S/N Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Easter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iorana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iorana hotel located on Easter Island is a place to relax and recharge energy at any time of the year. The hotel offers two swimming pools, one in the beautiful and big garden and the other directly formatted in the sea rocks. Guests can enjoy beautiful sunsets from the chairs near the swimming pool. Hanga Roa center is 15 minutes away from the hotel and Rano Raraku volcano only at 3 km away. Rooms are decorated with wood and the floor is in ceramic. They include television, phone, a mini-bar and a view on the sea or on other wonderful landscapes. Every day, a buffet breakfast is served. The restaurant offers local and international specialties with media pension. At the 24h reception, you can book a transfer to the international airport Mataveri, located 1km away from the hotel, rent a bike to explore the island or reserve an excursion. We have 25 years of experience providing our services in a pleasant and familial atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Iorana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iorana Hotel Easter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing