We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”
Review of Rano Raraku

Rano Raraku
Book In Advance
More Info
$200.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Easter Island Moai Monuments Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The island's famous moai statues were carved from the volcanic rock of this mountain and are scattered across its slopes in various stages of completion.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
505 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is the quarry where the mysterious stone statues (moais) were carved. It can't get more authentic than this. Some of the statues are upright, some are neck deep only, and a few, especially a very large one, are still on the ground, as if the carvers were still working on them. It is one of the most amazing sights on earth that I've ever seen. A must, if you are a world traveler.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,391
    116
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Berlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Moai Factory”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We spent quite a bit of time at the birthplace of the Moais. When we went, there were no groups in front of us and we had the place to ourselves and took some great pictures. Go with a private tour guide and take your time and visit each part of the factory. The Moais are plentiful and all so different. If you want nothing but Moais, this is the place. The view of Ahu Tongariki from here are spectacular. Bring a good telephoto lens to take some great pictures of Ahu Tongariki with the ocean and cliffs in the background. Don't forget to visit the kneeling Moai. Wear a hat and sunscreen - it gets really hot.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank zepned44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Moai Statues Are Awesome.”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Maururu Travel handled my three days visit to Easter Island. Their guide, Pedro, was well versed in his presentations and knowledge of the island's history and ecology. They presented a full day's tour which included a box lunch and then two half day tours the following day. They met me at the airport and settled me into the Hotel Otai. Transportation to many island moai locations was furnished. It is amazing how the people who lived on the island 500 years ago cut, moved and erected these colossual statues. They are well worth a visit when you are in the neighborhood.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank coled7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
353 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Didn't even know about this place”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is the quarry where the moai were carved, which I honestly didn't even know about until I got onto the island, which was a pleasant surprise. This place was awesome and when we were there with our guide, we were the only ones there, we had it completely to ourselves. The moai are amazing and the views our toward the water aren't too bad either.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ee978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
483 reviews
214 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“You can only enter once on your ticket so choose your time carefully.”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

What an amazing place. Not to be missed. And make sure to try and view the Aku Aku video by Thor Heyerdahl that runs in the cafe area. If the path is crowded just wait for the groups to pass by. Do climb up to the crater area, none of the groups go up there and it is beautiful. Spend a couple of hours there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rano Raraku also viewed

 
Easter Island, Chile
Easter Island, Chile
 

Been to Rano Raraku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing