We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Empanadas ever”

Empanadas Tia Berta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Great empanadas at a great price in Easter Island. The tuna and cheese is delicious.
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Empanadas ever”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We only found this place the last couple of days we were there(Feb.10) or we would have eaten there every day.No complaints,the food is excellent the service is not slow or fast but just takes the time necessary to prepare fresh empanadas.The price was reasonable considering you are in the middle of the pacific.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gil1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    233
    103
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Berlin, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Meal for Vegetarians on Easter Island”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Choices are limited for vegetarians on Easter Island but our guide highly recommended this place for cheese, corn, or veggie empanadas. On our second day on the island, we went for lunch and had empanadas, various fruit juices and fries. First impression was the size of the empanada which was huge - maybe this is an Easter Island thing. The taste was even better - maybe we were hungry but we all gobbled up our empanades in under 5 minutes and ordered 3 more to take back to our rented house for dinner. We came back the next day for one more meal and our inn-keeper even ordered some for breakfast on the day we left. Only drawback was that they do not accept credit cards.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zepned44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Fantastic empanadas”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Really excellent lunchtime stop. We had one cheese and tuna and one tuna empanada and they were terrific, beautiful pastry stuffed full and succulent. Cutlery would have made for a less messy meal! Washed down with lovely fresh fruit juices.
15900 Chilean pesos for two.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank herebedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best empanadas on Easter Island”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The atun-queso empanada is simply delicious, juicy and full of flavor. Others such as pino and pino&queso are also great. They serve a slightly spicy and yummy sauce on the side. Prices are reasonable (2500-3500 pesos chilenos for an empanada).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trivia_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor,Ontario,
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Local Food Locally Made”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

If Mom had been an Easter Islander this would have been her kitchen. Nothing to dislike. Empanadas, Eastern Island style, are not unlike those you find on Juan Fernandez Island but with a modestly greater variety.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NamutKwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empanadas Tia Berta also viewed

Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Easter Island, Chile
 
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 

Been to Empanadas Tia Berta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing