We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest hotell stays I have ever had!”
Review of Inaki Uhi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inaki Uhi Hotel
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I spent 6 days at this great hotell, I cant think of anything at all to put my finger on. The location is very nice, close to everything, bakery and supermarket is a 20 meter walk.

The rooms are clean and very nice, there is a area outside where you can sit and have your breakfast or a beer in the evening. It is a great place to meet other guests and just sit and talk.

What makes this place stand out in a major way is the manager Alvaro, he is a very nice guy that will make you feel at home from the day you arrive. Be sure to take atleast one of his tours, they are very relaxing and informative. The best thing is that he usually just brings a smaller group at the time, so you will not be member of a 15 person trip.

Great hotell,great location, feels like home, I did not want to leave!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trond-J-oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 149 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

The rooms here are simple and basic, but the stay is fantastic. It doesn't take long before it feels just a bit like home. Like others, I highly recommend that you take at least one of Alvaro's island tours. The hotel is very convenient, making a car rental an extra, not a necessity. There isn't a swimming pool, but who needs one when the beach and natural swimming pools are just minutes away on foot! There is a kitchen if you'd like to save a little money by making your own meals. Restaurants are nearby, as is the bakery and markets. Transportation to and from the airport is included, as is wifi. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101travelerNo_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I was traveling alone, and had only two days on Easter Island. Over the course of several excursions, Alvaro showed me and some other guests around the island and made sure we saw all the highlights...and some out-of-the way gems that only a native like Alvaro would know of. Alvaro's tours are relaxed, informative and convey the unique history of the island, the hotel is clean, quiet and comfortable (and next door to the bakery....try the apple turnovers!)...in short, this is the perfect place to stay on Easter Island!

Room Tip: All the rooms face a quiet courtyard...you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is ok, but the owners make it the best place you can stay. They personalize it and give personal tours amazing ley nice, friendly and let you see the Island throu their native original Way.
The hotel is located in the main street which males it even better to Go out, eat and a few stops from the kari kari folk dancing show which you should not miss.
Álvaro and his family are a Must meet in this Island.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liligliks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My partner and I recently spent three nights on Easter Island, and stayed at Inaki Uhi. We were greeted at the airport by Alvaro's dad, with some beautiful flower leis made by Alvaro's mother - what a nice way to start our special holiday here!

As some other postings have noted, Easter Island is one of the world's most isolated inhabited islands, so don't expect the same amenities that you would find elsewhere in the world. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Inaki Uhi, and also took advantage of arranging a full-day tour of part of the island with Alvaro - I would definitely recommend doing this tour through Alvaro, since he will tell you many interesting stories along the way - some of which may surprise you, in more ways than you can imagine!

The communal kitchens were very handy, since you can stock up on some food supplies, and therefore avoid having to eat out all the time. The owners, including Alvaro, are very customer-focused, and will glady help you out however they can. An example of this is when we mentioned that the shower faucet was dripping, and to our suprise, when we returned later in the day, the entired faucet had been replaced - no more dripping water!

The location of Inaki Uhi is excellent - within walking distance of everything in town, and a car rental agency almost directly across the street. We rented a car for a day, and revisited some spots that Alvaro had taken us to during his tour. Many of the roads are in poor condition, and most, if not all, of the rental cars are manual transmissions - so be prepared for an adventure.

Our visit to Easter Island was incredible - to see the Moai in person was very spritual and awe-inspiring. We are very fortunate to have had the opportunity to experience this wonder, and staying at Inaki Uhi made it even better. We'd definitely recommend this type of accommodation to others.

Room Tip: Make sure you try to arrange a tour with Alvaro! Also, stock up on some food supplies at the beginn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Comfortable, clean hotel located on the main drag of Easter Island.

Alvaro, the manager, also does small group tours which is great if you don't want to have your photos spoilt by a busload of people - we arrived at Rano Raraku just as some of the big groups were heading to the exit. Alvaro's english is also excellent, having previously spent a few years living in Sydney.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

First off, this is Easter Island, you are not going to find Western-level luxury anywhere on the island. So with that standard in mind, this hotel is all around best choice I think. For around $60 per night, I got a clean room with private bathroom. There is no TV or air conditioning, but the a fan and an open window you are fine. You get shared access to a full kitchen, which you may need because finding a restaurant that is open on the island sometimes is a challenge. The hotel is on the main street, a few doors away from several grocery stores, car rental, souvenir shops, restaurants, and just a few doors south on the opposite side of the street is a laundry service that charges by the pound, not by piece! Gas station is immediately south about 1-2 minutes drive towards the airport.

Alvaro Atan runs this hotel, and he is the best thing about it. Bless his heart, he had to come pick me up at the airport at 3 AM! Our flight was delayed, which is common on Easter Island bcause of strict rules on how many airplanes can be within a certain distance of the island due to limited emergency response abilities on the island and only one landing strip. Finally getting there 10 hours late, Alvaro was waiting, sleepy-eyed, but smiling with a flower necklace greeting. He gave me a quickie orientation driving tour of the main town in the middle of the night before going to the hotel so I would know where I was the next morning.

Room was adequate, not luxurious, but did have an outdoor sitting area for have my meals if I wanted to. Rent a jeep for one day, get started early, and you can do all of the sites all over the island in one day. Allow yourself one extra day in case you are sick or it is raining, you don't want to miss seeing the Maoi statues, it's whole point of going out this far into the Pacific.

Alvaro provides free Wifi, so you can upload your pictures to Facebook to fill your evenings before bedtime! Alvaro will help you make the cell phone calls also as your cell phone will work on Easter Island, just be prepared for huge charges when you get home. I didn't see anywhere to get a local SIM card, so maybe you can just communicate through email and Facebook and turn off the cell except for emergencies.

Some of the roads on Easter Island are a bit rough, so I recommend you get a jeep, not a car. You'll be doing some walking, so a hat, sunscreen, good walking shoes, and bottled water are recommended. You don't need a guide to see the island, everything is self-explanatory.

Alvaro reminds you to buy your ticket to the National Park at the airport immediately when you get off the plane, you'll save money over buying it at the park, and this is true. They give you an excellent map to the island when you buy your ticket, and that's all you need.

Good seafood restaurants near the boat launch, best selection and prices for souvenirs at Artesanias Feria in the center of town. Allow at least 3 days for your visit to Easter Island. One day to fly in, one day to see the statues, and one extra day as backup, which you can go to the beach with if you successfully see the statues on the first day. Then fly out on the fourth day. Daily flights from Santiago. Weekly flights from Lima, Peru. Season flights from Papette, Tahiti. No other way onto the island except by boat.

Room Tip: Take advantage of free Wifi, and use the laundry service nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vlichadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#6 of 16 in Hanga Roa
442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#8 of 16 in Hanga Roa
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Moenga Rapa Nui
Cabanas Moenga Rapa Nui
#12 of 56 in Hanga Roa
57 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cabanas Rapa Nui Orito
Cabanas Rapa Nui Orito
#10 of 92 in Easter Island
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inaki Uhi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inaki Uhi Hotel

Address: Atamu Tekena s/n, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Easter Island
Price Range: $114 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inaki Uhi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the main street, near shops, pubs, restaurants, services and much more. We offer 15 rooms with private bathrooms, hot water and cleaning services. We also have a fully equipped kitchen that you can use to prepare your own meals (5 kitchens in the complex with all utensils, fridge, stove, cutlery, tea, coffe, sugar ,etc) We can coordinate vehicles for rent, boat trips, horse-riding trips, scuba diving and fishing trips and traditional dance shows. We look forward to welcoming you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inaki Uhi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing