We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating Island!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Easter Island
Certificate of Excellence
US
Level Contributor
79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Fascinating Island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2009

My husband and I spent New Year's Eve at Explora on Easter Island. There is much more to the island than just the massive stone heads…. theories about how they were carved and moved, their meaning and the lifestyle of the people who made them is fascinating. Three to four nights is plenty to see everything.

Explora is the best place to base your stay. It is an attractive lodge with modern design and tropical island feel. All of the sleeping rooms are spacious and attractive with views towards the sea. The dining experience was great…good food and charming staff (both local and from the Chile mainland.)

Those guests used to the meticulous planning and precise timing of Explora excursions in Patagonia will find a more relaxed and flexible atmosphere here, although the basic process is the same with guests choosing their activities for the next day during the cocktail hour the night before. If the activity that you would like to do is not offered, ask for it anyway. Often your wishes can often be accommodated.

All of the hotel guides are local and varied in their level of skill and ability to explain the island’s archaeology. It seemed that most of their knowledge about the Rapa Nui culture came from tales they had heard from their elders and their own observations of the archaeological ruins. As a result, frequently there were different interpretations of what we were seeing. It’s helpful to read a comprehensive book about the history and archaeology of the island (such as Flenley and Bahn’s "The Enigmas of Easter Island" before you go.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EWLTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    50
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
70
204
43
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2008

The hotel was clean and new, but the all inclusive policy was incredibly restrictive. The hotel is in a remote location and you are at the mercy of the guides to get where you want to go. Also due to the all-inclusive policy you do not get a chance to sample the local restaurants or meet the local people. I would not recommend the hotel. It is way overpriced for what you get.

  • Liked — clean room
  • Disliked — too remote
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank kihei222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

Very clean, well designed hotel in Easter island with friendly staff, excellent food and drinks and all the expedition that you can do in Easter Island with that extra touch that makes you very happy.

It is not a luxury hotel as you would see in big cities such as Las Vegas, As there is no marble floors, no statues and water falls, and no TVs in the rooms. But the whole hotel is designed in a contemporary and confortable way, with a rustic touch that make you enjoy your trip. The beds are very comfortable, the shower feels like warm rain is falling on you, and the restaurant has healthy and delicious meals.

When you stay there, you are very encouraged to do the hicking and trecking expedition, as there are plenty, for the young and the not so young.

But what I liked the most was the friendly staff and the manager herself that welcomed us when we arrived, and also warmly told us good bye when we left.

  • Liked — The excellent service and the very comfortable rooms and lounge.
  • Disliked — People can smoke in the outside terasse that connects the lounge to the restaurant.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank cyberanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

We were hoping to stay at the Posada de Mike for our round the world Honeymoon trip but were unable to book because of a "3- night" minimum stay requirement. We contacted the hotel directly to make a booking and were informed of this requirement.

We were told " if you are not able to stay 3 nights, we may accept, as an exception, the 2 nights stay, but you have to pay the rate for 3 nights." Big exception!

Surely a hotel can not afford to be this pedantic in current climates. We were prepared to pay for 2 nights AND this was our honeymoon!

My advice, stay in the Tauraa Hotel. It may not be as glamourous and brand new as the Posada de Mike but they welcome your bookings, are centrally located, Bill is a great tour guide and they cost a lot less. Feedback from locals that we met on the island also seemed to indicate that there was negative feeling towards the Posada de Mike. We are glad we didn't stay there.

Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
15 Thank ForwardPlanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

Forget the reviews of Town and Country, W and Travel and Leisure. The editors that wrote those editorials didn't pay for their staying ! And that's the point : when you indeed pay a very high tag price , for what they sell as a luxury resort, you pretend high quality. Not here, I'm afraid.The hotel is very basic , no landscape at all , still very rustic, in a no special location of the island, facing the ocean that could be any random beach. Very industrial materials have beeing used for that " organic chic" look ...that I'm sorry dosen't deliver !!! The escursions that supposed to be included in the price package, are nothing special and they don't give you options. I had to hire a private guide at my own expenses the entire vacation ! The spa is beach cabana , and they only provide basic massage as treatment on the menu ! The food is good and always creative. Wine selection is limited at three wineries that are owned by the same hotel owner ! Please !!!
So if you go , don't have expectations : the hotel is just a clean, safe enviroment to sleep , but absolutely NOT worth the price !!!!!

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — all the rest
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
21 Thank cristianonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

We arrived on "opening day" of this property (December 15, 2007). Unfortunately, the property was not finished(no pool, spa and there was no landscaping whatsoever), but we had a really wonderful time. What a person comes here for is the expert guides and personal attention. The rooms are very nice...large and clean...very comfortable beds and luxurious bathrooms. Each morning, you pick what type of outing you would like to do. We had brought our extended family which included children and older people and the guides were able to suggest various outings that would work for our entire group (taking some to the beach for an outstanding picnic while the others went on a hike, etc). If you are going to Easter Island, this is the best hotel on the island...there is no other hotel that compares.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleLovesTrvling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

This is an experience, rather than a hotel. Cheap it is not, but if you can afford it, it is THE place to stay on Easter Island.

It is several kilometres away from the airport and from the only town on the island, Hanga Roa. Opened in December 2007, it still had the fell of being new when we were there for four nights in April 2008 - and also had a few very minor teething problems, such as getting the grass to grow without being washed away in the afternoon downpours, which also gave rise to a few very minor leaks! But these are quibbles about what is a fanastic, magical place.

The buildings are modern and functional - much wood-formed brushed concrete in evidence, even in the rooms. This is a comfortable place and, although it is perhaps not the absolute pinnacle of luxury, it seems that it is very much better than any other hotel here - by a long distance. There is a pool, but it is relatively small and was hardly used by anyone when we were there - that's not why one visits Easter Island.

With only 30 rooms it does not take long for the very attentive staff to get to know everyone, and they are all incredibly helpful - particularly the guides. One of the main attractions is the guided tours - you choose from a daily menu of morning, afternoon and full day expeditions of varying degrees of difficulty, with help from the guiding staff: never more than a handful of you on each tour, with a guide to yourselves. The guides really know their stuff: Nico, in particular, is a class act!

The prices are, I think, all-inclusive - at least ours were. The food is superb; the fairly limited menu (with an emphasis on fish) is changed each day and accompanied by excellent South American wines.

And if you really must keep checking eMails there is even an internet connection via two Macs, which is quite an achievement for somewhere so remote.

As to the attractions of Easter Island: there is plenty of material available. Suffice it to says that it is mysterious and fascinating.

We greatly enjoyed our trip, and the Explora and its people played no small part in that.

  • Liked — The people - incredibly helpful and kind
  • Disliked — Minor teething problems - which will be sorted out
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chilternwelshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
5.0 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
4.5 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
4.8 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#7 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico
Hotel Altiplanico
#8 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive

Property: explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
Address: Te Miro Oone S/N, Easter Island 2770000, Chile (Formerly explora Rapa Nui)
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Easter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge was the first in South America to obtain LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification from the United States Green Building Council.Our lodge, which opened in December 2007, was built on 9.6 Hectares (23.7 Acres) of land situated on a hill in the Te Miro Oone area, and overlooks the ocean. This is in south-eastern Rapa Nui, 8 kilometers (4.9 Miles) from Hanga Roa, the most populated part of the island.All of the 30 rooms, which extend to the north and south from a central building, have excellent ocean views. The lodge has welcoming indoor spaces which integrate aspects of the local culture.The design is intended to have minimal impact on its surroundings. The lodge is built on a site which is inappropriate for agricultural use and has no archaeological remains. The flora surrounding the lodge has been maintained intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explora Rapa Nui - Posada De Mike Rapu Hotel Easter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing