We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding in every way!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Easter Island
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I recently took my wife and two teenage sons to this wonderful resort. It exceeded our expectations in every way. The guides were all very knowledgable and helpful. We wanted to understand the history and culture of the island in detail. This was met in every respect. Two guides stood out on our visit, Beno and Christian. Beno was recently interviewed for a National Geographic article about Easter Island. He readily shared his knowledge and opinions with us. It was fascinating. Christian took our 2 teenagers on a bike ride to the highest point on the island. They loved it!! Christian was very cool according to them!! The rooms were outstanding. Great views of the ocean and very comfortable. They are also decorated in a unique island manner. The meals were first class. Lots of variety and very attentive service. There was WIFI in the bar area and it worked well. Finally, Giovanna, the hotel manager was very visible and engaged with the guests. The day we left, she got up at 5am to see us off. We loved this place. Easter Island is a long way to travel to if you live in the USA as we do. Explora Rapa Nui made the trip one of the best we have ever taken. Go to Easter Island. Enjoy this resort and learn all you can about the wonderful Rapa Nui culture while you are there. It truly is a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidT31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you so very much for your enthusiastic review.

The qualification “cool” from teenage children certainly ranks very high for explora! Honestly, I couldn’t be more excited to read about your explora experience. You and your family seem to have explored the mystical island in varied ways and learned as a family along the way. explora is proud to have played a part in this travel experience and memory.

Please know that after visiting one explora destination, you are entitled to the benefits of our CESA - Club Exploradores del Sur de América - a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests.

Thank you again and hope to see you at explora in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    48
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
68
195
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
158 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is mystic, and great, and a memory not to be forgotten. This beautiful lodge, wooden arcades, on this wonderful island. The whole island is mystic, of course, one great archeological site.
The explora formula is simple: luxury, being pampered, the greatest food and wines and very nice room on the one hand; hiking with all the great guides on the other. Each evening your guide will sit down with you and discuss the programme for th next day. Walking the volcano, seeing the quarry, caves, beaches, islets, history, etc. Almost all guides are local and cherish the tradition this island breathes. We had a great time!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArentvanWassenaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

You’ve summarized the “formula” very well; equal parts of luxury of the essentials, well-trained guides plus thought out excursions. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your explora experience with us.

Please know that after visiting one explora lodge, you are entitled to the benefits of our CESA ( Club Exploradores del Sur de América), a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests.

Thank you again for your review.

Yours sincerely,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
237 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We recently spent 5 nights at the Explora in order to discover Easter Island, and it was a wonderful trip. Our guides were very good---friendly and knowledgeable. We visited in May, which is autumn and considered "off season", so sometimes it was just the 2 of us on a tour/hike. Other times, there were maybe only 5 or 6 of us, so we definitely received personalized service. The lodge really made our experience memorable. We had a lovely seaside picnic one day; very elegant. On another evening, while viewing a moai at sunset, our guides broke out champagne and hors d'oeuvres for us! It was super! The days' hikes were decided the evening before, and we were able to choose the level of activity that suited us. The hotel itself is quite lovely, with all rooms having an ocean view. And, while the design is simple, materials are good---nice cotton bedding, perfectly clean. Unlimited filtered water available all the time. All drinks and meals are included, and we had some of the best pisco sours ever! Also, the food was surprisingly good, and healthful. The salads which were offered at lunch and dinner were more beautiful than most you are served in the U.S. Overall, we loved the Explora. However, we have 2 negative comments. First, the rooms are quite stylish with poured concrete floor & walls. There was a wet area in our room which was causing a musty smell. As soon as I mentioned it to the desk, it was dried out & treated immediately. However, there was a slight lingering mustiness to the room, and I think it was because of the concrete construction. Secondly, for the first few days of our stay, we shared the hotel with a convention from Argentina. They were incredibly loud any time they were in the bar or restaurant. Since much of the construction of the hotel is concrete, ie, hard surfaces, the noise was pretty incredible, and we could barely hear each other. The staff was apologetic, and offered us a table outside the restaurant. But, frankly, it was chilly at night, and not without the occasional bug. We were very relieved to see the group leave. I appreciate that the lodge needs to fill the hotel during off times. But it isn't very pleasant to be in the hotel with a large group.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PoisonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, CEO / Gerente General at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for your detailed and constructive review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed explora’s personalized service, guided excursions and food.

As you might know already, explora Rapa Nui was conceived and built in accordance with LEED principles. Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design provides building owners with a framework for identifying and implementing practical and measurable green building design, construction, operations and maintenance solutions. In fact, our lodge was the first LEED certified hotel in South America.

But this isn’t to say that we shouldn’t have tried to better address your “lingering musty smell,” for which I want to apologize. Our maintenance and engineering team has looked into the matter and were able to ascertain that the concrete of which some parts of the lodge is made out of retained excess rain water. This has been the consequence of an unusually autumn rainy and cold season

In reference to the noise levels that you pointed out, in such quiet and isolated part of the island noise travels fast and without much effort. In order to prevent this from happening again, we are enforcing bar hours.

Please remember that after visiting one explora lodge, you are entitled to the benefits of our CESA - Club Exploradores del Sur de América - a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests.

Yours sincerely,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

While it has little luxury competition on the island, Explora Rapa Nui still excels in every possible way - the lodge service is great, the guides informed, the food delicious and the lodge itself utterly beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrisley36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for your very kind review.

Long or short, we are deeply appreciative of your feedback. Thank you!

Please remember that after visiting one explora lodge, you are entitled to the benefits of our CESA - Club Exploradores del Sur de América - a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat travelers.

We look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed at Explora Rapa Nui as a solo female traveler and the experience was absolutely fantastic. The island, the world heritage sites, the scenery...it was all incredible...it is Easter Island after all. But the stay at the lodge made the entire trip exceptional. The accommodations, the food, the staff and service all included, make the Explora an excellent value. We also were privileged to a couple of very nice surprises that were not mentioned in the information. Most of the time the excursions consisted of myself and one other couple so we had plenty of opportunity to question and explore and our guide was extremely knowledgeable. On my last day the lodge staff were able to arrange a day so that it was only myself and the driver, who took me back to some places I wanted to re-photograph and very patiently gave me his view of life on the island..,.thanks Pedro Pablo! They went above and beyond to make me feel well looked after without being babied or insulated. This was a "bucket list" trip...a once in a lifetime... but I sincerely hope I will get the opportunity to return and the ONLY place to stay is the Explora Rapa Nui

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wndrlst4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed explora’s personalized service, the guided excursions, accommodations and our small surprises.

I am particularly grateful for your mention of traveling solo, which explora has encouraged since our inception 19 years ago. We feel that we offer a fine balance of making it easy to meet and spent time with other travelers, yet give all of our guests - solo or in a small group - also the opportunity to experience the destinations that explora calls home on their own private time.

explora has been offering a discounted rate to solo travelers during certain time periods, which has been very well received. Based on the overwhelming response by solo travelers, we will extend this offer through the coming year.

In addition, please remember that after visiting one explora lodge, you are entitled to the benefits of our CESA - Club Exploradores del Sur de América - a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat travelers.

We look forward to welcoming you again at explora.

Yours sincerely,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending two nights at Explora Rapa Nui in January 2012. I was absolutely blown away by the island itself but staying at Explora really brought the entire experience to another level. Having spent the first two nights of my trip in Hanga Roa before moving to Explora, I can say without a doubt that the food and rooms at Explora are the best to be found anywhere on the island. The rooms are chic and exceptionally-appointed with large jacuzzi tubs, plush robes and organic toiletries. In the restaurant, the menu changed daily and featured lots of fresh seafood and local ingredients. I especially liked the evening hors d'oeuvres with cocktails while you planned out your next day's adventures with the guides. But I would have to say that my favorite parts of the entire trip were the expertly-led tours of the island. Explora's team of guides (led by the always smiling Joanna) were absolutely exceptional and really made the island come alive for me. We visited all of the major sites and often had them all to ourselves thanks to clever timing by the guides. Overall, a truly wonderful stay. Oh, and one bit of advice, if they ask you if you want to join the picnic for lunch the next day...just say YES. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the entire lodge. They all have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RTWin30days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this very kind and detailed review.

I never tire of writing this, but despite of all our work and effort to have a wonderful lodge, top notch service and gourmet food, the core of explora are our expert guided explorations. explora never wanted to be “just” a lodge in a stunning environment. Every journey we offer has been thought of as an exploration to enable you to get to know and, at the same time, to experience. Form the first day, explora decided to offer in-depth exploration because we wanted our travelers to be able to interact with their environment and establish relationships with other people and to be a part of, rather than observing, each situation they encounter - engaging not only with reason but also with senses and emotions.
We believe that every journey is also internal, that as we move from one place to another, we are also moving somewhere within ourselves.

Please remember that after visiting one explora lodge, you are entitled to the benefits of our CESA - Club Exploradores del Sur de América - a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests.

Yours sincerely,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I and a friend recently stayed at explora Rapa Nui. Having been lucky enough previously to stay at explora in Atacama and Patagonia, we had very high expectations of the latest addition to the explora stable. May I say that we were not disappointed (of course - should have known that - it is explora after all!). During the 5 hour flight there were the odd thoughts of 'Is it worth it?' - but once you are met by the friendly explora staff at the airport, luggage whisked away and you are driven to the exquisite hotel, all cares and doubts disappear. The lodge is set on a ridge with glorious views to the Pacific Ocean; the rooms are lovely (great baths!), the food excellent and the wines are a bit too good for the liver. Pool and jacuzzi area gorgeous as are the other communal areas, glorious architecture and interior design.

An earlier reviewer has commented on a conference group at the hotel. When we arrived there were about 45 left from a very large conference group but at no time did the hotel falter in its attention to us.

Our excursions around the island were fantastic, taken by knowledgeable and friendly guides. We too had the picnic in the cave with the surf pounding outside. The trip to the quarry was especially interesting.

Our friend had never been at an explora hotel and we had wondered if we had oversold the experience. He announced that he 'loved every minute of it' and that you could not oversell it. Thank you in particular to Giovanna. If you are considering going to the spiritual Rapa Nui, do try to stay at explore - worth every cent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAASydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this very kind and detailed review.

Naturally, we are delighted to hear that you returned to explora and that you’ve also convinced a friend to experience explora Rapa Nui with you. In fact we are very happy to share that more than 15% of our guests are return customers, who make use of CESA - Club Exploradores del Sur de América – explora’s recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests.

I also want to especially thank you for pointing out that the large party that we hosted at the lodge during your stay did in no way interfere with your explora experience. I am very grateful for your positive feedback.

With kindest regards,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
5.0 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
4.5 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#8 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico
Hotel Altiplanico
#6 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive

Property: explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
Address: Te Miro Oone S/N, Easter Island 2770000, Chile (Formerly explora Rapa Nui)
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Easter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge was the first in South America to obtain LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification from the United States Green Building Council.Our lodge, which opened in December 2007, was built on 9.6 Hectares (23.7 Acres) of land situated on a hill in the Te Miro Oone area, and overlooks the ocean. This is in south-eastern Rapa Nui, 8 kilometers (4.9 Miles) from Hanga Roa, the most populated part of the island.All of the 30 rooms, which extend to the north and south from a central building, have excellent ocean views. The lodge has welcoming indoor spaces which integrate aspects of the local culture.The design is intended to have minimal impact on its surroundings. The lodge is built on a site which is inappropriate for agricultural use and has no archaeological remains. The flora surrounding the lodge has been maintained intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explora Rapa Nui - Posada De Mike Rapu Hotel Easter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing