We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Easter Island
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
127 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Explora Rapa Nui instead of 4 because Lan cancelled
our flight. We would really have enjoyed the additional night.
Though smaller than at Explora Atacama we liked our room with view of the ocean. Food and wine were very good. The "surprise" location of the picnic
was exceptional.
The guides were excellent and the three excursions we took were interesting
and well explained. The last evening one of the guides gave a lecture on the history of Rapa Nui and we learned a lot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mflyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you for reviewing your explora Rapa Nui experience. I am so sorry to hear that your stay with us was shortened due to a cancelled flight. We agree that that a 3-night stay is not the ideal to discover and explora Rapa Nui as there activities are plentiful.

The "Surprise Factor" is a key element of the explora experience and we are thrilled to learn that it was present during your stay in the form of the place chosen to have a picnic.

Please be aware that after visiting one explora lodge, you are entitled to the benefits of our CESA - Club Exploradores del Sur de América - a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests.

We look forward to welcoming you at another explora destination.

With kindest regards,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    48
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
68
195
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Explora Rapa Nui in late January, exceeded expectations in every respect. At the risk of repeating some others, the drill is fairly straightforward. Late afternoon or early evening, you sit down with a guide and plan your next day, due to the small size of Rapa Nui, all of the excursions are generally 2 1/2 to 4 hours, so there is a morning excursion planned and an afternoon excursion. Due to the fact Easter Island is on eastern time in spite of being at a longitude similar to southern California, sundown wasn't until around 930pm, so the afternoon excursions tended to start around 430 or 5pm. We were there 3 full days and 2 1/2 days, we arrived mid afternoon Monday and departed early afternoon Friday, so were able to get half day excursions in those two days, I think that is just about the right amount of time. That said, for people without the physical ability to do a bit of climbing (nothing real difficult), 4 days might be too much, though we did see some older guests totally enjoying themselves but remaining on the vans rather than hiking. One minor word of warning is for those who expect the snorkeling trip to reveal stunning coral or fish, you will be disappointed, as while the water is clear, there isn't much at all to see, I would recommend the boat trip however. All of the other "normal" excursions were good, the guides are mostly locals and do a good job putting a different slant on what may be somewhat similar excursions, part of what's interesting about Rapa Nui is that few things are definitive. The food was very, very good, breakfast with ample (though repetitive) choices but probably no more repetitive that i have in 4 days at home, lunch and dinner always provided choice of 3 appetizers, 3 mains, a salad and 4-5 desserts, never a repeat outside the vegetarian choice and can't remember a bad meal. The wireless was slow but who cares, rooms not of 5 star luxury standard but that's not what is advertised or expected, as long as expectations are for "rustic luxury" with superior service, most should be very satisfied, as where it falls short in traditional luxury it makes up in service and superb guides. A final tip is that the museum in town is worth an hour or two, we visited it on our last morning and found it much more interested than expected. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank atl_trav917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for your kind review. The museum visit is part of our 18 excursions on Easter Island and if at all possible, our guides try to schedule the visit towards the end of a traveler’s stay. The small yet well arranged museum gives a fantastic overview and deeper understanding of the history of the Rapa Nui people and their island.

Speaking of deeper knowledge, in the summer of 2011 explora launched new ethnocultural expeditions in Atacama and on Rapa Nui in partnership with the cultural journey specialist Archaeological Travel Services. This new way of exploring two explora locations complement our range of adventures and have been designed for travelers with a thirst for a deeper understanding of the places they visit.

Lastly, please remember that after visiting one explora lodge, you are entitled to the benefits of our CESA - Club Exploradores del Sur de América - a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests.

With kindest regards,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed at Explora Rapa Nui for 3 nights in December 2011 and had a wonderful exprience. The room, the public area, the food, the tours and the service in general were all outstanding. The head tour guide Joann is from Newport Beach, California, and she gave us excellent advice on which tours to take. She also took us on our first tour shortly after we landed and checking into the rest. We did not expect to see so much (Ahu akivi and Ahu Tahai) the first day, and sipping champagne while watching the sunset and the moai figures was an unforgettable experience. On the third day, Explora set up an elaborate "picnic lunch" for us (only six hotel guests) on a larva rock beach, with large umbrellas and chairs, and a chef grilling seafood and a table of salads and cold cuts. We ate our lunch while watching the waves splashing on the larva rocks, and the setting was totally stunning. That was the most memorable lunch we ever had! We are glad we visited Easter Island, and even more glad that we stayed at the Explora Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you for your very kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your picnic lunch, which in my opinion is a wonderful way to appreciate the secluded beauty of Rapa Nui and in particular its seashore.

Please remember that after visiting one explora lodge, you are entitled to the benefits of our CESA - Club Exploradores del Sur de América - a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests.

We look forward to seeing you in Atacama, Patagonia or any of our nomadic journeys.

With kindest regards,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
349 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Explora anything/anywhere is a phenomenal experience, and this is really a 4 1/2 star rating. The hotel facility meets that unique blend of luxury in the middle of an out of the way outdoors adventure that does not feel out of place or uncomfortable or tacky in the least. In contrast, it fits the environment perfectly. The rooms are attractive in a minimalistic style,and the primary interest of all employees is clearly that their guests have a tremendous once in a lifetime experience. The guides are knowledgeable and friendly and fun. The explorations are a decent variety, and they make a daily effort to ensure all get adventures that will be a good fit. The food is great too, healthful and tasty.

So why not 5 stars you might ask? To tell the truth, it is close, but there are a few deficiencies. First, coffee is not available in the morning anywhere until breakfast starts. Secondly, in 4 days breakfast did not once start at the advertised time. So, my first cup of coffee was at about 7:45 am every day, in my case about 1 1/2 hours after I awoke. Further, while lunch and dinner service was perfect, breakfast service was lackadaisical, and each refill was a separate venture for attention. After 4 days, I would think that my desire for coffee refills would not have come as a surprise. They just don't get the concept of keeping the coffee cup filled. Next, while their internet computer access is great, for some reason they have no printer set up for guests, so getting boarding passes printed involves separate arrangements at the front desk. Or anything else that one needs printed. Lastly, each afternoon guests would be given descriptions of the next days adventures, and make their choices. This same event in Explora Patagonia is done with detail of the hike and focus on a map; 6 stars in a 5 star grading system. On Easter Island, each adventure was described verbally in one or two sentences. It did not seem adequate.

Don't get me wrong: I love Explora and would go back in a heartbeat. I hope they open new hotels. They would be my automatic first choice anywhere. The Easter Island operation is first class. But it does have a small bit of room for improvement.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NJ-Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear traveler,

We are very grateful for your kind words, suggestions and the time you spent on this review. I feel that the remaining ½ star could be easily achieved with a few small adjustments, and I am very grateful for your feedback.

explora has very clearly outlined, designed and constantly reviewed excursions for all lodges, including explora Rapa Nui. On Easter Island some of the mystique of the history of the island and of course the moais reveal themselves only during the excursion and it may seem that guides present a general overview, rather than a detailed explanation of each excursion. A contributing factor might also be that overall the Rapa Nui excursions are classified as easy to moderate, not difficult, which is different from Patagonia. Nevertheless, I very much appreciate your constructive feedback and know that we have already reviewed your suggestions with our explorations´ team.

Speaking of excursions, please know that explora Patagonia reopened on February 23 with 11 new excursions, which we are very excited about.

Thank you very much. We hope to welcome you again at explora.

With kindest regards,

Jesús Parrilla,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

I looked at every single inn, guesthouse, B&B, and hay-filled manger on Easter Island before choosing this property. Given the cost, I was worried my high expectations wouldn't be met, but all in all, they do a very good job. In the less-than-satisfied reviews here, I saw a few themes, and here are my comments on each.

1. Amateurish service / food issues. Yes, the service is amateurish at times, but well intentioned. Supposedly 60% of the staff are Rapa Nui, though there are some conspicuous Americans in training roles. I suspect many of the Rapa Nui servers recruited on the island don't dine regularly in Michelin-starred restaurants. They don't have an instinct for fine dining service, so occasionally there are slip-ups from trying too hard, like pinot noir served at sauvignon blanc temperatures. It seemed they all tried their best and the food was of exceptionally high quality and frankly a bit too good-for-you. The local fish is particularly well-done. There were 8 wine choices, which seemed enough for this wine snob. The breakfast menu was the same every day, and I see how it would get repetitive after a week, but you really only need three or four days to see all the island's main sights.

2. Issues with the guides. I thought the local guides here were some of the best in the world (and this was country #75 for me). One guide accompanied my party on most of our excursions. He was born on the island but has a four-year degree from a university in Santiago and travels regularly to Tahiti and throughout Polynesia, which makes me think he's pretty well-paid. Explora, with their high prices, is probably able to recruit the best guides on the island by offering the best pay packages. Almost everyone spoke perfect English. The Chevy Express vans are a bit bumpy and would be better if they were Land Rovers, but the distances are short.

3. Issues with the room. The bare concrete isn't for everyone and can feel a bit stark, but time spent in the room is minimal if you keep busy with the excursions. The resort's crunchy granola appeal can feel schizophrenic when contrasted against their desire to serve their clientele's desire for luxury. We had an issue with a steady stream of ants in our room. We wished the hotel would just bring a can of Baygon rather than whatever wimpy eco-solution they used (which didn't work).

4. Issues with price. Whether a 3-night stay is worth a month's pay for the average American household is your call. Yes, they owners are probably making a fortune. But they're the only game in town. And how often are you planning to make the 12-hour round-trip from SCL to come back? (Digression: if coming a long way, leave a day or two in Chile before coming to IPC to recover and have a buffer when your flight is inevitably delayed. One couple that arrived with us had traveled 20 hours straight to get to the island and crashed from exhaustion.)

Room Tip: All seem pretty much the same, all have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Colonel_Montoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear traveler,

Many thanks for your review. Please allow me to start with confirming that all Posada de Mike Rapu rooms have ocean views. The lodge attained silver LEED certification from the U.S. Green Building Council in February 2009, which made it the first in South America. Our commitment to the environment is unwavering and that includes pesticides. Explora Rapa Nui was the last piece of explora’s “Chilean triangle,” which includes Hotel Salto Chico overlooking the Paine Mountain Range from the shores of Lake Pehoe in Patagonia, and Hotel de Larache in the Atacama Desert of northern Chile. The latter two properties are now in pursuit of LEED certification as well.

Visiting a destination is one thing, connecting with a destination is another entirely. explora has always pursued its original ambition of creating a relationship between the South American continent and the rest of the planet. You’ve touched on some of these connections in your review. In summary, I think it’s best to quote Pedro Ibáñez, owner and founder of explora: “Each exploration we undertake is focused on uncovering wonders, initiating experiences, and knowing intimately the beauty of nature and the cultures we survey. explora opens opportunities for things to happen by working with communities. As we bring guests into that environment, things just happen naturally.”

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you at another explora destination.

With kind regards,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

I spent 2 nights. The room was great: I was upgraded from basic to ocean view. What a nice large room. The breakfast is fantastic. Food on the island is very expensive. Eat all you want for breakfast. The location of the hotel is great.

Room Tip: Eat all you want at breakfast and more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grelot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your reviewing your explora Rapa Nui travel experience.

Your words are music to our ears! Thank you for posting your comments.

You mentioned how expensive the food is on the island and that is essentially explained by the fact that besides some fruit, vegetables and fish, everything has to be flown (5 hrs flight) into from mainland Chile.

Please remember that after visiting one explora lodge, you are entitled to the benefits of our CESA - Club Exploradores del Sur de América - a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests. You can find more details in our website.

Kind regards,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

I should preface what I say with the statement that this place is very, very expensive and therefore before you look into this place as an option, check you want to spend the money.

The place itself is lovely. They meet you at the airport and when you arrive they provide you with an introductory talk. The staff are a delight, helpful and interested, so eager to please. In particular I would single out the head of activities, Joanne, who could not have been more helpful.

The food, to be honest, is not as good as the hotel thinks it is and after 3 days we were pleased that we weren't staying longer as we would have started to struggle with food options.

This place complemented the magic of the island and i would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank The_Brown71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your explora experience. We’ve passed on your kind comments about explora Rapa Nui’s head of guides, Joanna.

We are sorry to hear that you found the meal options to be limited. I hope that you communicated your meal preferences to our restaurant team, which is always more than happy to prepare options that are not on the lunch or dinner menu. We are very eager to hear about all explora travelers’ meal preferences, allergies or dislikes and ask this question with each reservation.

We are grateful for your feedback.

With kind regards,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
5.0 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
4.5 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#8 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico
Hotel Altiplanico
#6 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive

Property: explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
Address: Te Miro Oone S/N, Easter Island 2770000, Chile (Formerly explora Rapa Nui)
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Easter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge was the first in South America to obtain LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification from the United States Green Building Council.Our lodge, which opened in December 2007, was built on 9.6 Hectares (23.7 Acres) of land situated on a hill in the Te Miro Oone area, and overlooks the ocean. This is in south-eastern Rapa Nui, 8 kilometers (4.9 Miles) from Hanga Roa, the most populated part of the island.All of the 30 rooms, which extend to the north and south from a central building, have excellent ocean views. The lodge has welcoming indoor spaces which integrate aspects of the local culture.The design is intended to have minimal impact on its surroundings. The lodge is built on a site which is inappropriate for agricultural use and has no archaeological remains. The flora surrounding the lodge has been maintained intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explora Rapa Nui - Posada De Mike Rapu Hotel Easter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing