We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinarily rude”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Easter Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tadeo & Lili Guest House
Ranked #36 of 44 Easter Island B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Extraordinarily rude”
Reviewed January 27, 2009

I did not stay at this hotel but went to it to organise horse riding with the owner Tadeo. He does not speak much English, so got his wife Lili to help us. She informed us that Tadeo would take us the next morning and that it would be US$70 each. We thought this was expensive but Lili insisted this was the cost, so we put down a deposit of 20,000 pesos. She informed us that we would have to make our own way to their hotel (quite a walk from ours) in the morning, and noted that Tadeo spoke very poor English.

When we returned to our hotel we learned that all other operators on the island only charge US$45, which includes fluent English guide and pick up from your hotel. We were being ripped off, so we tried calling Tadeo and Lili but their phone was engaged for two hours. Finally we walked over there again to get our deposit back (we had been informed the deposit was just in case we didn't turn up the next morning, so assumed it would be fine as it was only three hours since we paid it) but found Lili was not there. A very rude Tadeo told us we would have to come back AGAIN at 8pm that night when Lili returned. We said it didn't matter whether Lili was here or not, we just wanted to cancel and get our deposit back please. At this point, he launched into a tirade of "this is your problem, not mine" and "you tourists do not understand how things work". Eventually, even though telling us it was impossible for him to give us the money now, we just stood there and he opened up his wallet and handed us the deposit.

I'll tell you what these tourists do understand: people like Tadeo should not be running a hotel. I would avoid staying here at all costs!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
7 Thank jirrupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
10
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We stayed 2 days at Tadeo and Lili's guest house, due to our other accomadation being full. The guesthouse has a great location, only 5 min walk to town and right on the ocean. The rooms are clean but very basic and each has a small deck on the front. The breakfast is served in a common room and we found it very good. We received tea, coffee, juice of the day, rolls, toast, jams, cheese, meats, fresh fruit etc. While I liked the location, the view and the breakfast, I found the rooms a bit too spartan and not too comfortable.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The spartan rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jakesbackdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

Very clean, well located, reasonably priced b&b owned by a very nice and knowledgeable french woman from France married to a Pascuan from the former royal family. Lili (Liliane) is also a very good and knowledgeable guide. We stayed there 4 nights after leaving a pension we did not like. We really liked this b&b. We also stayed with our 3 years old girl. It is also a good location for kids and not far from a playfield. Also close to restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericvoinot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
367 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2008

I stayed 4 nights last January at ''Chez Tadeo & Lili'' and I can say it was a magical & a perfect stay ! It's the best location of the island to stay at. It's the only place where you can see the Ocean, right in front of your window and it's about 2 minutes walk for downtown Hanga Roa, the village of the Island. A good breakfast was served in the morning. Then you can choose some activities, horseback riding on the island by Tadeo or even a guided visit by Lili. Do both activities, they are so interesting and you will learn more about this island. You can visit the museum of the island on your own or even surf right in front of the guest house. They speak english, spanish and french. If I return 1 day to Easter Island, I will be back for sure there. I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Location & staff
  • Disliked — no opinion
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JulienF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#5 of 15 in Hanga Roa
438 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Raioha
Hostal Raioha
#16 of 51 in Hanga Roa
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Manatea
Cabanas Manatea
#20 of 51 in Hanga Roa
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Mihiraa
Hostal Mihiraa
#35 of 87 in Easter Island
11 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chez Maria Goretti
Chez Maria Goretti
#12 of 33 in Hanga Roa
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tadeo & Lili Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tadeo & Lili Guest House

Property: Tadeo & Lili Guest House
Address: AV. Apina, Easter Island, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Easter Island
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing