We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in town!”
Review of Hotel Draghi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Draghi
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best place in town!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We literally don't have anything bad to say about this amazing hotel! It's run by a family (children of the best silver smith in town, now deceased), and they're all extremely nice and helpful. Our room was perfect, with a big balcony overlooking the beautiful garden with a pool. Some of the rooms have kitchenettes. Everything is incredibly well-kept. Breakfast is argentine (eg sweet croissants and sweet yogurt), but good. They helped us arrange to go horse riding at a nearby estancia, recommended restaurants etc. We wish we'd stayed longer...

If you dont want to go "all in" at an estancia, you really shouldn't go anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hudlihut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradores D, Propietario at Hotel Draghi, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Hudlihut: Thanks so much for your kind words and for letting us know
you enjoyed your stay with us. You were lovely guests!!!!
Stay healthy and well, love to both and we hope to see you again if you back to san antonio de areco some day.
Warm Regards,
Marta, Valeria &Lucila.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    38
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
46
164
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Me and my boyfriend made an overnight trip from BA to San Antonio de Areco and stayed one night at Paradores Draghi, which we got recommended by local people. And we certainly did ot regret it. Paradores draghi opened only recently and it is run by family Draghi who also owns and run a silversmith workshop in the backyared of the property. The property itself is amde up by a central building built in beautiful Tuscany style with reception, small common area and 3 rooms upstairs; then there is a one-storey building with a few individual rooms with small terrace. And an exquisite glasshouse used for serving breakfast, and of course a beautiful pool. Rooms are tastefully decorated, clean, quiet and just beautiful. Highlight is of course the staff which is extremely friendly and helpful and will help you arrange activities (e.g. Horse riding in nearby estancias), show you around the silver workshop or recommend nice places to see.
The location is very central, just 1 block from the central square and 10 min. Walk from the bus station. We only spent 1 night there, but I wish we spent more - I can imagine just staying around the pool a few days, doing nothing, enjoying the calm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElRoyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradores D, Propietario at Hotel Draghi, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear ElRoyi: Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely review.
Thanks for your words about the location, Museum and the kindness of the staff.
For us it was a pleasure to welcome you in our B&B.
Stay well, thanks again,
Our best Wishes for 2013!
warm regards,
Marta, Valeria, Lucila & Mariano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Wonderful small hotel. It is run by the family Draghi. Marta, Mariano, Lucila, Valeria. They belong to a different era, which has almost gone from our modern world. An era of civility, charm, kindness and warm hospitality. They are an absolute delight, my wife and I fell in love with all of them.
The front of the building is a small silver museum mostly connected to the life of the Gaucho. Behind that are the silversmith workshops. Mariano (a world class silversmith) was kind enough to make two rings for our wedding anniversary. Beautiful workmanship. The skill of the silversmiths here is stunning. Behind that are the gardens with a small swimming pool. The buildings at the rear are converted into bedrooms. The room we had was done in traditional rural Argentine style very tastefully done in hardwood and old style fabrics. Very lovely. This is not like staying in a hotel it is more like being an honoured guest in a family home of old friends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Dancers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradores D, Propietario at Hotel Draghi, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear 2dancers.
Wow, what a review, we were quite quiet after reading it.
Thank you so much for your wonderful words and comments.
We really loved to share with you three days.
All the best from Argentina
Un abrazo fuerte y miles de besos

Familia Draghi

Lucila, Marta, Mariano y Valeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our third trip to Areco...for the famous and outstanding "Dia de la Tradicion".

We could not have been more or better welcomed by Lucila and Valeria. Later we met Marta and of course, the incredible and world-renowned silversmith, Mariano.

The grounds are a delight...so beautiful and meticulously kept. The pool is inviting, so do not forget to bring a swimsuit, as I did.

The complete and delicious breakfast is offered (included) in a quaint, all windowed room with views into the velvety grasses and statues of the garden. The room was perfect, and immaculate, with its own brand-new bathroom, a Juliet balcony over the garden, comfortable new queen-size bed.

The entire family took tremendous pride in showing us their museum, filled with incredibly beautiful silver, designed by the family, as well as the silversmith shop, where the artists were glad to pose for a picture and show you their work in progress. Yes, you can purchase a lovely "recuerdo" to take home.

Since we had a late departure, we needed to leave our luggage in a secured area, once we relinquished our room. No problem.

This is a 5-star gem...not for its size, but for for its quality, charm, quaintness, location and "cariño". Do not miss this one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradores D, Propietario at Hotel Draghi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello Hchica!

Thank you so much for your kind words.
You were the perfect guest: funny and cool!
Thanks again and for us it was a pleasure to welcome you to our B&B.
Stay well and hope to see you back some day, as Guido promissed......
Warm regards
Marta, Valeria & Lucila.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

In mid October I was part of a group of 10 Aussies touring Argentina, Rio and Santiago, mainly to see the international rugby matches played in Buenos Aires and Rosario. We had left ourselves a few spare days after the Rosario game to see a bit of the Argentinian countryside in our 'people mover' but were at a bit of a loss on where to go.
As luck would have it we were advised to visit San Antonio de Areco and Tripadvisor steered us towards the Paradores Draghi Hotel. The welcome we received on arrival from Lucila was very warm and positive and she took great pride in showing us around the wonderful B & B, workshop and museum.
Both Valeria and Lucila were extremely helpful in offering us suggestions on where in the town to have some food and drinks, and the following day took considerable time and trouble to draw us a 'mud map' of some places to visit in the area - this also included them making a lunch booking for us at a nearby restaurant. It wasn't their fault that our fool of a driver got us bogged in a mud lane ... but it did allow us to meet some other delightful local people.
Later Lucila had no hesitation in allowing us to use the lounge area in the main block to have a meal and a few drinks and this was much appreciated by the group.
The whole Draghi family were most welcoming and helpful at all times from Mariano (and his great pride in his silversmithing work) to Valeria and Lucila; with Marta keeping a kindly eye over proceedings.
A memorable stay much appreciated by all of our group.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a good size and are most comfortable. The upstairs rooms are a little difficult to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradores D, Propietario at Hotel Draghi, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hello Tim1117!!!!!!
Thank you for your kind words in the review.
It was a pleasure having you and your friends with us, as you are wonderful people with
great sense of humor.
We are very, very, very happy you enjoyed your stay in our B&B, the museum and workshop also.

Stay well and hope to see you back some day.

warm regards, Valeria, Marta, Mariano & Lucila.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a very cosy place - the owners have a natural understanding of beauty - being silver artists - and they have managed to get this B&B constructed in diffrent building to fit into the original structures so they now have a very harmonious "look". Very nice indeed. Great value for money in comparison to for example Buenos Aires. Areco is a very small town and a very nice place for a weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dortegeckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadoresDraghi, Propietario at Hotel Draghi, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear DorteGekler.
We greatly appreciate your comments about your stay at the hotel and the museum, about decoration and the kindness of the staff and quality&price relations. Thanks again for your review and we are we waiting for you during your next trip to San Antonio.
Our best wishes for you.
regards.
Marta, Valeria and Lucila.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Visiting San Antonio de Areco and staying at the Paradores Draghi was the highlight of my trip to Buenos Aires. The town and hotel were both lovely. You arrive at the hotel, which sits behind the silversmith museum and workshop that has been in their family for years. The Draghi family are actually very well known, creating pieces for the popes, important CEOs and Presidents.

The family was very friendly and actually waited up for us since we were late. The room was wonderful with a small kitchen, opening up onto the lawn with the beautiful pool. They gave us great suggestions for dinner and even arranged a horseback riding trip for us at a nearby estancia. It was wonderful- wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradores D, Propietario at Hotel Draghi, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Lovely Christy. We welcome your comments and we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay in our bed and Breakfast and Museum. I hope your mother is happy with the Flower of thistle.
Our better wishes for you and his nice friend
we wait to see you again in a nearby future.
Sincerely.
Thanks again!
Marta, Valeria and Lucila.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio de Areco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel y Spa San Carlos
Hotel y Spa San Carlos
#5 of 9 in San Antonio de Areco
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Patio de Moreno
Patio de Moreno
#6 of 9 in San Antonio de Areco
138 reviews
5.8 mi away
Estancia El Ombu de Areco
Estancia El Ombu de Areco
#1 of 9 in San Antonio de Areco
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Pampas de Areco Resort de Campo & Spa
Pampas de Areco Resort de Campo ...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio de Areco
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada De La Plaza
Posada De La Plaza
#2 of 20 in San Antonio de Areco
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Estancia La Cinacina
Estancia La Cinacina
#4 of 20 in San Antonio de Areco
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Draghi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Draghi

Property: Hotel Draghi
Address: Calle Matheu 380 | Between Alsina & Arellano, San Antonio de Areco B2760BTF, Argentina (Formerly Paradores Draghi B&B)
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > San Antonio de Areco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio de Areco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Draghi 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and charming hotel is run by Draghi´s Family who offer an elegant and practical accommodation in the old center of the town. The hotel rooms have been uniquely decorated in a classic style and perfect down to the smallest details, all of which have direct access to the outside where his charming garden invites guests to rest in a quiet environment with swimming pool and a fountain. Every morning a continental breakfast is served which has 3 varieties of bread, croissants, cream cheese, butter, homemade jams, sandwiches, orange juice, yogurt, coffee, milk, tea, chocolate and cereals. The hotel has a private Workshop and Museum of silver which is run by Mariano Draghi who is a master Goldsmith. Draghi´s family, your hosts, will be delighted to share her local knowledge with you, as well as making sure your stay in their home is as comfortable and relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Draghi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing