We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Estancia El Ombu de Areco
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at El Ombu for just one night and wished we could have stayed longer! We were looking to find the real Gaucho experience and not a hotel with pretend Gauchos and fancy shows! El Ombu is a working estancia with many cattle, horses, ponies and dogs! We had the pleasure to meet and chat with Diego (the owner's son) who helps manage the day to day life. He and his staff act like one big family with the Gaucho's wives working in the kitchen producing great food. The lunchtime asado (barbecue grill) was served on the lawn under the trees and was a delightful experience. We went on two horse rides through the pampas - the ranch has 300 hectares - and we saw many birds and animals along the way. There are two swimming pools to laze around - one just by our room and one larger one away from it all with vast pampas views. Our room was large with comfy 'time-gone-by' furniture and a fire place - giving the real feel of the beautiful historic building. It's a must for enjoying authentic estancia life in the pampas!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilly56London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    55
    17
    3
    7
See reviews for
74
123
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

At the beginning of March, for three weeks, we traveled the north of Argentina and Ombu was one of the brightest spots. If I had not forgotten my Tripadvisor badges at home, I would have awarded Ombu with one for sure. We were staying in Buenos Aires and Ombu sent a car with a friendly and intelligent driver to pick us up and bring to estancia. The distance of something around 100 kilometers went unnoticed. You definitely notice the last 6 kilometers when the road turns into unpaved one and it's all dust. But then that's what you wanted – to get away from modern civilization and take a short dip into old time estancia culture with gauchos, horses, dogs, endless pampas, deep sky, grilled meat, wine, etc. When you arrive, they give you a brief walk around showing what's available - the rooms, two swimming pools, gorgeous patio (well pretty much everything is gorgeous in an idyllic, rustic way), billiard room, the kitchen and dining building (where the wi-fi is located) – and serve you welcome drinks (beer, wine, soft, your choice) outside in the garden. Smoking (always important to me) is not an issue here as long as you don't smoke inside. While you consume your welcome drink and wait for lunch you get overwhelmed by peacefulness of the place. It's warm and quiet, short of the bursts of noise emanating from bunch of parakeets that live in the trees, and, unconsciously, you feel like you came home to your family house (even though none of us, all city people, had families living in enstancias.) The rooms are also like in your grandparents house: squeaky wooden floor, old-fashioned furniture, soft linens, albeit every room has it's own bathroom – a reminder that the distance between you and civilization is only those 6 kilometers of dust, or 10 meters to the Internet hot-spot for that matter. Lunch is served outside under magnificent trees and somehow you feel it's been served like that for generations. Lunch is abundant. Lots of food and lots of wine. In fact, there is no limit to either, just the volume of your stomach. Everything is incredibly fresh and tasty. The blood sausage, for instance, was the best in my life: smooth, soft, spicy... incredible. You don't want that lunch to end. When it finally ends, you swear you are not going to eat anymore today because there is no room in your belly for anything. Nevertheless, after a very nice long horseback ride across pampas with gauchos, a light dinner is served (with more wine of course) after which you step out into a pandemonium of Argentinian nightlife. By that I mean the wildlife sounds that fill the air of the night, something moving out there in the darkness, hundreds of toads jumping on the patio. You know the day is over and go to bed. Happy. Ready for another horse ride with gauchos in the morning. There were a few mosquitoes there in the evening but there are devices to repel them from the rooms so that was no problem. We stayed overnight. Now if you are planning to stay longer, I guess you just multiply this experience by the number of days. Nirvana.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saul09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
250 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Staying in San A de Areco I visited the estancia for a day (dia de campo) and had a very enjoyable day. The estancia itself is beautiful, with the old feel I was looking for and very well maintained. The attention to service from all of the staff is amazing and they will do their outmost for you to have a good day. The main activities are horseback riding, food and relaxation. I never tried horseback riding before, but had an enjoyable (and safe) ride (or rather walk) in the adjacent fields. But if you know about riding it might be a bit boring as it is literally a walk you do.

Food and drinks is abundant and is a very classic and well-prepared asado (barbecue) served in the garden in the shadows of the trees. Very idyllic and pleasant. As part of the meal there's a bit of a gaucho show, but (thankfully) it's quite low-key and doesn't feel touristy in an unpleasant way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mschr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our Country Walkers group spent an afternoon here for the traditional asado on the lawn and a walk into the estancia property. The food is excellently prepared and served; authentic dishes and very pleasant surroundings. Charming staff including the gaucho performers and a beautiful house and stables make this a 5 star destination.

The village of San Antonio de Areco is a worthwhile visit as well with stores, parks, historic buildings and museums, all accessible on foot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darklinglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent a day and night at El Ombu on a recent trip to Argentina. The place and people were amazing. The room in a separate old house was clean, private and beautifully furnished. Gaucho Pablo demonstrated his amazing relationship with his horse. He had her lying on her back with legs up in the air. The horseback riding was great, and so was the food. One of the best things though was the super friendly staff that seemed genuinely interested in welcoming you like family. We all wished we had planned to stay a few more days. It was such a pleasant contrast to the hustle and bustle of BsAs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKnTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The best homemade meals, never ending helpfulness of the kind staff members, charming atmosphere and clean, spacious rooms!

There is really NO bad side to it, I can only recommend to stay at Estancia El Ombu, relax and be happy:)

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carinitaaustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went there on a day trip from BA, took public transportation. Takes about 2 hours to get there.
Very nice welcome with a drink and Empanadas, actually the best one I hate during my time in BA. Then we went horseback riding, we had never been and our gaucho made us feel very comfortable it was a lot of fun. Lunch ended up being almost 2 hours outside in the lawn, multiple servings of different meats and salads with very good Malbec. We then just stayed by the pool and enjoyed this wonderful environment. I definitely recommend this Estancia

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank db0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio de Areco hotels
5.7 mi away
Hotel y Spa San Carlos
Hotel y Spa San Carlos
#5 of 9 in San Antonio de Areco
202 reviews
6.1 mi away
Patio de Moreno
Patio de Moreno
#6 of 9 in San Antonio de Areco
137 reviews
9.7 mi away
Pampas de Areco Resort de Campo & Spa
Pampas de Areco Resort de Campo ...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio de Areco
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Estancia La Sofia
Estancia La Sofia
#3 of 9 in San Antonio de Areco
130 reviews
6.4 mi away
Estancia La Cinacina
Estancia La Cinacina
#4 of 20 in San Antonio de Areco
118 reviews
5.8 mi away
Posada De La Plaza
Posada De La Plaza
#2 of 20 in San Antonio de Areco
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia El Ombu de Areco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia El Ombu de Areco

Property: Estancia El Ombu de Areco
Address: RP 31, cuartel VI,Villa Lia, San Antonio de Areco | Argentina, San Antonio de Areco 2760, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > San Antonio de Areco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio de Areco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estancia El Ombu de Areco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recreational activities: Guests can go horse back riding throughout the 300-hectare estancia accompanied by gauchos, enjoying the Pampa with its birds and animals and observing the cattle grazing or feeding their young or wander around the park among the ancient trees and scented flowers. There are several horse rides during the day.They last 1 hour or 1 hour and a half aprox. If you prefer longer or shorter rides, it can be arranged at the estancia. We have horses for both beginners and experienced ridersWe also offer rides in a sulky with a Gaucho driver for those not wishing to ride horses, and bird watching. There are several bycicles available that one can use to get to the river inside the estancia.We have a play room with games and a billard table, soccer and volleyball field And if it´s hot enough, two large swimming ools. Also a game room featuring a fireplace for winter, pool table, ping-pong, foosball, and various board games for children and adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Estancia El Ombu de Areco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia El Ombu De Areco Hotel San Antonio De Areco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing