We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is the government ?”

Museo Gauchesco y Parque Criollo Ricardo Guiraldes
Book In Advance
More Info
$210.00*
and up
Private Tour to San Antonio de Areco: Colonial town & Estancia from Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The museum is still closed because it is still under repairs after a terrible flood a few years ago. It is unbelievable that nor the central or the federal government show any presence there. San Antonio de Areco is the berth of the gauchos.

Thank Bovone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 442 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

I paid this place a visit one afternoon in May 2013. It isn't anything spectacular, but it is worth spending half an hour here if you happen to be in San Antonio de Areco.

Thank FP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Why would I be so acid about this attraction.
It is an attraction indeed.
But the question is: is it worth to travel for 1 hour from the Buenos Aires city to this place?
Lets see:
In my experience, I went in summer, in January 2013.
Since it wasn't really clear how to get there with the car by following google maps, then, we left the car at only 200mts, and walked. It was sssooooo hot, the street where this museum is placed seems to be part of the museum, because gobernment doesnt seem to have this ever repaired, it was an old road, all dusty and abandoned.
We got finally at the museum. It was relatively fresh inside.
The old building remains original but well mantained.
Inside you will find lots of usefull objects which the gauchos used to produce themselves for the everyday life. It was part of the culture. If you would live in the city in those times, you would probably not manufacture those objects yourself, but an industry would have done that for you. Still, it is very interesting. Just to see, how much of the gaucho style it's on these objects.
The museum shows: objects in leather for the clothing, kitchen and if you take a guided tour you'll understand how was this used in a gauchos life. Also, objects related to the gauchos life as a worker on the fields, such as machines, etc. You will also see pictures and paintings about Ricardo Guiraldes. He was a gaucho himself and a writer. He is an icon of the gaucho culture.
But. The museum is very small. Guiraldes hause is not accessible (at least it wasnt in January 2013) and we couldnt get a guide in English. My advice is: please go before starting the trip.
If you have plenty of time and would like to spend a day in San Antonio de Areco, please go.
My sugestion is: try to match this visit with any other cultural, musical, artistic, gastronomic event, so the time is not killed by the silence of the neighborhood.
Also, at least in summer, shops are all closed at lunch time, from around 13 to 16 hs.
I strongly dont advise this visit for children or teens or as a romantic date. Unless people is adventurous and a little alternative and strongly interested in regional culture. But, it could result a little bit funny to go to San Antonio de Areco with friends, go to a bar, visit the museum, and visit other events in one day.
If you'd like to add more value to your driving effort, you could investigate more in trip advisor and find out if you can spend a 2-3 days weekend in a estancia gaucha, and live in the countryside and experience a little the current gaucho life and love for the horses, music, nature,
I hope this was interesting for you and you plann it good, so you can enjoy it.
Best wishes!

1  Thank VMeverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This museum is very small with a few exhibits of guacho life. The main attraction is meant to be the house just across the grass from the exhibition centre but it was closed when we went. It's a nice place to look round and then sit in the cool courtyard for a bit, but not worth going out of your way for.

Thank reviewer069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The reason why things are so limited at the moment is beause there were some awful floods in 2009. The whole area was devasted and they did not have the infrastructure to save it.
Luckily a group of volunteers started an organisation to re-build the wonderfukl museum.
We had been before and it was well worth it then.

They have found help with restorers in Canada that have given them the means, expertise and help to do the work. Showing them how to dry the books they thought they had lost and many other things. Slowly and with little help of funding they ae working tirelesly to do there best.
Worth visiting again next year when they are hoping to have it all in place

Thank HermanandSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Gauchesco y Parque Criollo Ricardo Guiraldes also viewed

San Antonio de Areco, Province of Buenos Aires
San Antonio de Areco, Province of Buenos Aires
 
San Antonio de Areco, Province of Buenos Aires
San Antonio de Areco, Province of Buenos Aires
 

Been to Museo Gauchesco y Parque Criollo Ricardo Guiraldes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing